×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection
     

This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection

4.1 360
by Carol Burnett
 

See All Formats & Editions

A touching and hilarious memoir by the author of Carrie and Me: A Mother Daughter Love Story, This Time Together is 100 percent Carol Burnett – funny, irreverent, and irresistible.
 
Carol Burnett is one of the most beloved and revered actresses and performers in America. The Carol Burnett Show was seen each week

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

This Time Together 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 360 reviews.
LelandB More than 1 year ago
As you read "This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection", it's as if Carol Burnett was sitting in your living room having a glass of wine or at the breakfast table sipping coffee with you and regaling you with funny, sweet and melancholy stories from her life. Many of the stories in the book deal with her variety series, "The Carol Burnett Show", as well as showbiz friends and colleagues like Lucille Ball, Beverly Sills, Julie Andrews, Walter Matthau, Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart and many others. Her family, her early career trials and tribulations in New York City, and her life after "The Carol Burnett Show" are featured as well in this wonderful collection. One story will have you literally laughing out loud (Ms. Burnett's quick retort to a prickly hostess at an upscale ice cream shop in NYC) while the next will bring tears to your eyes (how devoted Lucy was in sending Carol flowers every year on her birthday). The book and its stories show the humor, talent, and heart of one of television's most iconic and real entertainers - the finest comedienne of our time. An idol of mine since childhood, my love for her and her work has grown even more with this reading. "This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection" is a great gift for anyone who remembers her classic variety show with lovely stories of her, Harvey, Vicki and Tim! I finished this book in no time because I couldn't put it down and I thoroughly enjoyed my time together with Carol.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Carol revisits, verbatim, sections from her first book, One More Time, which was a poignant,funny, sad and wonderful book. So, I was disappointed Carol did not have enough new anecdotal material for us to enjoy in this second book. She and her fellow comedians were so very funny and special that I would have enjoyed a book just about her first show. This new book also bounced around to different time frames which was kind of awkward. If I had not read the first book, I would have enjoyed this book more. I did enjoy very much the stories about Carol and Julie Andrews. Two real ladies of the theater. I wish I could have seen them live just one time.
Pegster67 More than 1 year ago
I grew up watching The Carol Burnett Show and am better for it, and so I couldn't wait to get this book. It is full of history, both of the show and of Carol, laugh out loud anecdotes and touching stories. I only wish this book could have gone on and on - because her stories are THAT good - meeting Cary Grant for the first time, firing Harvey Korman, raising her sister, appearing on her favorite soap of all time, "All My Children" and of course, her daughter Carrie, with whom she wrote "Hollywood Arms". Trust me, if you're a fan of Carol's (and really, who isn't??), get this book. You will probably be finished within a matter of days, because you won't be able to put it down; nor will you want to. Carol, I'M so glad we had this time together - Thank you!!
Micishell More than 1 year ago
I so enjoyed Miss Burnett's latest book greatly. The stories are heartwarming and entertaining. I found myself laughing out loud at some times, others I shared Carol's pain. As a fan of her career and especially her variety show, I enjoyed all the reminiscing and remembered some of the stories. I'm planning to purchase another copy of this book as a gift for my in-laws to give them on an upcoming visit.
Dr_Wilson_Trivino More than 1 year ago
America's favorite funny woman Carol Burnett does a program around the country where she simply sits in a chair and takes questions from the audience. She candidly answers them and they range from the broad to the personal. This book is written in the same way, it is stories of her life and thoughts. She has been a pioneer in that she headed a variety show in a time when women were not part of the male dominated hierarchical structure. She did a bit in 1957 at the Blue Angel nightclub in East Side of Manhattan that revolved around a story of a girl who went ape over then Secretary of State John Foster Dulles. This garnered a lot of publicity and once the subject of her show as asked what he thought of it? He smiled and with a twinkle in his eye said "I make it a policy never to discuss matters of the heart in public". At least it shows that he had a sense of humor. Her grandmother was her patron and as was a real character. One time she went to visit her in her apartment, she was in her eighties, and she told her it was too dark in that room. As the good granddaughter she went to remove the cover from the light and her grandmother told her don't do that, that's my love light! Apparently she had an able 40 year old suitor. She shares insight into her Carol Burnett Show and the cast of characters from Jim Nabors, who always was always a guest on her first show for the eleven year run. Burnett befriended many of her movie idles in Jimmy Stewart and Lucille Ball. Lucille Ball taught her to be tough and always sent her flowers on her birthday. On the day she learned of Ball's death, she still received flowers on her birthday. Her life story is open and honest and she speaks to losing a child, her divorce, and finding love. This funny woman keeps working and sharing her talent with a new generation of fans. This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection by Carol Burnett will tickle your funny bone and also touch your heart to the life and times of this American icon.
