×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Three Times Lucky
     

Three Times Lucky

4.6 58
by Sheila Turnage
 

See All Formats & Editions

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime.
 
Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, North Carolina, where everyone’s business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane 11 years ago, and she’s been making waves ever since. Although Mo

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Three Times Lucky 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
book4children More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! Smart, witty, and bursting with personality, Three Times Lucky was a fun ride. Turnage created characters that were as beautiful as they were quirky. I loved each and every one of them. The words just came alive for me. If you haven't had the pleasure of reading this book yet, I would highly recommend doing so. Content: Clean
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THREE TIMES LUCKY is one of those books written for kids but adults will totally enjoy. I bought this for my niece who loves anything with a mystery and found myself reading it before I even gave it to her. As a character, Mo was just too delightful for words. She had a lot of spunk but was not an annoying caricature of a smart kid. I loved the backstory of her being found by The Colonel and raised by him and Miss Lana. And I got choked up whenever she sent another letter-filled bottle into the water in hopes of it finding her “upstream mother.” But the character that warmed my heart the most was Dale, a kid who has literally been kicked around by life but still has a kindness and innocence I never want him to lose. The mystery was very compelling and had a few twists and turns I didn’t see coming. I liked that the author gave the story a sense of danger without it being too scary. Despite the lack of cellphone service I’d consider moving to Tupelo Landing if I could drop in for lunch at the cafe and listen to a good spell of town gossip.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so much fun, after reading the first two sentences I knew I was in for a rare treat. The writing style kept me reading and the plot line would not let me put the book down (read it in one sitting). While Sheila Turnage’s book, Three Times Lucky, is written for kids, don’t let that keep you from getting pulled into the delightful town of Tupelo Landing, falling in love with Mo and Dale, (who, while Mo is precocious, act like rising 6th graders and not like small versions of sneaky adults) and all the other entertaining characters.
MI_Reader More than 1 year ago
Why Kids Will Love It - The humor, adventure and mystery are enough to draw in any middle-grade reader into the story. My son was drawn in from the first chapter and couldn't put it down until all the answers had been revealed. We are both excited for the sequel coming out next year - THE GHOSTS OF TUPELO LANDING. What I learned as a writer - The mastery of language is what stood out for me in this book. And the way Turnage shared details about the characters was so seamless, the reader doesn't even realize she is doing it. This is a book where the setting is it's own character, without it the book wouldn't be what it became - 2013 a Newbery Honor Book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Freakin awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it so much I wrote a 3 1/2 page book report on it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I adored this book! I loved the ending of the story and moses is a wonderful person. I also liked lavender too. The colonel and miss lana are wonderful parents for moses lebeau!;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this boowas very gripping and I seriously couldnt stop reading it. I would definetly reccomend this book to anyone who likes mystery & suspense with the perfect amount of humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its very mysterious and always intertaining!!!!!
anniemichelle More than 1 year ago
For a Mystery/Thriller buff like me I am amazed I love a kids book! Mo is a spunky 11 year old whippersnapper who was found as an infant floating on a river after a hurricane and has been trying to find her "up stream mother" ever since. Moses Lobeau "Mo" loves her Miss Lana & The Colonel who found and care for her, together they run a small & very unique cafe in the tiny town of Tupelo Landing in NC, population 148... This book has mystery, mayhem, fun quirky characters, hurricanes & sweet tea! Just a delightful read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I will be honest i mainly liked it because of Lavender. But also because it makes you switch gears on who you think it is alot well atleast it did for me. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a good mystery :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book! Its fricken AWESOME!!!! :) :) :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book in particular seems like a excellent book to read for a 11 year old.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book I read it 3/ times its sweet and mmean with a hint of misteryous
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Three Times Lucky" is about Mo LoBeau, an 11 year old living in small town Tupelo Landing. When Mr. Jesse is mysteriously killed and Mo and her best friend Dale are involved... This book is amazing with kidnapping, mystery, action, lost memories, and even a background story woven in. You should get it if you like mysteries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great book also gives you the chills with the mystery of who killed Mr.Jesse and whose Moses real upstream mother moses has been searching for for ten or eleven years. One of the best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsomeness
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE BEST BOOK EVER WRITTEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The auther includes tons of details. You will fall in love with it. If u dont like the beggining keep reading. My best advice is to GET THE BOOK! P.S. get the sample and read other reviews if u are not sure u want it! But trust me u do want!!!!!!! P.P.S when does the next book in the seris come out? Do they have it in stores??????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Buy it is awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book out loud to my Mom. We both laughed out loud. The characters are great. I highly recommend yhis book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I tink that the start is pretty good .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've ever read. If you like modern mysteries, or mysteries in general, this is the book for you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wjyc
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mo loboue rising six grader has inspired me to make my own detective agency this summer well actullly sherlock holmes inspired me three times lucky ghosts of tupelo landing And the odds of getting even made it definant-contact info for a case number 334-4456071
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome book i love it might be boring or confusing or mabey both at the begining but still this is a great book and when it comes to the end its my favorit part i recamend it to u ~tomboy#2