×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Through a Glass Darkly
     

Through a Glass Darkly

4.2 433
by Karleen Koen
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Lives up to every expectation. It's magnificent!"
- Cleveland Plain Dealer

Sourcebooks Landmark proudly reintroduces this classic historical novel.

Karleen Koen's sweeping saga contains unforgettable characters consumed with passion: the extraordinarily beautiful fifteen-year-old noblewoman, Barbara Alderley; the man she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Through a Glass Darkly 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 433 reviews.
Shebuggs More than 1 year ago
The story itself is very good. I will read the sequel. The Nook version is littered with typos and incomplete sentences. If you like victorian / historical romantic novels, this one is for you.
soullight More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down! As busy as my life is I definitely made time for it! I read the prequel Dark Angels! That was really good as well. Cannot wait to read Face to Face.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written novel, I read this book when I was younger and I did not finish it. I took the time to read it and it reinforced my love of historical fiction. All the characters are well developed and the plot flows perfectly. Each character in this novel makes you see their side and love and hate them at different times. Barbra matures from a lovesick teenager into to young woman. You see how the people that she loves affect her in every way.
EVKendall More than 1 year ago
After reading The White Queen and The Red Queen by Phillipa Gregory, both brilliant reads, I was searching for something that would not disappoint. After reading and researching many book reviews by fellow readers, I found Through A Glass Darkly. I know by reading the first paragraph of a book whether or not I will enjoy the story and the style of writing. After reading the first paragraph of Through A Glass Darkly I felt as if I had stepped into a beautiful, exciting world filled with characters that although new, somehow seemed warm and familiar. I could not wait to find out what would happen to Barbara and her brother. As I read through the story I was continually enthralled and aghast at the winding and twisting turns Barbara's life would take. Karleen Koen has weaved an intricate story line full of rich and colorful characters whom are easily related to and beautifully developed. I have never read a story that kept me so surprised and captivated. I have downloaded Now Face To Face to my Nook and am eager to find how Barbara's new adventures unfold.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. I have read it twice and it only gets better. I love reading historical fiction and Karleen Koen makes you feel like you are a part of that era. Barbara is unforgettable and I was so moved by how strongly she loved and hurt by how much she was disappointed. This book is a must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The title snared me first - who can resist a book called THROUGH A GLASS DARKLY? Each character is like a friend or neighbor, somebody you want to see everyday, someone you want to be a part of your life. Even after I set the book down, I couldn't get the people or the scenes out of my head. Its one of those books where you can picture everything that's happening, a book you want to desperately know more about. Its the perfect novel for a history/romance/adventure fix.
vandy More than 1 year ago
This book sets the bar for all other books I read. The writing style is so original with its sing-sonly flashbacks to Barbara's memories. The story line is also very original, with surprising twists that make the story memorable. Wonderful, wonderful read.
SableT More than 1 year ago
This book was a page turner and you will never put it down. I was so caught up in how resolute and innocent Barbara was. The turn of her character after her husband's betrayal make for real period drama. The rich description of the characters and the places of the period helps the reader feel as if they were there, in person, dressed in the finery of the times and watching Barbara in the intricate social masquerade that ultimately brings her to her knees.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not like this book. Too much death, affairs, just plain depressing. The story line never got better, just more death and sleeping with others not your mate. Would have been better at 300 pages vs 700 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
too long - too much detailed description - no one was ever happy
avidreaderEB More than 1 year ago
This novel will go down as a classic in historical romantic lit- and is a must read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The characters were so developed and interesting. I ran out and bought the prequel and sequel. It would make a wonderful movie if cast correctly.
LesliePR More than 1 year ago
This book is in my top FIVE!!!! Fab fab book and awesome that it's a Free Nook Book on Fridays...it's a must read AND all of her books are just as good. YAY!
HistoricalFictionFan More than 1 year ago
I went to the bookstore searching the shelves for something in the historical fiction genre. I came across this book and the cover caught my eye. I bought the book and loved the entire thing so much that I went out and bought "Now Face to Face", the sequel to this book. So far, I love that book too. I strongly recommend both of these books!
Angel-Maria More than 1 year ago
I've never been one to re-read novels, but this one is one of the few! It is the definition of a page turner and plays out in ways that will have you on the edge of your seat! It's very raw and beautifully written. If you have any interest in smart, historical novels that deal with love and human relationships- this is a must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. While I was reading it I felt like I was there while everything was happening. It almost felt like I was Barbara. This is a must-read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
First of all this is a really long book! It is still a good book, however in my opinion it took almost half way through for it to get good. I do understand some of why it takes so long inorder for it to pick up speed. You get the feeling of her age, innocense and the resrticitions of an unmarried woman in the first half and then her life changes dramatically once she is married. Be aware that this book is packed full of tragedy, disappointment and is in no way close to a typical love story with happy endings. The ending was good but I felt like I should have been given more for reading such a book that was so sad. Barbara is a very strong character and the others are unforgettable. The arthur put a lot of information in this book and it could have gone in so many directions if she wished to branch off wiht other characters. She could still make a second book with the rest of Barbara's life if she wanted and it would probably make a great book. She may have already (haven't checked on that).
Over65pageturner More than 1 year ago
Little character development. Spoiled teenager cries all the time. That's about it.
k_adele More than 1 year ago
I was frustrated, excited and in love with this book all at the same time. I have not been so involved with a set of characters in a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! filled with intrigue,incest and lots of romance.
Masala99 More than 1 year ago
The Nook edition is riddled witherrors. I would not recommend actually paying for this it. Without a doubt this is the shoddiest editorial work I have EVER seen. Sentences are cut off midohrase (and I am not just talking one or two occurrences, more like 5 to 7 per chapter!), frequent typos, it is very annoying and distracting. That being said, I think it was probably a fine book befor being put in electronic form. The author should pay more attention and trust her publisher and/or editor less...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will probably go down as one the best written historical romance novels...the authors words put you right there during this time period...touches on love on all levels especially love that is sometimes forbidden to us...I picked up this book on hardcover many years ago and never finished it...was glad I was able to purchase it on my Nook. Well worth the read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a captivating storyline, but the author became way too wordy with descriptions. Found myself skipping over many boring paragraphs. Loved the main character, but was saddened by all of the death, seemed there was far too much death for a romance novel. Had the same issues other users had with typos, random characters, and incomplete sentences. Feel as though the nook version was rushed for release without editing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I quit reading when it turned into a homosexual love story. Awful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
About 400 pages too long. The story is too tortured and drawn out.