×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Wicked Wedding of Miss Ellie Vyne
  • Alternative view 1 of Wicked Wedding of Miss Ellie Vyne
  • Alternative view 2 of Wicked Wedding of Miss Ellie Vyne
     

Wicked Wedding of Miss Ellie Vyne

4.0 101
by Jayne Fresina
 

See All Formats & Editions

Praise for The Most Improper Miss Sophie Valentine:

"Fresina shows a decidedly humorous, as well as sensual, side that is sure to enchant readers...A true charmer of a read. " —RT Book Reviews

WHEN A SCANDALOUS LADY...

By night Ellie Vyne fleeces unsuspecting aristocrats as the dashing Count de Bonneville. By day she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wicked Wedding of Miss Ellie Vyne 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 101 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting premise, likeable heroine, and enjoyable set-up. But, I lost interest as the story progressed. The story seemed to run out of steam, but the author kept writing.
booksrapassion More than 1 year ago
This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines! I have two words for this book. Utterly delightful. Seriously, I adored not only our heroine, but our hero too. Let me just tell you Ellie Vyne if a mess. She can't seem to walk across the front yard without dirtying her person or her dress. She might be described as plain, but our girl has a sharp mind. *woot woot* Lets hear it for female protagonists with brain cells! She puts them to good use too. On occasion she masquerades as the dashing Count de Bonneville to fleece the good gentlemen of the society out of their money. Is she doing this because she's greedy? No. She's using her wits to make money on the sly to pay for her sister's two seasons of debut in society to meet husbands, then to help take care of her stepfather and the house that he loves which is falling apart around him. So what's Ellie's problem? The rakish James Hartley who has a way of rubbing her the wrong way. James Hartley is being pressured to settle down with a wife from his grand-mama. He's also being chased by all of the women who want to use him for his bed sports. The thing is, this predicament is all his own fault. However, no one seems to notice that he's trying to change. He wants to settle down, and he wants the mysterious woman dressed as Marie Antoinette he met in a garden at a party where he was thoroughly pickled. Of course, while searching for his mysterious Marie he has to chase down that dastardly Count de Bonneville who has possession of some diamonds that belong to his family, from whom he received from one of James' former bed mates in payment for her gambling debts. Instead of finding the Count when he tracks his movements down to an inn, he finds the disastrous Miss Vyne. I'm picky about my historicals, but this book was so cute, had an awesome sense of humor, and delightful characters that made it a total pick me up for the past two days. I'd say Jayne Fresina's book is highly recommended and give it a four and half wine glass toast of brandy in salute. Please note, it deserves brandy because Miss Vyne loves it so.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a free friday book and what a treat it was. Well written, nicely paced, good dialogue and best of all interesting, fleshed out characters. OK so the plot wasn't particularly complex, it was still well constructed and very amusing. Reminded me of a GB Shaw play or a classic Romance (note the upper case R). It is an historic-ish romance novel though so if that isn't your thing, don't bother reading it as you won't like it and you'll only complain about bn offering only trash or stupidity or some such even though it was FREE. Anyway bn thank you and fyi, I would have paid for this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cuddly up by the fire to enjoy this sweet, funny romantic romp of a story. Miss Ellie Vyne is not your average single girl looking for a husband. What happens is funny and a little bit naughty. Have fun reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You will enjoy this story set in the1800's of Ellie setting her sights on him while impersonating a Count--some unexpected events almost ruin her plans but it all works out in the end!
MRR62 More than 1 year ago
This book was very well written about about two trouble-makers in the 19th century...  He has a reputation as a rake, and she has resorted to disguising herself and gambling (cheating with slight of hand) in order to provide for her stepfather and sponsor her half-sisters' "coming out".   The two have hated one another for 17 years, as long as they've known one another--is it possible for them to overcome those feelings and forge something stronger? This was a fun read, and even though you know (because of the nature of the genre) that they will finally end up together, the author keeps you guessing as to how.   The thing that bothered me about the story was that I wanted the author to put just a little more into the end, to include the announcement and the reactions of the people at the ball.  As it was, the ending was too abrupt, and cost a star in my rating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good story. I can't wait to read other books about the characters found within this tale.
LAPG More than 1 year ago
Complex plotting and exceptional writing skill combine to make this book a nice surprise. It is a step above the usual historical romance, with interesting characters who are flawed, and come to know it...and then learn to rise above it. The dialog is often droll, employing some tongue-in-cheek double entendre, yet the book is far from silly. The sexual tension is nicely built and played out, and in the end I felt the characters had earned their happiness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Winderful read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed this book. All the twist and turns in the story line make for a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Totally enjoyed. Will look for any books related to story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by this author and I will definitely read another! The last part of the book was a little excessive in the obstacles standing in their way, but the great characters more than made up for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A new twist and interesting twist really enjoyed it after I wasn't confused anymore by the first couple of pages. Highly recommended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Prefection! The right blend of comedy, sensual romance and witty banter. A must read.
2_PMVH More than 1 year ago
This is the first Jayne Frisian book I have read. She has the most quirky, hilarious and unique characters in her story like Lady Mercy, Grieves, Smallwick, and many others. Ellie does for others and gets herself in trouble in the process. She masquerades as a French Count for money to help her 2 half sisters and also to pay her step father's many bills. James is a rich man who shows the world that he all shine and no depth. He plays fast and loose with woman but also regrets that he lost his son, that he didn't know he had, in childbirth. Ellie and James have know each other since Ellie drew a ink mustache on his face when she was 10. They have a HATE relationship. A very drunk James meets a stunning woman who kisses him and he wants her above all others. The only problem is that it was a masquerade and he doesn't know who she is. Well it was Miss Ellie Vine and she is now in a love hate relationship with him. James goes after the Count for his family diamonds that his former paramour lost. He discovers Ellie in the count's room and thinks she is the count's paramour. So begins their wild adventure to Sydney Dovedale. They pick up many hilarious characters on the way. My favorite is Lady Mercy. Lady Mercy needs a swift spanking or kick up her bootie. This book does have some periods in which the story just off track. It has many hilarious points so I give this book 3 fingers up and 7 toes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DallasDunlavy More than 1 year ago
This was a gem of a story.  Wish I had read the book before this one first.  One reviewer gave this book a  poor review then said she doesn't like this genre!  What a waste of time for everyone! I got this as a Free Friday selection.  Highly recommended!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago