×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Well-Lived Laugh: Designing a Life That Keeps You Smiling
     

The Well-Lived Laugh: Designing a Life That Keeps You Smiling

4.2 10
by Rachel St. John-Gilbert
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ladies, a little perspective can change everything—and owning your own perspective (with a sense of humor) is what The Well-Lived Laugh is all about. Brand-new from Christian humor writer Rachel St. John-Gilbert (author of Wake Up Laughing and Laugh Yourself to Sleep), The Well-Lived Laugh: Designing a Life that Keeps You

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Well-Lived Laugh: Designing a Life That Keeps You Smiling 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Sue33SK More than 1 year ago
I just finished this book and enjoyed every last sentence. As mom to a 2 year old and one still incubating, I've come a long way to appreciating this type of humor and what the author calls "margins" in life. I've read my share of heavy duty Christian devotionals and self help books. And while they have their place, books like these, that are short and sweet with savory substance, have become my new favorite thing! This book has reminded me that for all the things that encompass womanhood (relationships, emotions, hormones), it doesn't have to be a heavy mess if I add a little buoyancy to my perspective and see the humor in it!
psalm5 More than 1 year ago
I have all 3 of Rachel's books! Wake-up Laughing, Laugh Yourself to Sleep, and The Well-Lived Laugh are all great books which make great gifts!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm adding a 5-star to balance the 3-star, which I think was posted in error since the same reviewer rated TWLL 5 stars on other site.
TooRealHousewife More than 1 year ago
Rachel St John-Gilbert realised Oprah’s job was already taken and ” being a deep thinker and encourager by nature, I dabbled in the writing world to see if God might use these gifts in that field”. Well Lived Laugh (Designing A Life That Keeps You Smiling)  is one of her books written about ” some of the pressures that weighs on womens’ minds” and encourages the reader to ” decide for themselves how to view them”. At the end of each chapter is a questionaire section designed to help you decide how seriously you feel pressured by that chapters topic. The questions are designed to determine whether you need to ‘ease up’ the pressure you may be putting on yourself. Chapters deal with common pressures women face, such as weight ,youthfulness, doing it all and making something of yourself. St John-Gilbert is know for her quirky, humourous style and the anecdotes in this book help illustrate each topic in a very low-pressure and relatable way. Yet, this is not a book about ‘giving up’ or avoiding pressure. St John-Gilbert acknowledges that ” not all pressures are bad-some are a catalyst to positive change.”  The main message is knowing your priorities. When we determine our priorities, rather than allowing outside pressures to govern us, we can live by our beliefs and actions with confidence and enthusiasm rather than burning out trying to live by standards that are imposed by society or our need to be perfect or liked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a nice big bathroom