×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wisdom of Insecurity
     

The Wisdom of Insecurity

4.9 16
by Alan W. Watts
 

See All Formats & Editions

An exploration of man's quest for psychological security and spiritual certainty in religion and philosophy.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wisdom of Insecurity: A Message for an Age of Anxiety 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alan Watts is clearly one of the best when it comes to writing about spirituality and consciousness! He explains things so well that his books enable us to see ourselves without the lenses of the ego that we usually wear in our everyday lives. After pursuing other works for many years to further understand consciousness, I finally came across another book that was even better at explaining these things. It's called 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato and I highly recommend it if you like these types of books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
and his name is Alan Watts. I truly love this man. Not only is he a great speaker/writer/phillosopher, he's also damn funny. This was the first Watts book I bought after hearing some of his lectures on a college radio station in New York. I have given this book to my friends that have thanked me for turning them 'on' to the late great Watts. I plan to give this book to my children and hopefully they will be as inspired and uplifted as I was.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is full of wisdom, and no review less than 30 pages could do justice to it. Watts takes the reader on a tour of human nature and explains the human condition of suffering and the path out of suffering. As Watts explains, human nature is to try and accumulate pleasure and good, and avoid the bad. But good and bad cannot be separated they're complementary opposites of one another. Creating a concept of good creates the concept of bad, and trying to seek one to the exclusion of the other is absurd. Instead of worrying about the suffering that the future will bring 'insecurity' we should embrace the present moment, and realize that behind our insecurity lies a deep truth, that the universe is constantly changing, that everything is impermanent, and that trying to hold onto anything 'clinging, desire' is futile. Happiness and freedom lay in acceptance of the present moment as it is, opening our hearts, and looking into the nature of the self that tries to cling hopelessly. Highly, highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful book, maybe even more timely than when it was written. In contrast to some of the reviews of the book, it is trying to get people to realize that life and self are movement, an endlessly changing present that we can not hold on to. Our sense of 'insecurity' is our trying to make things permanent--typically by regretting the past, worrying about the future, but always doing so in a present moment of which we thus are not aware. As Watts uses the term, 'insecurity' does not refer to a psychological state to be overcome, but rather is a reference to the changing nature of everything.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to truly free your mind and feel fulfilled in your life, this is the book you should read! It tells you where its at straight into your face and makes you face and overcome (or let go of) your own insecurities. I really enjoyed this book. I also recommend Rhythm, Relationships, and Transcendence by Toru Sato if you want to learn more about this view of existence.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book - my first introduction to Buddism. A great gift to me to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This isn't a light, easy or quick read. It is very insightful. It was recommended to me by a dear friend to help me worrk through my anxiety issues. Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was recommended this book by a great friend who is always an inspiration to me. Though I expected it to be a good book, this book turned out to be an even bigger inspiration for me than I had expected. Although insecurity is what drives us all, it is the same insecurity that keeps us away from the truth. An even better book I read recently on this topic was, 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato. It is so excellent in explaining how we become insecure and how a large part of life is a process to figure a way out of it. These books are so great I would recommend it to anyone ready to see the truth.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While the title of this book is a bit off-putting...the contents brought me to several ah ha moments. Watts plainly reveals the simplicity of appreciating each moment of the present.