×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Thumped
     

Thumped

4.0 36
by Megan McCafferty
 

See All Formats & Editions

Megan McCafferty’s Bumped series of books are must-read teen dystopian fiction, along with Ally Condie’s Matched series and Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy.
 
Thumped, the sequel to Bumped, manages to be satiric, scary, and romantic at the same time. It continues the story of separated-at-birth twins, Melody and Harmony,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Thumped 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
AcesMommy More than 1 year ago
Thumped by Megan McCafferty is much more compelling than the first (Bumped)! In the beginning, it lays out what has taken place right after the ending of the first novel, and then jumps right back into the happenings of Melody and Harmony in present time. This isn't a spoiler but as a refresher: from book one (Bumped) we've read that Harmony and Johndoe "spent the night" together...so, in Thumped Harmony has finally gotten 'BUMPED' and the kicker is - so is Melody! Like the first novel, the story goes back and forth alternating from Harmony's POV to Melody's POV. Harmony, in her third trimester, has decided to go back to Goodside with Ram and to deliver her baby there, and Melody with her preggo self has chosen to stay in Otherside as a couple with Johndoe. Yup, you read that right - MELODY and Johndoe are an item! I am so liking the new writing style and greatly appreciating that Megan decided to drop the lingo/dialect from the first book. Some terms were still kept, but this time around it took less time to read, understand, and take in what was going on. This book was putty in my hands. I got done reading it in a quickness because it was that much more enjoyable. The sarcasm was hilarious, the drama was awing, and the whole thing was thought provoking. Megan McCafferty skillfully covered many grounds in such a few pages; there was parenthood, consensual and non-consensual sex, pro/anti-procreating, religion, promiscuity, and SO much more! Trying to give a review for this novel without naming points of great importance, or even parts that you were keen on would ruin the experience and impact of what this novel will convey. Thumped offers an overload of things to think and wonder about of the present that will have you replaying verses over and over in your mind days after you've finished reading it. A FUN AND GREAT MUST READ SEQUEL!!
literatissima More than 1 year ago
“Thumped is book 2 of 2 in a young adult series about a dystopic world in which a virus renders the human race infertile after the age of 18. Teen girls are forced into breeding contracts and reproductive arrangements, often against their will. Melody and Harmony are twins that had been separated at birth and they are at the end of their fertile years at the age of 17. The second book does a great job of picking up where the first book started and addressing the theme. It's a quick and easy read. While I would have rated it 3 1/2 stars, I'm rounding up because this series was such an unexpected "like" for me. I also appreciate the fact that the author ended the series after one book and a sequel, instead of trying to go for a cash cow trilogy, like most YA authors today. Don't expect the moon from them, but these books (Bumped and Thumped) could surprise you!
FuzzyCoffeeBooks More than 1 year ago
An impressive finale to follow a weaker start to this series. Thumped has more of everything that I like as a reader, more substance, more character development, and a strong finish. It's an easy read but will keep your attention for all 300 pages. There were still some things missing, but hey, we can't have it all, right? For a look at the humorous side of dystopian society, check out Thumped, and it's prequel, Bumped.
StuckInYAbooks More than 1 year ago
In the sequel to Bumped, Megan McCafferty has created this world that has placed the world at a different perspective if a virus effects humanity. Like Bumped, the main focus of the novel was about teenage pregnancy but beyond that the importance of yourself and family. Melody and Harmony both grow up during this novel through the thirty-five weeks. These twins show that you are not alone and during the read it was really fun read with all the characters. I loved them all in the first books, and even more in Thumped. The writing is awesome as always, I could read this series again for how influential it is and how pregnancy at a young age is still happening today. The novel starts with Harmony back in Goodside who which are evil in my opinion despite the religion but as Harmony realizes she is not happy about her life and is still thinking about the father of her twins Jondoe (I love his character) Jondoe is so funny he lightens up the mood with his personality and the way he changes his life style for Melody who showed him the way to think of God in a different life. In the different point of views from both Melody and Harmony we she that Melody is living a life of fame and her romance with Zen is continually growing. As both twins want each other in their lives they also think that during Harmony's pregnancy that Melody is also pregnant with Jondoe's children so the impending wait of the Double twins due date. The plot was very well put together and along with the knowledge gained from the book that McCafferty does perfectly tell us that contraception is important to wait to have a family rather than selling babies to parents who cant have any due to the virus. It was refreshing to get to see these characters again in their final chapter in Thumped and how much their characters changed in this novel rather in Bumped. The realization and issues brought up in this book today show that Melody has independence for herself as well as her twin Harmony. Megan has done another great job with Thumped and has shown the world today. It was full of unexpected things as well as the way her characters all of whom illustrate the importance that contraception should be used to prevent teenage pregnancy. I also learned many new things from Jondoe lol. Overall it was a good sequel with a lot of messages.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Get story set into the future
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was much better than the first book but you have to read the first book to understand what is going on. If you have spare time read this book but it is not a must have sort of book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
