×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

These Things Hidden
     

These Things Hidden

4.0 355
by Heather Gudenkauf
 

See All Formats & Editions

When teenager Allison Glenn is sent to prison for a heinous crime, she leaves behind her reputation as Linden Falls' golden girl forever. Her parents deny the existence of their once-perfect child. Her former friends exult her downfall. Her sister, Brynn, faces whispered rumors every day in the hallways of their small Iowa high school. It's Brynn—shy, quiet

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

These Things Hidden 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 355 reviews.
a_tree-lined_drive More than 1 year ago
This book takes you on a journey through Allison Glenn's secrets and hardships. Along the way there are many twists to the story that leave you guessing and wanting more. Just when you think you have the book figured out; it throws something new at you up until the last page! Each chapter delivers a new secret or piece to the puzzle. This novel is great for people who love psychological thrillers that keep them guessing what will happen next the whole way through. It is a quick easy read that you won't want to put down. Anyone who reads this book will be shocked by the ending. Heather Gudenkauf is a fantastic author who picks at her readers brains. After reading this book I can't wait to read many more of her novels!
theatre_geek More than 1 year ago
I started this book on Thursday, today is Saturday. This book is very weird (plot line wise) and is beautifully written. The love and commitment between these two sisters is breath taking. This is a great book to read on a rainy day or in a book club. You honestly do not know what is going on until the last few chapters. It really is a suspense/mystery book! I definitly will be getting more books by Heather Gudenkauf! Enjoy!
Kyrie Kasten More than 1 year ago
overall i really enjoyed this book. i loved the twist at the end and how the seemingly unrelated characters all came held a piece of the mystery. however, i felt the beggining was a bit hard to get into because the character build seemedto take so long. but after the character build was over, for the most part, i couldnt put it down!
born2shop More than 1 year ago
Though this book isn't a complex thought provoking read....it is very well written and a very easy read. It has some twists and turns....some you can figure out...some you might not. All in all I enjoyed the book enough to purchase another of the author's books. This is the kind of book I enjoy when I just want to relax and not be so challenged with an intense and though provoking book.
FayeT More than 1 year ago
The book was slightly predictable, but the story line was great and beautifully illustrated the way life can sometimes be in those small southern towns where everybody and everbody is related. The author describes things so clearly you feel, see, smell, and even taste everything. You become attached to the characters. Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Book! Page Turner!
krazyangel More than 1 year ago
it was a good one but sad in the story n happy parts too. i couldnt put it down finished n two days.
Samantha Nelson More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down and then ith the twist at the end I was shocked. I enjoyed every page. Highly reccommended and well written!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From the very first chapters this book was a mystery! I read this book in a few short hours on my commute to and from work, and could not wait to put it down. I was constantly trying to figure out what was going and guessing at the outcome, only to be surprised by the final result! I was in tears as I flipped through this book page by and page. The story is near and dear to me and close to my heart in so many ways.
momoffourRB More than 1 year ago
Kept my interest from the first page to the last. I also have an adopted child- if this would have ever happed to him, I too would have moved. Thank heavens they came up with the Safe Haven Law.
AuthorAshleyDawn More than 1 year ago
Allison is the golden girl. Absolutely perfect in grades, sports and future goals . . . at least she was until one night changed everything. Now, after five years in prison, she is being released and wants to reconnect with her shy, quiet sister Brynn. Brynn was left to endure the stares and whispers of former friends and family following Allison's being sent to prison. Her parents and former friends want nothing to do with Allison, including Brynn who has struggled to forget that night for the past five years. The two sisters share a secret that is terrible. Returning home to Linden Falls will start a chain of events that Allison could have never foreseen and reveals more than the sisters could have ever imagined! Charm is studying to be a nurse and taking care of her dying father. Claire is a store owner who tried for years to have a baby before adopting little Joshua. There are secrets upon secrets and no matter how hard they try to keep them hidden, they will be revealed! Twisted and surprising! This book doesn't disappoint. Reviewed by Ashley Wintters for Suspense Magazine
shelly dunn More than 1 year ago
I was surprised how well everything tied together in the end. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to my friends. Not one of the best books I have read but by far not the worst. It's worth a read.
jennalunaVerse More than 1 year ago
I liked the way the characters all came together, but it took awhile. I enjoyed the surprise ending and it was definitely geared toward younger readers the way it was written, although the topic was hard core. Otherwise. I read it in 2 days. Good story.
AngelicAngel More than 1 year ago
Wow!!! Gudenkauf did it again. I loved The Weight of Silence and These Things Hidden did not disappoint. This book will capture you from beginning to end. It is a real page turner. I did not want to put it down. There are so many twist and turners that you not see the end coming. Fantastic book, a must read!!!
Trisha Gnyp More than 1 year ago
This is now one of my favourite books. Very well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read of Heather Gudenkauf, but she writes much like Jodi Picoult who I love! Great read!