Desert_Brat More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. The characters were well presented. Nanny is a riot, you'll fall in love with her. I particularly enjoyed the parts where Carol had such a difficult time meeting her own idols, such as Cary Grant, simply because they were also fans and she didn't want to ruin their image of her. From the stories of how Burnett got into show biz to the funny tales of the people and guests of her regular show, the reader feels the warmth and humor, and the sadness, of each story. Burnett is truly a great entertainer.
VeronicaVB More than 1 year ago
When I heard Ms. Burnett's interview on my favorite Philadelphia radio station, I made it a point to purchase her book. I decided to buy the hard cover so that I could then share it with my mother and my dear friends, rather than keeping it all to myself on my Kindle. I was not disappointed in this decision. Her humor and ease of telling these stories kept me turning the pages. I took this with me to my boys ball games and practices so that I could continue turning. I was saddened to reach the end. I just wanted to keep hearing about her memories. When I was reading, I could actually hear her telling it. A must have! You won't regret it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The moment I started this book I knew I wouldn't put it down until I read the whole thing. I grew up watching this talented performer and reading her stories, I felt as though I was having a one-on-one conversation with her. Needless to say I caught myself laughing out loud more than a few times in the course of the book's journey. She had a remarkable career and a great life story to tell. A great book too good to pass up. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A real page-turner! I couldn't put it down, nor could I stop chuckling!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I adore carol burnett! I remember watching her tv shows and they always made me laugh. The book was easy to read and get into.I finished the book in a couple days. She will always be one of my favorite comediennes of all time.
tgdesautel More than 1 year ago
We listened to This Time Together on a long road trip and we found ourselves not wanting to get out of the vehicle. Ms Burnett obviously has a way of connecting with people that she meets, even those of us who have not had the pleasure of meeting her. I absolutely LOVE Carol Burnett and I'm so glad that she opened up her life to us. It was a privilege to follow along with her highs, lows and life lessons that she learned along her jouney. A sense of humor, staying grounded and some good old fashioned good luck has helped her reach her dreams and it's a lesson that I will carry with me on my journey. FYI - My cat's name is also Mabel. Mabel Mae actually... :)
PG_Watson More than 1 year ago
This book is exactly what you would expect if you know anything about Carol Burnett. And if you don't? - Well get comfy with a new friend, but be careful who is around you because you will laugh out loud at times. The thing that is so sweet is all of the sincere credit and accolades Ms. Burnett bestows on her "second family" as she calls it. When so many stories surround the intense selfishness, to the point of ridiculousness that you laugh with bitterness it is nice to read something that makes you laugh without the negative head shake. The books reads easily just like you were being told the stories by the author herself with the belly laughs and conspiratal tones of someone sharing embarrassing stories. Nothing heavy, just sweet and funny. Will leave a smile on your face and make you look for her shows on tivo:)
Talekyn More than 1 year ago
Let's start with a disclosure: I'm pretty sure Carol Burnett is one of the two reasons I have a catastrophic attraction to redheads/gingers, despite the fact that I'm gay. I crushed on her big time as a pre-teen who didn't really understand what crushes were, captivated by first her hair and then her performances. Carol's comedic timing and stage presence impacted me at that most impressionable of ages, and that impact has never left me. I could watch reruns of the Carol Burnett show and Carol's various variety specials over and over and over again and never stop laughing. But this is a review of her latest memoir, not of her or her shows. The book is, much like the Q&A sessions of her shows that it is modeled on, bright and breezy with just occasional hints of seriousness when warranted. She tells some very familiar stories and sprinkles in new anecdotes. It's not a heavy read, nor a slow one. Readers looking for depth of detail about Carol's personal life will be disappointed, but the book isn't advertised as that type of memoir. I enjoyed spending this time reminiscing with one of my favorite comedians. I wish it could have been longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a funny entertaining account of the life of a very interesting lady.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is funny. I love to read about T.V. back in the day!!
