×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Three Musketeers (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)
     

Three Musketeers (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

4.1 584
by Alexandre Dumas, Barbara T. Cooper (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Three Musketeers, by Alexandre Dumas, is part of the Barnes & Noble Classics series, which offers quality editions at affordable prices to the student and the general reader, including new scholarship, thoughtful design, and pages of carefully crafted extras. Here are some of the remarkable features of Barnes & Noble Classics:

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Three Musketeers Barnes & Noble Classics Series) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 584 reviews.
Benedick_101 More than 1 year ago
"The Three Musketeers" by Alexandre Dumas is now one of my favorite books ever! Yes, it is slightly boring until the chapter "A Court Intrigue", but stick with it, and you'll love it as much as I did. It is an extremely romantic novel that is filled with wit, action, sadness, and complexity. Because of its intricate plot, I would recommend it to any lovers of Dumas' English contemporary, Charles Dickens. It also contains one of my new favorite literary character: the femme fatale, Milady.
ILoveClassics More than 1 year ago
I was a bit hesitant to read this book... while I find classics extremely appealing this just seem too... I don't know boyish? adventurous? But I couldn't have been more wrong! Adventure is teamed with romance, suspense, politics, and it couldn't produce a better read! One of my top 3 favorite classics of all time!
clemmy More than 1 year ago
Disregard for the law, but very, very funny. These men are in the king's guard and could care less about the law against dueling. Every few pages, someone feels insulted and challenges the offender to a duel. It's amazing how men act when they have a sword and no proper supervision - and an evil cardinal who is an utter pain. Of course this is just the fly-over version; it ends up being much more complicated than a bunch of sword-fights and ridiculous taunting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great! As the main characters and D'artagnan fights the cardinals gaurdsmen, gets stronger, and eventually becomes a Musketeer. This book uses an advanced used of vocabulary, and old styled dialogue
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book, it is just amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great describing words. Great story. And it is free. Amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little long(the longest book I read was 1056pages long), but great story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story was amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you admire action, adventure and love, this is going to be the best story for you. I admit it contains sad moments, but it is still one of my favourite novels ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thuroughly (sp) enjoyed this book. The online dictionary was very useful for this book. I think there should be a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is such a classic that there in no sense in my reviewing it. So I will confine my remarks to BN's added features: The Forward is more like a literary dissertation than a typical "whet your appetite" forward. It's worth reading, but it's chock full of spoilers! Also, it and the actual text duplicate footnote number IDs. So, if you tap on a footnote in the actual story, you will go to the correct footnote, but when you tap on the tag to return to the story you will go to the Forward rather than back to the story. So remember to bookmark your spot before jumping to a footnote.
IlRosso More than 1 year ago
If you like swash-bucklers or adventure stories, you can't beat Dumas in general and especially his Three Musketeers stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really found this enjoyable on so many levels, most notably the depth of the muskteers and heroes, their habits, their lackies, oh... The lackies were wonderfully crafted! A joy to read and an easy read at that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was real long but you can never stop reading it! I love reaing this book
Kiko1021 More than 1 year ago
This story has everything you would ever want - romance, friendship, heroism, and, adventure. The Three Musketeers is written with such eloquence and style that it is obvious why it has gone down in history as a distinguished novel. The sword fights are described with such detail that you feel you are standing with Athos and Porthos to fight the Cardinal's guards. As a hopeless romantic, I am always looking for a great romance. So if there is one negative, it would be the love story. I don't want to give away the ending. But as an avid reader of Jane Austen, if the lovers don't end up happy and together, I finish the book feeling unfulfilled. Dumas does, however, compensate with the wonderful relationship of the band of musketeers. Even though in the end they follow their own paths, you know they will always be able to rely on each other. In all other regards, The Three Musketeers is excellent. It leaves you exhilarated and reminds you that true friends come together in troubled times.
Renelche More than 1 year ago
Simply stated- I read this book every two or three years. I still laugh out loud each time!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Imagine a story where Medieval European history is combined with a Romantic, action packed theme. That¿s exactly what you get from Alexander Dumas¿ The Three Musketeers. Written in 1840, the book begins in France during the time of King Louis XIII. The classic novel begins rather humorously and light-hearted, with a young man named Gascon who leaves his home in search of Monsiuer de Treville. He takes with him his father¿s blessing of ¿bravery and determination can achieve anything¿ On arriving in Paris, Gascon, who is portrayed as very proud and strong, yet nervous in numerous situations, meets three of the King¿s Musketeers: Aramis, Porthos and Athos. At first the newcomer did not fit in well with the three musketeers leading to several duels and brawls, however, Gascon works hard to prove himself as worthy as the others. Eventually the three become very hospitable and King Louis XIII invites Gascon to join the Musketeers. At first life continues normally for the Musketeers as they continue doing their best to defend the king in what seem to be insignificant fights. Dumas does an amazing job of describing the duels in an exciting and engaging way that really draws the reader in. Eventually the excitement really picks up through rescuing a kidnapped mistress, traveling to England to deliver a letter, falling in love with all the wrong people, love affairs that lead to much larger fights and becoming involved in Cardinal Richelieu's plots to embarrass the royal family. Through it all the Musketeers stick to their famous motto ¿all for one and one for all!¿ They show that even if it means death, they are willing to stand up for one another. The Three Musketeers is a really great novel that is enjoyable in almost every aspect. The creativity and hard work put in by Dumas really comes out in all of the character descriptions, as well as the detailed and dramatic fighting scenes. He does a really great job of describing each character in a way that makes the reader feel close to each one, and also allows judgments to be passed and a favorite to be chosen. During this time period there was a very significant rivalry going on between King Louis and the Cardinal Richelieu of France, so one of the main purposes of this novel was to portray this on-going feud. Instead of simply listing the exact happenings the author tried to show other seemingly smaller events that represented the larger picture. Dumas does a good job of keeping the nonfiction historical part of the story somewhat separate from the plot of the novel. It keeps the story interesting without boring the audience with drawn- out historical facts. Although the story did have a bit of a disappointing ending, overall it was a book that is and always will be a classic for all ages. Get your copy today!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rules: <br> 1. No killing <br> 2. No godmodding <br> 3. Try not to ignore people. <br> 4. Dont hate people for their characye in other rps. <br> <p> Map: <br> 1- Here <br> 2-3- Main room <br> <p> - Cheri
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story... all for one and one for all...or maybe it is one for all and alk for one. DrewDog