irisaurora More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed The Weight of Silence, so I was excited to read this book by the same author. I was not disappointed. The story was interesting and surprising at times and it was an easy read. I read it in a couple of sittings. However, the editing was TERRIBLE. Words were missing (i.e. "Just I thought" instead of "Just as I thought"), tenses were misused. It was EXTREMELY distracting to me. Heather Gudenkauf should absolutely fire her editor. Other than that, loved it, would recommend it to friends, and think it should be made into a movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was really fantastic book to read. It was page turner wanting to know what is going to happen next. I love the way all the characters are connected to each other. Just easy read, just loved it.
irishbookworm21 More than 1 year ago
Allison Glenn was the perfect daughter. She made good grades, played soccer, and had a bright future ahead of her. The future her parents wanted and expected her to have. One night changes all of that. In an instant, Allison finds herself in the back of a police car. Her life left shattered, her future uncertain. Now, five years later, Allison is leaving prison and returning home to start over. While in prison, she has attempted to reach out to her sister Brynn over and over. Brynn has spent the last five years trying to escape that night. With Allison gone, her parents expected her to step into the role of perfect daughter. When it all became too much, Brynn escaped her parents' house and went to live with their grandmother. Brynn wants nothing more than to put the last five years behind her and forget her sister even exists. What follows is a story with unexpected twists and turns, leaving you wondering just how you might go to protect someone else. Heather Gudenhauf's tale is compelling from start to finish. It was very hard to put down, and I finished it fast enough to read it a second time before writing the review. I spent the entire time both wondering how Allison could keep such a secret and how Brynn could let her. What surprised me most is that while reading, I could empathize more with Allison than be angry at her. That was probably the most confusing emotion of all. I wanted to be completely appalled at her actions. Instead, I found myself heartbroken due to the difficult position in which she found herself. The story will draw you in and keep you guessing until the very end. Gudenkauf writes a tale that few would dare. Her voice is unique and captured me from the very beginning. This book obviously stays on my read again list, and I will be looking for her other novel as well.
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Allison Glen learned just how hard and far the mighty fall when their pedestals crumble, once Linden Falls Ohio's golden girl in the eyes of her town and her family she's sent to prison for a monstrous crime, even with blood on her hands she's released early and quickly learns what it means to be completely erased not only by the town but by her parents as well. Younger sister Brynn has also suffered the consequences and has started over away from the scene of the crime and the painful memories. Brought to town by their father's hospitalization Brynn sees Allison for the first time since she was taken away in the back of a police car. Charm Tullia is about to realize her dream of becoming a nurse although it's become clear to her that her beloved step-father will not be around to see it. Claire Kelby has been fortunate enough to see her dreams come true, she has her bookstore and finally she's a mother thanks to someone's ultimate sacrifice. These women will fit together the puzzle pieces of our startling, incredibly emotional and realistic story. Heather Gudenkauf brings us a sordid tale of lies, secrets, betrayal and death. It's about loss of innocence, of growing up and learning the hard knock lessons of life. The story line could be taken from any headline, but Ms. Gudenkauf goes us one better, she gives us a behind the scenes look at what really happened, she does it in pieces so we're always wondering what we missed and how to piece it together. She brings it to us with at times child like dialogue that points us in the direction of mental illness and at other times she gives us maturity beyond the age. Her characters run the gamut too from childlike to sophisticated, but don't let them fool you they're hiding things and it's up to us to find out what and who. They will also pull at your heartstrings and draw deep emotions from you as well to the point you'll have to reinvent who the villain is several times during the novel. It's not a romance but it's a love story, the love of a sister, the sacrifice for a child, the unconditional parental love and the parental love that comes with a price. Still waters run deep and secrets are revealed to agonizing results in this highly charged novel. If you're looking for a intensely emotional, complicated piece of literary fiction it's all in this read. It fit's in the mystery, women's literature or literary fiction category and it's a superb tale told by an excellent storyteller.
lovesagoodread10 More than 1 year ago
I loved These Things Hidden!! I could not put this book down! Gudenkauf has woven another fantastic novel that will capture the reader from beginning to end!!
Staycee19 More than 1 year ago
I gave this book a 3 Star rating based on the morose tone throughout. It was so overwhelmingly sad that I just could not enjoy the read. i believe it was quite well written. The prose had a flow that kept your interest piqued but I don't believe I will recommend "These Things Hidden" as I came away from it feeling very unsettled.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stuck with this to the end, but couldn't wait to finish it just to be able to move onto something else. Read a good review of it and had high hopes, but this really was just a dumb story. If I could have given it no stars, I would have.
Carlene Scheel More than 1 year ago
weird book but i think liked it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i bought this book for a 2 1/2 hr flight and could not put it. i spent the next day in my room reading it and finishing it. the book pulled me in from the very beginning.