×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Things Not Seen
     

Things Not Seen

4.5 388
by Andrew Clements
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of American Library Association Schneider Family Book Award! 

Bobby Phillips is an average fifteen-year-old-boy.  Until the morning he wakes up and can't see himself in the mirror.  Not blind, not dreaming-Bobby is just plain invisible.  There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to Bobby's new condition; even his dad the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Things Not Seen 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 388 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the best book on the market. Things not seen is a mix of drama, comedy, and mystery. Andrew Clements uses writers craft the whole book and makes sure the reader keeps reading on. It's so suspenceful that if you put the book down 1 minute later you will want to pick it back up and read it until tour done the book. The book always has action going on and it is never boring.
Tina45 More than 1 year ago
Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements is an awesome fictional novel. It is full of suspense and it will take you places never seen before. It practically reads itself. Things Not Seen is set in Chicago in the modern day time. Like most teenagers, Bobby Phillips, doesn't really like to collaborate with his parents. Then, Bobby woke up one morning and discovered that he was invisible! Now he must tell his parents but he doesn't know how. When Bobby wakes up to being invisible, he tells his parents by using his clothes to show them that he is there. Next, Bobby's parents are in a horrible car accident which put them both in the hospital. Meanwhile Bobby is home alone, scared. Bobby decided to leave the house and go the library to do some research on what happen to him. There he finds a friend Alicia, a little blind girl, who is going to help him figure out how to make him visible again, and what caused him to become invisible. They must do something before Bobby's parents are arrested for making him disappear. Andrew Clements is an intelligent author. He made it feel like you were in the story, the way the characters talked, thought and interacted. Also the word choice that Clements used, he used advanced but understandable words. Kids with an imagination and who like fun books should read Andrew Clements books. It was full of suspense. For example: Will Bobby stay invisible? How did he become invisible? Will his parents get arrested? Things Not Seen also comes in a series, there is Things Hoped For, Things That Are, and many more. It was a great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is great for all people and is so hard to put down i promise you that once you start reading you will need a crowbar to get you to stop reading it by the way how did i do for s 12 year old
-AliciaE.- More than 1 year ago
i luved reading this book, oh when it was a couple pages until the end, it got so gud, i literally crushed the book in my hands, from such a tight grip, the ending, was extreamly gud in the sense that it makes u REALLLYYY wonder wat happends at that moment, however it is also the type of ending that makes you really want to just throw urself infront of a car loll, wish the author continued it. Overall this book was awsome enjoyed ever second of it. very well written, and a wonderful moral lesson based on the theme of the story. I do recoment this book to all readers, thought it was jst wonderful =]]
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bobby Phillips wakes up on Tuesday morning for school to find out that he is invisble.He meets a blind girl named Alicia at the libray who helps him alot. His parents worry to leave his side.His dad spends lots of time trying to find out what happened. This book mostly takes place at his house and the hospital. He also spends alot of time at the libray.All through the book you think that something huge might happen and he will be visible agian but just one day he wakes up and he is visible you never really know why.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books of all time. Heart touching and humerous
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Hilarious, drama, really gets u attracted to the characters! Nervous at some points because of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was unique and written very well by an amazing author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bobby is a 15 year old boy that one morning wakes up and is invisible. Bobby and his family try to find a cure. Will they ever find a cure? The main characters are Bobby and Alicia. Bobby is invisible he loves to read just like his mom. Alicia is a blind girl with no friends until bobby comes along. Bobby and Alicia are best of friends! My favorite part of the book is when Bobby and Alicia meet. They meet in the library by accident. Bobby¿s clumsiness bumps into Alicia and figures out that she is blind. I like everything about the book. I think that adults and teens should read this book because it is a very difficult book to read. Title: Things Not Seen Author: Andrew Clements Publisher:Penguin Group Number of Pages:251 Literary Genre:Science Fiction
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
musicgirl95 More than 1 year ago
This was probably one of my favorite books ever. I read it in one day and I never put it down. I love how Andrew uses lots of description throughout the book so the readers can visualize Bobby's experience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Im only on page 15 and im already addicted. Wow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Age 11+ Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements is an interesting book that shows friendship, loyalty, and secrets throughout the whole book. The whole book is filled with suspense and it will keep you engaged the whole time you are reading it. The main character, Bobby Phillips, wakes up to find that he is invisible. He lives a pretty challenging life after that. The day his parents go to work, he sneaks over the the public library and meets a new friend. After Bobby meets his new friend, Alicia, he understands the new meaning of friendship. He realizes that no matter what your friends disability is, you should still accept them for who they are. Bobby realizes his challenges as being an invisible boy. Bobby’s school thinks he has a really bad case of the flu, so he doesn’t go to school for more than 3 weeks. Then, Bobby gets a call that his parents just got into a really bad car accident and his life changes really badly. Bobby must have someone stay with him according to the hospital, so he and his mom pretend that his Aunt Ethel is staying with him. He realizes that living invisible alone, isn’t the easiest thing in the world. I haven’t got to read the sequel “Things Hoped For” by Andrew Clements yet, but if you are into the mystery/fiction type of book, I would definitely recommend reading this book. Also, if you like reading books about friendships with disabilities and challenges, I would also reccomend this book to you for a good read. While I was reading this book, I couldn’t put it down! I was so engaged into it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Realistically action packed with a hint of romance. A thousand thumbs up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book, until I got to the end. I am definitly intrigued to read the next books in the series because this book ended in a major cliffhanger for me.
Patricia McDonald More than 1 year ago
I love how this book makes you feel that you are inside it. Very entertaining!!!
abe_lin More than 1 year ago
It's very easy and enjoyable to read. The characters and the story has brought a lot of bravery and hope. This is the kind of book that I am looking for. Good job Andrew Clements.
Todd McAnally More than 1 year ago
I would definetely read this and if ur hooked read things hope for and them there is one from alicias point of view! A great storyline.
Farbod Markazi More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome! COUNDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!!!!!!!!
miller mackay More than 1 year ago
Hard to put down
Lindsay Peifer More than 1 year ago
This book was really interesting! Right after I read the first chapter I was hooked!
Julia Baumgarner More than 1 year ago
this is one of my most favorite books ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A friend recomended this to me, and I couldn't put it down. Fantasic book! I loved it! Great for young readers (I myself am 12) and anyone in search for a great book
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ilove the book ive raed this 7 this week buy it thars 251pages