×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

This Is Where I Leave You (Movie Tie-in)
     

This Is Where I Leave You (Movie Tie-in)

4.1 379
by Jonathan Tropper
 

See All Formats & Editions

Featuring cover artwork from the major motion picture starring Jason Bateman, Tina Fey, and Adam Driver

"Often sidesplitting, mostly heartbreaking...[Tropper is] a more sincere, insightful version of Nick Hornby, that other master of male psyche." USA Today

The death of Judd Foxman's father marks the first time that the entire Foxman

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

This Is Where I Leave You 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 379 reviews.
hesitanthousewife More than 1 year ago
Jonathan Tropper is known for his hilarious and clever novels, and he does not disappoint with his latest creation, This Is Where I Leave You. Judd Foxman's life is a mess. He comes home early from work to find his beautiful wife, Jen, in bed with another man. And not just any man, but his boss. After moving out of his charming suburban home and into a shoddy basement apartment, he is informed of his father's death. Suprisingly, although he was never a religious man, his dad's dying wish was for his family to sit Shiva for one week, in his honor. Reluctantly, Judd heads to his mother's house. Judd's family is a comedy lover's dream. Dysfunctional doesn't even begin to describe this clan. His mother is a world renowned parenting expert who can't even begin to understand her own children. His youngest brother, Philip, is a playboy who is constantly finding himself in one crisis or another. He comes to the family home with a guest that no one can quite figure out. Paul, his older brother, harbors a lot of resentment towards Judd. He and his wife are also struggling with fertility issues. His sister, Wendy, is his rock. But she is stuck is a loveless marriage and dealing with her own romantic disasters. Now all these siblings are forced to stay under the same roof. Add to this list a number of oddball mourners who come to pay their respects and you've got a week of dysfunctional comic drama. The repercussions are laugh out loud funny and poignant at the same time. As I read this book, I couldn't help but think that it would make an amazing movie. The characters are just so oddly lovable and relatable. The family dynamic is incredibly familiar and easy to identify with. The Foxman's are everyone's family. Sure, they are somewhat eccentric and manipulative, but the love they have for each other is clear. Yes, they may despise each other at times, but underneath the chaos is an undying loyalty to each other. And isn't that pretty much how every family works?
Loaf_of_Dead More than 1 year ago
I picked this book on a whim, merely for it's title and was an amazing result of judging a book by it's cover. Tropper's writing is so realistic, half way through I had to remind myself I wasn't reading a biography, but a work of fiction. He crafts his characters very well, and you have no choice but to sympathize and empathize with these people. They are very real. The book tugs at your heart and gives you hope, and is not fantastical in any sort of way. It caused me to then continue reading books by Tropper, and I have yet to be disappointed. This is great for realists and romantics and people plagued by their own thoughts.
s428 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Jonathan Tropper, and I am now hooked. He pulls you in with his writing style, and I found myself drawn in by the first page. Great story, I definitely recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is one of the best written views on how men handle conflicts that happen in a relationship. some of the dialogue was tedious, but overall it was insightful from a man's point of view. i felt bad for him, and i was mad at his wife for her lack of respect to bring someone into their home (bed) but some people do this w/o thinking of the effect it has on the other person. only thing i didn't like was situation was left unresolved and i like books to complete the cycle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was absolutely hilarious and, at times, heartbreaking. The dialogue was out of the park good.
BDA More than 1 year ago
This is a great read. I did not want to put it down. Jonathan had me laughing out loud throughout the book. He makes you feel as if you know everyone in the book. Must read....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED this book. I went out and bought another Tropper book the next week. This book was at times sad and poignant, but Tropper really does a wonderful job of bringing the humor out of dark scenarios. This is one book that will both make you laugh out loud and feel slightly guilty reading in public.