BookishThings More than 1 year ago
3.5 I forgot how much I liked the story of Melody and Harmony. This is a world that I can’t fathom. The plot is interesting. Thumped is much more fast-paced than Bumped was. The events take place over a couple of days. I was shocked at the way Harmony’s community treated her. But that’s how things go when you fear things that do not conform to your ideals/thoughts. Melody is the one that I think grows the most in this story. She struggles with what the right and wrong thing to do is. Guilt eats at her, and she doesn’t know how to deal with it. I like the direction the book went. The characters want to make a change with how things are done. They don’t want teenagers to feel like they have to get pregnant. The morality of exploiting young people is a big presence in this book. I think the author did a great job of portraying this. The only thing that I don’t think was hashed out well is the ending. Things just kind of leave off, and we don’t know if things change, or stay the same. Overall, Thumped is an interesting read, and speaks to the sociologist in me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book would be much better without the ending. First, Melody loses consciousness when she falls on her belly. She wakes up in the birthcenter and they explain that they gave her the contents of some nasty cruel bottle or what not that kills babies and removes them. First of all, who just takes two innocent lives like that just because of things the mother has done? If people did that in real life, I'd walk into every hospital in existence and rescue the newborn babies from the people who want to kill them. I can't stand murder, especially child murder. And then there's the case with Harmony's twins. They're born alive and nobody kills them, which is good, but why does Harmony give her daughters to the Jaydens? And why do they consider Faith and Mercy "their" daughters? That's really unfair. I never really got a clear idea of who the father is, but Harmony is definitely the mother. She was pregnant and gave birth to them VIA C SECTION, for goodness sake! In my opinion, anyone who has to get cut open to give birth deserves to keep their child or children. But no, she had to go and give her precious newborns to A STUPID COUPLE WHO NEVER THOUGHT OF HAVING KIDS WHEN THEY WERE TEENAGERS! Doesn't anyone in this book have a freakin LIFE!? Get one, then, or at least get a brain! Then you'll want your twins back, Harmony! In conclusion, if I had written this book, it would've been MUCH MUCH BETTER AND BUMPED IS PROBABLY TERRIBLE TOO BUT I'LL NEVER FIND CUZ I'M NEVER READING IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loooooved it just like the first one. I couldnt put it down for a second!!!!
shyd More than 1 year ago
This story picks up as Harmony is getting closer to her due date. I have to say that I was excited to get back to this story to see how it would all end. We catch up with Melody and Jondoe at a event for them. Melody seems to have it all going for her as she is bumped with Jondoe and set to deliver twins. She is what all other girls dream of being and yet she is not happy. I love that this story was showing the other side of the teen surrogate business and showed how unhappy these girls can really be. It may not be all that it is cracked up to be as we are starting to see. Melody and Zen are getting closer but they can't be together and it is starting to get to Melody. I love that they were starting to get more into each other and willing to admit how much they really cared for each other. Harmony meanwhile was starting to question everything she was thought to believe in and wanted answers. She soon learns that nobody else feels like she does in Goodside and they are starting to question her sanity. I love that Harmony was willing to take risks and decided to think for herself. I also like that Ram was willing to help her and not cut her off like other people had done. I think this book ramped up the action more and it made for a quicker read. We move along to Melody and Jondoe going to rescue Harmony and bring her back to Otherside. When this happens Harmony and Jondoe have a chance to finally sort out their feelings. I have to say that Jondoe grew on me more in this book than the first one. He really started to show that he cared more about something than himself and was willing to take risks. I liked where the relationship between Harmony and Jondoe was heading. They have potential for so much more. The author took a lot of risks with this book and they paid off. I feel like the characters got closure and I wasn't left with any unanswered questions. It was wrapped up really well. I like that the fall out of the babies being born and the events that took place from there made the world really take a look at what they were doing. It made people take a step back and realize these were really teen girls asked to make sure hard choices at such young ages. There were some that were ready to handle it and then you get others that it is just too much for them to have to shoulder. They shouldn't even have to worry about these issues. Overall I think the author did a great job with this unique concept. It was different from anything out there but still such a real issue that could have really happened. It makes you wonder just what side of the fence you would be on if you had to chose. I highly recommend this book to others and think you should definitely pick up a copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved this book and loved the first
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Better than bumped. I LOVE IT!!!! Everyone should read it.
LindseySample More than 1 year ago
I really did enjoy the Bumped series as a whole (Thumped is the sequel). However, Bumped was not the best book I've ever read. For most of Bumped I was trying to keep up with the language (teen slang of the future apparently) and trying to depict what was happening. Once I finished Bumped and started Thumped, I had a feel for the characters and the world they lived in, and frankly I couldn't put the book down after that. Bumped alone does not develop the characters enough or make me care like I should have, but both books together tell an amazing story that I'd recommend to anyone interested in this kind of book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago