×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Woman in White (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Woman in White (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Woman in White (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)
     

The Woman in White (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

3.7 328
by Wilkie Collins, Camille Cauti (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Woman in White, by Wilkie Collins, is part of the Barnes & Noble Classics series, which offers quality editions at affordable prices to the student and the general reader, including new scholarship, thoughtful design, and pages of carefully crafted extras. Here are some of the remarkable features of Barnes & Noble Classics:

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Woman in White (Illustrated + link to download FREE audiobook + Active TOC) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 328 reviews.
fearlessgirl More than 1 year ago
A really good book that has interesting characters and strong plot line,it manages to
give you info slowly but surely and then POW! it all makes sense! Amazingly up to date and relevant even in this day and age,it's also great for re-reading.
Julie_Loya More than 1 year ago
At 635 pages, Wilkie Collins' "The Woman in White" is an investment of time. It is, however, an investment worth making. Originally published in book form in 1860, this classic mystery combines intrigue, suspense and just a touch of insanity. Each section is narrated by a different character, so the tone and voice are constantly changing. This is typical in mystery writing today, but it was quite revolutionary in the 19th century. This construction adds an almost trial-like flavor to the mystery as each person's "testimony" adds pieces to the overall puzzle. There are plenty of twists and turns, both in the plot and in the characters. Not everyone is what they seem to be and that makes it all very thrilling. This is not a "sit at the beach" book, but more of a "sit by the fire on a rainy day" book. But, after the first few pages hook you, you'll be wishing for rain.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had a great plot and was beautifully written. However, it seems to take a while for the story to pick up and when it does take off you feel as though you are going in circles. The best was the end since you moved quick, got to the point, and it is where all the interesting aspects of the plot come out. I would recommend this if you have time to kill but if not you might want to pick up another book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't be fooled by how boring this book starts out- this is so good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. I love mysteries and Victorian fiction, so this book really kept my interest. Great characters and a truly satisfying ending.
lbaat More than 1 year ago
I was pretty impressed with this book. It is one of the most interesting older books that I have ever read. It kept my attention the whole way through. The characters were very in depth. A few things bothered me about this book, but mostly, it was enjoyable and different!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even though this was written in 1859 it almost reads like a contemporary novel. I love the way he changes the character giving the narrative. A very well written suspense mystery novel--I am pleasantly surprised.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an outstanding novel with deep plot and character development. It is quite dense with a lot going on and as I read it I felt as though I were there in Victorian England. I finished only to go right back to page 1 to read it all over again.
AutumnHeart More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. It does take a while to get into the story, but I think that is the case with many books. However, sometimes the slowest starters turn out to be the most amazing. It may start slow but all of sudden you find yourself hanging on each word, anticipating the next move of the characters. I loved, unlike more modern mystery/suspense novels, that the actions of these characters is much more subtle due to the time period the story is set. It gives another layer of complexity that really took hold of me while I read it. I gave it four stars, instead of five, because yes it is extremely long. I felt that the ending was dragged on a bit. I found myself just rushing through the pages to have it done, and not because I felt compelled to turn the page in relation to the plot. However, the plot for 98% of the book, did keep my heart pounding, my mind spinning, and my fingers aching to turn the pages. A great read, even with the negative of being increasingly long.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fascinating story. Marian and Count Fosco may be the most brilliant character ever created. A true page turner.....MUST MUST READ. WOW
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing novel - written over 140 years ago, yet as exciting today as any thriller. The characters are well developed and intelligent. Enjoyable from start to finish.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As others have stated before me, the opening 100 pages can be seen as quite dull, but once you get past it.....No mystery today can compare with the shocking and yet realistic events in this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first thought that this was going to be a dry book, but don't let the first few pages fool you, this book is full of twists and turns making it quite enjoyable. The characters were believable and that is saying something considering that all of them tell a part of the story! Also rich in historical references complete with endnotes in the text. All in all this was a great read and well worth the money, definately not sorry that I picked this one up, that's for sure!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 8 months ago
<br> cx
bjdoureaux More than 1 year ago
Walter Hartright is on his way to London when he has a midnight encounter with a mysterious woman dressed in white. When he reaches his destination, where he is to serve as a drawing instructor to Laura and her sister Marion, he tells them of his meeting with the woman on the road, and the way she behaved, as if hiding some secret. The three of them eventually find themselves pulled into a mystery of their own. Hidden crimes and conspiracies, kidnapping and murder, all connected to the mysterious woman in white. Written in the late 1800’s, and at just over 600 pages long, this novel is surprisingly readable and enjoyable. Though long, the story does, for the most part, have a good flow. The mystery of the unfolding events keep the pages turning, even when the story hits the occasional lull. The characters are full and well-drawn. They will easily draw your sympathy or your revulsion. Overall, this is a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MysteryChristieluv More than 1 year ago
Really good read. A must for Christie fans. I loved it.
terpOK More than 1 year ago
Written in a time where things had to be described in full detail, now it drags due to the descriptions. I found myself skipping large chunks just to get on with it. With all that being said, I would not recommend this book because the story just doesn't warrant it's classic status, in my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An outstanding book I have read this book and I have to say that Wilkie Collins wrote a SPECTACULAR book! For the people out there that love mysteries, this is a classical book that has a lot of twists and turns. I LOVE this book and I'd read it again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago