×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Wrecking Crew: The Inside Story of Rock and Roll's Best-Kept Secret
     

The Wrecking Crew: The Inside Story of Rock and Roll's Best-Kept Secret

4.4 27
by Kent Hartman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the Oregon Book Award for General Nonfiction and Los Angeles Times bestseller

"It makes good music sound better."-Janet Maslin in The New York Times

"A fascinating look into the West Coast recording studio scene of the '60s and the inside story of the music you heard on

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Wrecking Crew: The Inside Story of Rock and Roll's Best-Kept Secret 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
kwebster28273 More than 1 year ago
Full of amazing tidbits- all of which my friends are sick of hearing about from me. Highly recommended.
JessiMN More than 1 year ago
Anyone who grew up in the '60's should read this book about what happened behind the scenes. It's an eye-opener!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. Very interesting, learned a lot. A good read.
Adolphus More than 1 year ago
This is a fun book that tells the stories (many stories) behind the most listened to music of the '60s and '70s--stories the record companies didn't want us to hear. The author really did a ton of research--years of interviews with members of the the Wrecking Crew are listed in the book's Source Notes and Bibliography. Great gift book! (That's how I got a copy.)
iocat More than 1 year ago
The marketing copy nails it on the head. This gives the inside story of the session musicians behind some of the best rock n roll recorded in LA in the 60s and 70s. Very well written, very well researched, and very interesting, especially if you like rock. It's a great behind-the-scenes look. Just make sure you're near a PC when you read it so you can hit the Internet to listen to the songs!
Classic_Rocker More than 1 year ago
Great information about the music I grew up with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful read. Well researched. Having worked in the music industry late 60's through 70's at a major label, I certainly remember all the LP's we used The Wrecking Crew on. It was too expensive to have a house band as used to be in the 40's and 50's for bigger labels and movie studios. We only benefited by this amazing grouping of musical talent. There is a movie made by Denny Tedesco, son of one of the WC members, making it's rounds now that also documents this group of exceptional musicians.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very surprised by the things I found here. Very goid book on the history of rock and roll.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. So many memories are associated with music for me. I played guitar in dance bands and still play some everyday. I would have been on top the world to be a studio guitarist. All I can say is thanks for all the music.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Growing up in the 60's, this music was the soundtrack of my life. I would listen to my transistor radio every day and never knew anyone but the groups played on so many of the songs I loved and so many of the records I owned. This book is a must for any fan of 60's and70's music, singers, and groups. I can't wait till the documentary of the Wrecking Crew comes out in DVD!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
studio139 More than 1 year ago
Almost unreadable, full of errors.  Passable if you are new to the history of popular music, but  not for those serious about the subject.  Perhaps not the author's fault as there is so much mythology about the music business from the 1950's and 60's and this book supports a particular version.  This is not to slight the session players involved for their important contribution, it is simply a skewed history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Adios Saphire! Ima go to bed as well before I colapse...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
K bye :p
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gtg. Good luck!