×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wee Free Men: The First Tiffany Aching Adventure (Discworld Series #30)
     

The Wee Free Men: The First Tiffany Aching Adventure (Discworld Series #30)

4.4 165
by Terry Pratchett
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first in a series of Discworld novels starring the young witch Tiffany Aching.

A nightmarish danger threatens from the other side of reality. . . .

Armed with only a frying pan and her common sense, young witch-to-be Tiffany Aching must defend her home against the monsters of Fairyland. Luckily she has some very unusual help: the local Nac Mac

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wee Free Men: The First Tiffany Aching Adventure (Discworld Series #30) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 165 reviews.
Bob_the_Director More than 1 year ago
Terry Pratchett has never written a bad book. The wit and wisdom of Mr. Pratchett is incredible and he'll make you laugh your guts out. The Wee Free Men is another great one by the master of farcical fantasy. A young farm girl follows her little brother into Fairyland and the Elf Queen who kidnapped him. The Wee Free Men (little blue men with flaming red hair with scottish brogues), know as Feegles, introduced in earlier works from the Discworld Series are here to help her. These guys will fight anything or anyone. Except Lawyers, who are terrifying to the little blue battle frenzying guys. With the help of the Feegles the girl is out to rescue her bratty baby brother and hilarity ensues. Three famous characters from the Discworld series show up for cameos and a promise of things to come for the young witch (age 9). Great story to read aloud to kids if you can handle the Scottish Brogue of the dialogue. Make sure you have time to stay up late to finish another comedic page turner form dear Mr. Pratchett.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely fantastic. Tiffany is the girl I wish I had been when I was young and hope my daughters will be.
paper_angel21 More than 1 year ago
The phone eReaders (I have a Blackberry Curve) may not be able to handle the footnotes. Terry Pratchett often includes extensive footnotes that add to the story and are fun to read! Spoke with technical support, who confirmed that it would not work with some phones (maybe all). The links do work on the computer, but who only reads books on their computer?? Wasn't able to get any credit for the book either. Sadly the story seems fun and being able to read the footnotes would make it so much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Totally reccommend this book so awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my first foray into the world of Terry Pratchett and Discworld. Loved it. Tiffany was the perfect heroine, unsure of herself at first, gradually gaining confidence in her witch skills. The Wee Free Men were hilarious.
Twilights_Moon More than 1 year ago
Terry Pratchett never disappoints. Tiffany Aching is quick, clever, and she has the hilarious Wee Free Men on her side. Great read, I didn't want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Imagine this: You are in a dark theater. You check the program. The play? The Wee Free Men. The curtain goes up. You have entered Discworld. The play is about a nine-year old witch. Tiffany Aching. She was just another child on the farm... till she saw Jenny Greenteeth. You watch, entranced as she befriends the Nac Mac Feegles, and becomes their kelda. She then enlists their help to venture into the heart of Fairyland and rescue her kidnapped younger brother. The curtains close. A moment of silence. Your eardrums explode.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The introductory story of Tiffany & the Nac Mac Feegles is hilarious: what happens when fairy-tale monsters meet up with someone who has (Un)Common Sense, even if that someone is a child. Pratchett is a genius of satire, and this book is no exception.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A quick read that is a lot of fun. The interesting lead character is a spunky young lady that keeps the story moving along. While the target audience is young, it is a great read for us more mature people also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We love all of his books. Highly recommended although you may well become a discworld addict.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To be perfectly honest this was purely a cover/back blurb buy for me! That cover is amazing, and the back blurb says, ” What’s not to love about a girl who takes on vicious monsters armed with only a frying pan?” -Publishers Weekly. I mean seriously that just sucked me in and made me want to read this story so badly. Not to mention I have heard really good things about Terry Pratchett. I am just immensely glad I picked up this book, because it had me flipping the pages like nobodies business! Needless to say I loved this story! It was so weird and not really something I had ever read before but something I enjoyed oh so much. This book follows Tiffany a young girl (you really don’t learn her age until like the last chapter of this book) who wants to be a witch despite the fact that the Baron of the land hates witches. Tiffany’s adventure begins when her brother gets kidnapped by the Queen of Fairyland. Which is not the Fairyland you would imagine as a child nor want to visit. It’s really dark and twisted and you can get trapped in dreams and die in them. Overall very creepy, but I loved the creep factor. Although as creepy as that sounds the narrator was so brave that you really didn’t mind the creepyness of the book. It went a bit up and down, which was different from most books, it started out slow, and then there was some action, and then it calmed down, and then there was more action. Not that it bothered me it was just a fun read and the characters were such an amazing array of characters. The Wee Free Men cracked me up. They were so fierce and protective of their Kelda and I just loved reading about them and their rambunctious ways! Now Tiffany was amazing. She was funny and smart and witty and sassy and brave. Just all out brave. I mean she wasn’t afraid to run head first in to danger for her little brother. Nor was she afraid of the Wee Free Men, she actually got them to behave for a little while at least. She is definitely a favorite character of mine. She just has that quality that makes you like her. She wasn’t annoying in any way and I actually felt quite connected to her as a character (I for sure wanted to be a witch when I was a kid… Maybe even a bit as an adult). She just was such a refreshing character in a world of the same cookie-cutter YA heroines. There are about 5 books total in the Tiffany Aching series and I really want to get my hands on them. They are such quick, fun reads. They’re those type of books that just has a little something for everyone. This is definitely a book I recommend to pretty much everyone. Seriously if you ever take any of my suggestions go read this book (and maybe Six of Crows). It really is a great story. I do know this is part of a bigger series called the Discworld series. Which has like 30+ books to it, but if any of them are like The Wee Free Men, then I am definitely going to be picking them up. And if you have read this one already, let me know what you thought!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss ur hand three times post this on three other books and look under ur pillow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ohh crivens! Best book ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best i have ever read. It is about a young girl who has strange talents. She befreinds the hilarious wee free men and resvues her little brother from fairyland.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of myfavorite books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss your hand
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic!!!
BklynBornPL More than 1 year ago
I read this in anticipation of recommending it to my 11 year old granddaughter. I think she and other young girls would like this book. The characters are very engaging, especially the Wee Free Men. The main character is a feisty smart young lady who has to rescue her annoying baby brother who was stolen away to another "world". In spite of her lack of sisterly love, she does what is right and does it in clever ways.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RNRSG More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this cute story. It was a nice diversion from the more serious stories I tend to read. The author's imagination took me away to the faraway lands and gave me many chuckles.