TheLadyTrucker More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful read. It's like being with Ms Burnett and having a conversation with her. I bought a copy for my mother as she and I always watched the Carol Burnett Show together. This book brought back some wonderful memories.
lent More than 1 year ago
Carol Burnett is so real! I love how she invites you into her life and lets you see things from her point of view.
SAMPhotos More than 1 year ago
Like a lovely picnic in the park on a Sunday afternoon.
Mariedda McCrary More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed the memories of the different skits from her show and reading the behind the scenes stuff. It made me laugh and cry and remember how much I liked watching the show with my mom. Only complaint was that the end came too fast.
JustOneMoreChapter More than 1 year ago
This book is a terrific trip down memory lane. I grew up entertained by Carol Burnett & Co and enjoyed reliving many classic moments of her t.v. show and specials. I also enjoyed her behind the scenes stories and personal stories of her family and friends. The chapters are short & sweet and had me laughing out loud or wiping a tear. It felt like I was catching up with an old friend and couldn't wait to get to the next chapter to hear the next story.
debbi willis More than 1 year ago
Wonderful warm and funny..had me laughing out loud!
Jay-Fer More than 1 year ago
Since this book is a collection of anecdotes, it is a little disjointed as far as smooth reading, but it makes up for it in insight, humor, and human warmth. If you are a fan of Carol Burnett and the assortment of mixed nuts who made up her cast and entourage, you will probably get a couple of belly laughs from this book. And if you can admire a person who matter-of-factly describes the dysfunction of her family and the difficulty of her early life, without ever making it an excuse for anything, you'll appreciate this book and the author. The book swings between factually biographical and anecdotally hysterical, and between triumphant and tragic. Throughout it all, the author has nothing but praise for friends, family and co-workers, with never a bad word about anyone...well, except for the Pants Nazi.
Blue_Inked_Pen More than 1 year ago
"This Time Together" was not only a wonderful story, but a great insight to the many trials that an actress like Carol Burnett would face not only during her career, but after it as well. Carol Burnett, well known for her careers as an actress of both film and stage as well as TV, where her fame became nationwide. It discusses many of the events that took place during her life as a struggling actress, and even covers the years after she retired from the Carol Burnett Show after eleven seasons. Its main points discuss the awkward moments of her life, such as meeting famous actors that she knew in childhood or dealing with problems from her career. As the story begins, it covers what early Broadway was like in the ages before Television and Movies were the main source of entertainment. She starts out as a nobody, to whom money is a privilege, not a right. She soon gains enough to travel to New York though, and from there she slowly starts to look for bigger jobs. At first, she cannot seem to find any work, as all the jobs say she needs an agent to be in something, whilst the agents say she needs to be in something to get an agent. Frustrated, she eventually gets an agent to help her book her first real performance, and from there things go skyward. As the book goes on, it discusses Carol's first chances to be on TV, and her struggle to keep her head leveled. She starred on many shows such as Password, the Gary Moore show, and eventually gained her own show through talks with CBS's contracts. She also became a small starlet who was featured in several prominent features of that day and age. The show, which CBS thought would be a flop, lasted for eleven award winning seasons, but like all good things, had to come to an end. As Carol Burnett said, "The last show was bittersweet. It was 1978 and our creative family had been through so much together over the years: marriages, divorces, births, deaths, bad times, and good times. We were all blubbering when the final strains of "I'm So Glad We Had This Time Together" were being played. I sang "comes the time we all have to say so long," pulled my ear for the last time, and it was over." (Carol Burnett). This marked the finale of the hit show that had brought her and most of her friends together and had kept them happy over the years. The book emphasizes that hard work and a good sense of humor are all you need in order to succeed in life. People who know and love Carol Burnett, or even those with a small curiosity into what made this woman such a star, would enjoy the book and the many stories it is made up of. It is quite easy to like the basic humor, as I did, but one must be careful not to look too deep into some of the smaller stories. Overall though, I believe it was one of the best and most entertaining Autobiographies I have read in quite a long time.
AdvRider More than 1 year ago
For those of us the grew up watching her show weekly all through our formative years, this book is an enjoyable walk behind the scenes with the fun characters that made the show happen. No great revelations. No hidden skeletons come out of the closet. Just descriptions of funny people being friends and coming together to make a show happen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and highly enjoyable. My mom was much like Carol and so it brought back some great memories.