×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos (Theodosia Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos (Theodosia Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos (Theodosia Series #1)
     

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos (Theodosia Series #1)

4.5 53
by R. L. LaFevers, Yoko Tanaka (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions


Theodosia Throckmorton has her hands full at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London. Her father may be head curator, but it is Theo—and only Theo—who is able to see all the black magic and ancient curses that still cling to the artifacts in the museum.

When Theo’s mother returns from her latest archaeological dig bearing the Heart of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos (Theodosia Series #1) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
Think of a combination of Nancy Drew and a little bit of Indiana Jones and you have Theo. I really did enjoy reading this book. It had a perfect blend of mystery, adventure, and paranormal characteristics that made the book enjoyable for all ages. Not only was Theo not a typical girl but she was curious, outspoken, and an adventure seeker who was not afraid of getting into danger. Her unique gift of finding the ancient curses and dispelling them is fun and different and I enjoyed her process of removing these curses from these items despite how oblivious her parents are. She does get a little lippy towards people older than her, but I like this part of her personality. It adds more to her stubborn character and adds more to her personality which makes the book all the more fun to read. The plot was really good. As usual, there is an underlying main plot underneath a few mini story arcs. I like it, although it's nothing really new or different from other novels like this one but it provides the adventure to the story and when Theo does eventually get involved it adds more adventure and quickens the plot pace. My favorite bit was when Theo impresses a crowd with her removal of a particular curse. It gave me a triumphant feeling and I cheered her on as so many adults just seem to push her away just because she's just a child. However, Theo does have flaws, and sometimes her ability to remove the curse does backfire (and it has somewhat comedic consequences). The ending provides for much of the action, which gives the story a great climax and makes way for the second book. What's also great about this story is the pace is steady and you're not slowed down at any time of the point. At each scene, you're there for a good time before moving onto the next one and there's no redundancy or over-repetitiveness. This book had a wonderful plot, an outstanding main character who's fun to read, and I think this is going to be a very exciting fun filled series! I most definitely recommend this book for people of all ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great for anyone who loves Ancient Egypt. I picked this book up from our local library expecting it not to be much but i was wrong!! I really liked this book it was a page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just started and I can't put it down!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book just pulled me in. My librarian recomended it to me and it was soooooo good. Must read!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿
Kendallj47 More than 1 year ago
Book abot a very adventerous girl Theodosia Throckmorton . Some parts in the book may be very scary for children under 7yrs. Parents will enjoy reading this book,although reccommended for ages 8-16.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book introduces Theodosia Throckmorton. A young lady of brilliant mind and special abilities whose father works in a London antiquities museum. While she endeavors to remain unobtrusive to prevent being sent away to school and far from the interesting objects, pre-WWI London, German agents and others intrude into her world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was really excited to get a review copy of Robin LaFevers April 2007 middle-grade mystery. And I couldn't wait to read it! In 1906 when most 11-year-old girls are polite, proper and respectful, Theodosia snoops out evil curses that haunt Egyptian antiques. She sleeps in a sarcophagus, reads hieroglyphics for fun and can sense dark magic. Her father is the Curator of the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London and her mother is an archaeologist. But her parents are clueless about the evil curses attached to museum artifacts. Only Theo can see the dangerous magic oozing from ancient objects -- and she boldly rises to the job of getting rid of the curses. Still mistakes do happen -- like putting a curse on her beloved cat, Isis. But she keeps working to free the museum (and her cat) of evil curses by creating bewitching spells and cunning counter-curses. Sassy and bold, Theo is a delightfully original heroine. But inside she feels sad because her parents leave her alone a lot and don't seem to notice her. Still when a missing artifact endangers her family (and maybe the entire world!) Theo convinces her younger brother and a new friend (a pick-pocket) to help her. Aside from the whole idea of helping the world, she hopes that saving London may impress her parents so they'll finally notice her. This exciting mystery is filled with quirky characters, moments of humor and thrilling twists that take Theodosia all the way to Egypt. I really loved this book -- especially Theo. I hope there's a sequel in the works!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AWESOMESAUCE! I love this book because I love mytholigy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it since I was 10!! Adventurous, and I love the author's choice of words!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome I luv ttheo!!!!! Why not a percy jackson x-over maybe theo sees through mist?COOL STORY I hear a book five is coming out sometime
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An absolute favorite of mine to be sure. While targetted towards a younger crowd, it is actually quite a sophisticated read. The research gone into the series gives brilliant, vivid reading. The characters have wonderful depth especially Theodosia herself. Brilliant writing style with great vocabulary. I highly recommend this whole series. The only other series of similarity to recommend is the Kane Chronicles, but truly it doesn't hold a candle to Miss Theodosia Throckmorton.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A story about a young british girl with an unusual talent for seeing curses. When her mother brings home the Heart of Egypt, it is up to Theo to save Britain and the world from curses and plagues that could mean the end of the world. A fun and satisfying read that will keep you hooked from start to finish. Recommended for ages 8-12.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Favorite of all time!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago