×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

This Same Earth
     

This Same Earth

4.2 38
by Elizabeth Hunter
 

See All Formats & Editions

Beatrice De Novo thought she had left the supernatural world behind...for the most part. But when the past becomes the present, will she leave her quiet life in Los Angeles to follow a mystery she thought she had left behind? Where has Giovanni Vecchio been, and why has he returned? Giovanni has his own questions, and he's looking to her for answers.

The sequel to A

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

This Same Earth 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
kristinja73 More than 1 year ago
This Same Earth is exactly what I have come to expect from the brilliant Elizabeth Hunter - fierce, sexy, and mysterious. This is the second book in the Elemental Mysteries Series, a series delving into a complete new world of vampires. The mystical creatures are able to call on one of the elements: earth, air, water, or fire to aid with anything from lighting a fire to battling their enemies. Their abilities coincide with their element, obviously. The lovely Beatrice stumbled into this world in A Hidden Fire, only to find herself deserted by the one she loved. In this installment, she will be forced to face her past and make decisions that will change her life forever. Beatrice has grown into a beautiful young woman and has attempted to put the past behind her. She has a great job, owns a quaint little home, and has normal friends - including a boyfriend she loves. Gio disappeared from her life the day she moved to California and she despises him because of it. She suspects he has had a behind-the-scenes role in her life over the years; what she doesn't know is how great that role has been. She has no idea the extents he has taken to assure that she is safe. The people Beatrice has surrounded herself with all these years may not be what they seem. When the past waltzes back into her life as nothing has changed, Bea finds herself buried in turmoil over her feelings for Gio. She is determined that he will earn her trust again, that he will not just up and disappear again, leaving her broken once again. The romantic tension between these two lurches up a few notches as Bea is determined to remain friends and avoid all romantic feelings for the fire vampire while Gio is determined to have Beatrice back in his life as much more than friends. Who will win, I wonder? Just as the two are making their way to becoming friends, Lorenzo strikes again...killing someone dear to Gio. Beatrice is determined to be a part of this journey in every way. We tag along with Gio and Bea as they tromp through Europe, seeking justice and freedom, meeting an eclectic group of characters who provide both stability and chaos throughout the adventure. Some you will love and others you will hate. And have no fear...many of the old characters make appearances as time moves forward. Ms. Hunter's phenomenal world building skills drop you deep into a world fraught with fantastical creatures, frightening circumstances, and unyielding love. This is an unique and addicting series. The Force of Wind makes it's debut in March of 2012. I am not sure I can wait that long.
Teelovesgio More than 1 year ago
This Same Earth is a fantastic follow up to A Hidden Fire. As you all know I love the library and can lose myself in there. So when I first heard about this series and that it took place in a library I was like Holy Cow I need to read this! I was not disappointed :) This Same Earth picks up where A Hidden fire left off. Gio and Bea are no longer together. Gio let Bea go to college in California to get her Master's and to have a life. But every year he leaves tickets for her to go to their favorite place Cochamo Valley in Chile. She goes every summer saying this is it she will not return but every summer she packs up and goes in hopes of seeing Gio. She loves the house in the valley and spends her summer nights dreaming of Gio and longing to touch him. Gio has decided he wants Bea to have a normal life and tries to stay away from her so she can move on but he to is suffering and missing her. Gio can no longer take being seperated from Bea so he decides to pay her a visit. She is furious with him and does not want anything to do with him because she is hurt and has moved on. But Gio being Gio (God I love him!)does not give up. He asks her to help him with a translation of some letters he needs and she agrees to help him and be nothing more than friends. As time goes by Bea realizes that she and Gio work well together. They decipher the letters to help find out where her father is hiding but then the unexpected happens and someone that is very close to them needs them. Bea has to make a very hard decision and that is to go and help Gio and her friend or stay behind and chance losing Gio again. What is a girl to do? Will she chose her new life or will she chose Gio? Will they be together? And will they find her father? What will Bea do when she comes face to face with the monster who kidnapped her? Come along for the greatest ride of a lifetime. See Gio and Bea in action and meet some new characters and enjoy the old ones.Come see what Carwyn and Tanzin and Lorenzo have been up to.......
twimom101 More than 1 year ago
