×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The World Without Us
     

The World Without Us

3.7 19
by Alan Weisman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Time #1 Nonfiction Book of 2007
Entertainment Weekly #1 Nonfiction Book of 2007
Finalist for the 2007 National Book Critics Circle Award
Salon Book Awards 2007
Amazon Top 100 Editors' Picks of 2007 (#4)
Barnes and Noble 10 Best of 2007: Politics and Current Affairs
Kansas City Star's Top 100 Books of the Year

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The World Without Us 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
MelBam More than 1 year ago
The World Without Us is an excellent book that grasps the readers mind. It shows the earth today in a journey to return to its former self. The impact of humans on earth is great topic and this book was a real eye opener. I found it to be very detailed and it contained solid facts that were backed up by great research. I found it hard to understand at some point where Mr.Weisman deviates from the topic. The topics on there own are very good minus the fact that it feels very unorganized. There is no general thesis but it provides interesting points. once I got into the book the facts and images came swirling out. Overall it is a great book that I highly recommend to anyone interested in the world. I give this book 3.5 uninhabited earths out of 5.
KCNY More than 1 year ago
If you happen to be the last surviving human, after we do ourselves in, Alan Wiseman's book can serve as an interesting travel guide. I found his research authoritative and compelling. He introduced me to many fascinating places on our planet that will return to their primal state as havens teaming with life in the Post Human world. How about taking up residence in Chernobyl one day. This book makes a strong case that the planet is not in peril, it's just waiting for us to go!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I agree with the previous comments that this was a fascinating book. It appears to be based on sound research and science. It is also a great book for listening. The author's style of writing lends itself well to the audio format, and the reader is a good match for the material. I came to an even greater appreciation of our wondrous natural environments from listening to the book. I could just feel the beauty of the locales the author takes the listener to. I would have rated the book outstanding except that I thought some of the transitions between topics were a bit awkward. I don't believe the author sees humans as evil, just as fallible and right now on the wrong path. He uses the device of a 'world without us' to help set us on a saner course. Try the audio version--you'll enjoy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
really interesting, well-written book on an original topic
Erosthiest More than 1 year ago
This book fantasizes about a world without humans and takes a look at our lasting legacy while at the same time informing the reader of just how much we negatively effect the world with our day-to-day activities. Extremely engaging.
Bethany19 More than 1 year ago
I had to read a book concerning climate change and the effects of it on the earth for a class in school. This book clearly depicts our Earth and the effect that we have on it. I highly recommend it to anyone who is remotely interested in this topic. It is truly eye-opening.
collnicole More than 1 year ago
This book drags on and does not always stay on topic (eg: The story was talking about the world without the human race like it should, then started talking about the difference between 2 money species). I don't think I'll be able to finish reading this one.