×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wolf Princess
     

The Wolf Princess

4.1 15
by Cathryn Constable
 

See All Formats & Editions


A captivating, atmospheric mystery set in the crystalline winterland of Russia.

Abandoned in a blinding blizzard in the wintry wilds of Russia, Sophie Smith fears for her life. But just like in a fairy tale, a princess comes to her rescue: the beautiful, exotic Anna Volkonskaya. Over a river of ice in a horse-drawn sleigh, she brings Sophie and her friends

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wolf Princess 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just read the sanple and it sounds very good and I think that i want to buy it
ShannonODonnell More than 1 year ago
The Wolf Princess is a captivating tale that transports us to Russia with vivid imagery and powerful descriptions. While it maintains a fairytale feel, it rises to the next level with its depth of intrigue and mystery. Even if you figure out what's coming, it won't matter, because the experience of journeying there is worth every page. It's the writing and the world building that make this book a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good book SO MANY SECRETS! wish i could tell you them! I only gave it a 4 because i want a 2nd book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has strong plot and so many twists. This gripping story will keep you on the edge of your seat and glued to your nook. Remember, not everyone is who they seem to be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A sweet loving tale full of truth (and frost and snow) Captures your heart. You'll love the twists and suprise. Fanisty goes wild. If you like adventure you will like The Wolf Princses. Hope you read this cool tale.
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Sophie Smith has never been special or interesting. She is the poor girl at her elite private school complete with her shabby clothes, unbrushed hair and callous guardian. Sophie thinks things might have gone differently if she wasn't an orphan. But she is. Trapped in her grey English boarding school. Trapped in her grey boring life even as dreams of winter in Russia, majestic wolves and a strange forest haunt her. Nothing interesting ever happens to Sophie. She wouldn't expect anything different. Then a stranger comes to the school and invites Sophie and her roommates--glamorous Delphine and bookish Marianne--on a school trip to St. Petersburg. The following adventure is even more than Sophie could hope for as they girls are abandoned in a blizzard and whisked away to a wintry palace to rival Sophie's grandest dreams in The Wolf Princess (2012) by Cathryn Constable. I went into this book with high expectations and only a vague sense of what to expect beyond a rags to riches fairy tale story. In a way that is exactly what The Wolf Princess delivers. But in other ways it was a disappointment. Sophie is fascinated with Russia in a way that should be endearing and draw readers in as well. Instead it comes off as vaguely condescending as she describes Russian words knocking into each other and, at one point, describes a Russian character's handwriting as distinctly foreign. All of the characters in the story feel like caricatures complete with an icy winter princess, a sturdy Russian officer and, of course, one friend who is defined solely as being glamorous and half-French (no, really) and another who is interesting only in that she is intelligent (I don't even remember if we were ever told her hair color). Beyond that Sophie is infuriating. She is a mousey heroine with absolutely know self-confidence. Instead of blossoming or coming into her own as the story progresses Sophie continues to doubt herself and remind readers and her friends that she is decidedly not special. Worse, her friends are quick to agree. The book is also oddly out of time. Reference to cell phones suggest the book is set in the present although the atmosphere and attitudes of the characters seem to suggest an earlier time period. The characters are similarly ageless. The Wolf Princess is marketed for ages 10-14 meaning, because the ages are never implicitly stated, there is a huge spread for how old the characters can be. Taken as a middle grade novel Sophie's behavior might make more sense but I doubt it would make her more tolerable. This story is likely to appeal to anyone who has enjoyed Leigh Bardugo's Grisha books or wants a riff on the tropes found in A Little Princess. However readers should be wary of the flaws in certain aspects of The Wolf Princess. Possible Pairings: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Sender Unknown by Sallie Lowenstein, Kiki Strike by Kirsten Miller, The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a very meaningfull and majestic book I highly recomend it to anyone interested in action adventure mistery and wonder.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book love it im reading it 2 times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did't really get the meaning of the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You guys seriously need to stop saying 'cool i think im going to get it'' Only say REVIEWS!! You know people want reviews not some retard saying hes going to get it >:(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an army for use open to the general public. We are close to being the same thing as the Ghosts, but we will have more training. Sign up for training in the next res. Training starts July 1st. The Secret Police will grow over time as more people hear about us. The SP will have safe houses for people and animals that have been hurt by evil clans and such. Place bios in this res. Here is an example of a correct bio.*NAME* Ciurtney Kastens. *AGE* 12. *WEAPON OF CHOICE* Sniper rifle. *RANK* General/Sniper.**** Here are the Rank Choices; SCOUTS have low armour, yet are vital in battle. MEDICS are also low armoured, but help many wounded soldiers during battle. TANKS are heavily armoured, and very powerful. SNIPERS are like scouts, yet have more powerful weapons. ABOUT PLATOONS Platoons have thirty soldiers at most, with at least five of each rank. Platoons will be lead by me or a corporal. Thank you for your time, and I hope you ask questions or join my army! ~General Courtney Kastens
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?