When A Hidden Fire ended Beatrice was off in California going to college. Gio had 'broke in' to her apartment to leave airline tickets for her, while stealing away a picture of her to take with him. Now 5 years have passed and Beatrice has yet to hear a word from him. Not an email, a phone call, nothing! Every August during those 5 years she would take the airline tickets he would leave for her to go to his house in Chile for rest, and every year she claimed would be the last. Gio wanted her to mature and find herself during that time they were away from each other. And during that time Beatrice became involved with someone new, finally moving on. But now Gio is back and hoping to rekindle what they had once shared before. When something happens to the man she is dating and one of Carwyn¿s children, both Gio and Beatrice set off in search of Lorenzo, wanting to put a stop to him once and for all. I loved how Beatrice didn't drop everything for Gio when he first came back into her life. I mean I love Gio, I really do. But it was great seeing him pursuing her this time around. Beatrice is a stronger, more developed person now. She should make him work for it! But Gio, oh my Gio, how I love thee. I think I loved him more in the 2nd book than I did in the first one. He is sexy, smoldering (no pun intended) and absolutely swoonable! Oooh what I would give to be Beatrice for one day, I mean come on people we are talking waterfalls here! (Read up, you will understand) This Same Earth had me smiling throughout most of the book with its fabulous storyline. I was so caught up in the romance and the nail biting suspense that I flew through the book in less than 24 hrs. Hunter is one fantastic author creating a world of vampires you will want to sink your teeth into (pun definitely intended). This series is one of my fav of favorites, and I know it will be yours too!
The_Book_Diva More than 1 year ago
Giovanni and Beatrice's story continues in This Same Earth, book two in the Elemental Mysteries series by Elizabeth Hunter. Beatrice has been abducted by Lorenzo and was held captive for several weeks before being freed by Giovanni, Caspar and Tenzin. Although she wasn't tortured or hurt physically, the emotional torture has left its mark, primarily because she thought that Giovanni had willingly traded her for a book. It takes awhile for Giovanni to convince Beatrice that this was not the case, but he gradually gets her to see that Lorenzo was going to abduct her no matter what so he simply played along with him. To give Beatrice time to heal from the emotional trauma of her abduction, not to mention witnessing the horrific fight between the two different vampire factions, Giovanni takes to the mountains of Chile. Beatrice and Giovanni are given the opportunity to show their feelings for one another and their relationship becomes much closer, or so Beatrice thinks. Regrettably their lives cannot be put on hold forever and Beatrice must return to the States to attend graduate school. So off they go, Beatrice to LA for school and Giovanni to try and track down her father, his errant son and to amass allies in the ongoing battle with his son. Beatrice spends an enjoyable few years in graduate school and makes friends. She returns to Chile each summer but her time there is spent without benefit of Giovanni's company. She knows that she loves him and tells him so in a series of journals. Each year she says she's not going to return to Chile but her ticket is mysteriously left at her home and she returns. Fortunately she is afforded the opportunity to read through some of Giovanni's journals and learns a bit more of his past lives. Fast forward a few more years and Beatrice is twenty-eight years old. She is an accomplished young woman, fluent in several languages, a homeowner, an employee at the Huntington Library in California, and in a relationship with a loving man, Mano. It has been six years since she saw Giovanni and she's trying to move on with her life, or so she thought until Giovanni mysteriously reappears. Giovanni is now the legal guardian and "uncle" to a precocious, street-smart twelve-year-old named Ben. Beatrice must deal with renewing her relationship with Giovanni and building a relationship with Ben, her eventual breakup with Mano, and an introduction to her great-great-great-grandfather (I think I left out a few more greats but you get the idea), who just happens to be a water vampire that oversees LA. What follows is a series of fast-paced incidents including the abduction of one of Carwyn's sons. Beatrice and Giovanni wind up going to Ireland, England and France trying to track down leads on the whereabouts of Lorenzo and Beatrice's father, Stephen. Through it all Beatrice must confront her feelings for Giovanni and ultimately decide if she wants to have a relationship with him as a human or be turned. This Same Earth is another fast-paced paranormal, romantic suspense read. There's slightly more action and intrigue in this story and more background information is given providing insight into Giovanni, Carwyn, Tenzin and even Lorenzo. The story ends leaving the reading hanging and waiting for more. Regrettably the third book in this series, The Force of Wind isn't due out until February/March 2012, but I'll definitely be putting it on my TBR list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gnell More than 1 year ago
B and Gio are separated by time - years all because Gio thought is was best. Well lets help B kick is butt then kiss it better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series in much better then the Twilight Series (I would have never thought that would be possible). This Elemental Mysteries is a paranormal book for adults. Teens will like it too, but finally a book where thousand year old Vampires have the wisdom of a thousand years and are not influence by the whims of 20-something year old girls. I loved, loved, loved these 4 books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can't help but fall in love with all the characters and dig into to find out what will become of them!! Well written!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really interesting book. The sex scene are rather pg and thankfully dont take up much of the book. Over 700 pages.
pjk40 More than 1 year ago
This whole series is very good, great plot, and all the characters are awesome. Each book some what picks up right where the other has left off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading the first book, I had to buy this one right away and it did not disappoint. Could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes, it follows the same theme as most vampire stories out there right now - human girl falls for old vampire, people are after her, he has to protect her - but it's still a good read! I'm on book 2 already.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Full book, not a short story. Great read.