HockeyinDenver More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. Its definitely very adult-themed. So if you are offended by talk about sex, then its best to stay away. The writing is spot on and its probably one of the better, and funniest, books that I have read in a long time. Usually I'm a person who enjoys the thriller genre, but I delved into this book quickly and never looked back. And I don't think I've laughed so loud reading a book EVER! Buy it, and enjoy it ... books like these come along once in a lifetime! I never heard of Jonathan Tropper until this book, and I immediately went back to B&N and purchased his other novels. He really is a great, and funny writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed out loud, I cried, I loved this book! If you want to be thrown right into the middle of a family that is dysfunctional, funny, hurting and more real than fiction, then you should read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is book is compulsively readable and entertaining. It is at once laugh out loud funny and heartbreaking. I read it in about three days. However, it is not lacking in substance or quality as some quick, easy reads are. The novel is ripe with genuine emotion, characters, and humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the most entertaining books I have read in the last year. A bit graphic for me, brutally honest character, but sooo funny.
shebaMK More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books. The characters come alive in the pages with all their flaws and quirks. I couldn't put it down, and I thought the humor was spectacular. I have already given a couple of copies to my friends to enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazingly funny. Jonathan Tropper has a way of painting a scene with words. This was the first book i havecread by him and it wont be the last
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, the characters are damaged, sad, and hilarious. It's the dysfunctional family at it's best. I will read more of his books.
a9_jsc More than 1 year ago
A lot of humor that everybody gets. A couple things that only fellows will laugh at (or laugh at differently). Really liked his writing style! Often found myself saying "Hah! Cool! I like the way he said that. =)" Was a little surprised by the ending - not in a disappointing way.
Jenny More than 1 year ago
Remember that time at your last family reunion when your Uncle Sal pinched your fiancee? In Tropper's world, it would have been your widowerer Father, and he would have wound up scoring with aforementioned fiancee in your childhood bedroom...from whence your shiftless younger brother runs his webcam porn business...thereby ensuring world-wide-web-broadcasting of the event. And that would have just been the first five minutes home. Hilarious and poignant by turns, Tropper navigates familial emotional minefields like nobody else today, keeping his larger-than-life wack-tastic characters shockingly real and vulnerable. Don't read this while drinking anything you'd mind snorting out your nose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never write reviews, but I felt compelled for this book. I laughed from page one. I was sitting on the beach reading this and my husband said that people were looking at me because I was laughing so loudly! The characters were well developed, and the story was heart-warming. I wasn't offended by the language at all, but some people might be. I couldn't wait to read another book by Mr. Tropper, and I just finished "One Last Thing Before I Go". It was also very good.
JudithMoMo More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story. This is the first I have read of Jonathan Tropper. I enjoyed his style and truths, sometimes the insights seem to clear, but then I remembered how grief and life changing experiences sometimes can ring your bell. This story does that, the characters are very well rounded. We love to hold onto our hurts and indignation, until we discover everyone has their own truth and pain as well. I look forward to reading his earlier works.
neeniePA More than 1 year ago
Great book. It kept my interest until the very end. I can totally see Justin Bateman playing this character. I can't wait for the movie to come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so brilliantly real. The dialogue between the members of the Foxman family is so authentic and perfectly captures the dynamic between each member of the dysfunctional, yet heartwarming family. I bought this book on a whim and I'm so glad I did. The characters are all so relatable and the book as a whole made me feel like my family isn't the only one with unspeakable problems. This is a really entertaining story that I highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The second book i have read from this author...i loved it! Judd and his family will remain in my memory for a long time. I laughed out loud in public while reading and bookmarked passages for sentimental commentaries. A fantastic read.
Atthebeach More than 1 year ago
I have never laughed so much at a book. This book is hilarious. The characters are flawed in amazing and amusing ways. This family is one complex and crazy family. And between laughs, there are some really good philosophies, psychologies and some true and meaningful insights into life. What a joy to read. I'm already ordering my next Tropper book.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Page turner about real-life funny family drama. Easy read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not the book for you if... *Foul language bothers you *Listening to a mans point of view told in crude words offends you *if you cant laugh or even find light in a dark situation I personally can! And loved this book it is LAUGH OUT LOUD funny .. the topics are dark,sad even heartbreaking but the way it is wrote puts a spin on it that you cant help but smile
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved loved lived this book!! As someone who comes from a large family, I could relate to this book completely...I would recommend this to anyone...beware the ending...it may piss you off...I know it did me!!