×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Throw Out Fifty Things: Clear the Clutter, Find Your Life
     

Throw Out Fifty Things: Clear the Clutter, Find Your Life

4.0 34
by Gail Blanke
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Our lives are so filled with junk from the past-from dried up tubes of glue to old grudges-that it's a wonder we can get up in the morning," exclaims motivator, best-selling author, columnist, and life coach Gail Blanke."

If you want to grow, you gotta let go," is Blanke's mantra; and that means eliminating all the clutter-physical and emotional-that holds you

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Throw Out Fifty Things 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
jjmachshev More than 1 year ago
I was very excited to read "Throw Out Fifty Things: Clear the Clutter, Find Your Life" by Gail Blanke. If you could see my house, and especially my 'reading room/office', you would understand immediately. I have such a hard time getting rid of 'stuff'. I have clothes in my closet that I bought three years ago that still have the tags because I haven't yet worn them...but can I throw them out? Uh, NO! Why? Well, duh...because I haven't worn them yet! If you don't understand that, then you are likely an organized kind of person that I love to envy.

I found this book very clear and the 'system' incredibly simple. Each chapter covers a different area/room in your house (bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, etc) and the author provides advice and suggestions (if not outright orders) for what types of things you should consider in each of the rooms. There are even very informative 'box' suggestions in each chapter with data on recycling, donating, tag sales, swapping, hazardous waste removal, etc. And a handy resource section at the end provides websites and/or contact information by type of item. That's the good news about the book.

The only downside (for me) was that the constant 'cheering' and 'philosophizing' tended to wear on me. In that regard, I think I would have been more pleased with the audio book version...but then I wouldn't have gotten all the handy charts in the book! So, if soul-searching and imperatives don't drive you batty, then "Throw Out Fifty Things" may be just the ticket to help you clear out those things you really don't need. As for me? Well...let's just say I didn't quite make it to fifty.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the book through first and then went back and am attacking my clutter one item at a time. Read it in the a.m. and apply what you learn throughout the day. its a free feeling to clean up you life! This is an umcomplacated and easy read but carries a big message.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My husband asked me why I have changed my ways after 20 years, this book is it. I am going to have my kids read it next, never too early to learn the lessons this book teaches!
HeatherBKC More than 1 year ago
This is the greatest organizational book! I've recommended it to everyone I know. Gail puts her personal trials of holding onto things, the feelings and emotions involved, then tells you how to let go. She hits each room with practical advice. Super easy to read and the instructions are easy to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally a book that worked for me. Cutting clutter has always been a challenge. This book breaks it down room by room with a common sense approach to what to keep and what to toss (or donate). Worked for me. Day one I read 60 pages and got rid of 48 things that were just filling space unnecessarily. Great book!
Schmooby-Doo More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, not just for its going through room by room but especially for its approach to mental and emotional clutter!
IsabellaRose More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be motivating. I am organized as a person. However, I used the book as a tool to work on my deceased father's home where there were many memories attached to "things". The tips and exercises gave me the strength to throw out things as opposed to trying to sell them where their would be memories for some people. I was able to unload many thinggs and clothing to charity. Again I stress the book was upbeat and motivational for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A surprisingly good example of the genre. The author uses examples from her own life to introduce or illustrate her points. She urges us to unclutter our lives, not just eliminating the possessions that we don't need, but also the regrets, heartbreaks, etc. that we may hang onto that keep us mired in the past. The combination is very helpful, and this short book was a valuable tool.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you have too much clutter and can't seem to part with any of it, this is the book for you. The author gives detailed advice on how to part with things and how to move on with your life. A great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ruthhill74 More than 1 year ago
I had seen the buzz about this book on my blogs this summer, and I remembered adding it to my list on the library website. But I wasn't sure what I would think of the book. I have read so many clutter books, and I figured this one wouldn't be any different. Was I ever wrong! How refreshing it was to read about a lady who actually struggled and still struggles with the various things she writes in this book. She has organizational issues. It was amazing to have her "throw out" the things even as she wrote the book. I think the interesting sections of the book really dealt with mental clutter and making your life the kind of life you really want. She had some great things to say about those issues, and I would highly recommend that everyone checks out those sections specifically. I definitely give this book a five star rating. If you have have read those other organizational and housekeeping books, throw them out and get a copy of this book! And apply it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Psychological take on needing to clean...insightful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This little book is great if you need to find a starting place with clearing out clutter. It provides great direction, leaving no stone unturned.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago