×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tiger Eye (Dirk & Steele Series #1)
     

Tiger Eye (Dirk & Steele Series #1)

4.0 664
by Marjorie M. Liu
 

See All Formats & Editions

“I didn’t just like this book, I LOVED this book. Anyone who loves my work should love it too”
New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan

 

“If you have yet to add Liu to your must-read list, you’re doing yourself a disservice.”
Booklist

 

The first exciting Dirk &

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tiger Eye (Dirk & Steele Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 663 reviews.
2Naughty4Words More than 1 year ago
I bought this book after getting a computer gamed based on it. The reviews of the game claimed the book to be superior to the game as far as romance, sad to say, it was a little tame for me. Not a bad book, just not as hot & bothering as my usual finds. If you like people strong enough to overcome past life experiences, mixed with intrigue, world travel, self made families with finely developed feelings of loyalty, support and love (acceptance of person, warts and all) you should REALLY get this book. Not as sexy as some, but twists & turns aplenty to hold your interest. And it's the first in a 'series' by the same author. Give it a read.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Beijing, Dela Reese searches the various booths of the Cheap Dirt Market until she purchases an ancient looking riddle box for a ridiculously low price. She takes the box to her apartment, but is unable to read the inscription that looks like gibberish to Dela. However, she manages to ¿open¿ the box; in the next nanosecond a handsome seven foot warrior offers to obey her commands.--- Dela tells Hari he is free, but he says she cannot release him because part of the curse is that he must stay near his owner. He explains that the curse began two millennium ago when a magi stole his skin and killed his sister. When an assassin tries to kill Dela with a knife she made, he intercedes though she never commanded him to do so. As Hari finds Dela unique and different than any previous owner, they fall in love, but someone wants her dead and if they succeed the trouble with Hari is that they would own him unless Hari can end the curse by finding his skin.--- TIGER EYE is an exhilarating fantasy romantic suspense that enables the audience to glimpse modern day Beijing. The genie in a non-bottle container rescued by a courageous heroine is not a new theme. Sherrilyn Kenyon¿s did this in FANTASY LOVER. However, Marjorie M. Liu makes it feel as if she is the first to use this concept because of the interactions between Dela and Hari. She adapts perhaps because of her curse to ¿hear¿ people¿s laments while he struggles to accept her honest efforts to liberate him without personal gain; together they make for an exciting tale.--- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG, This is a great book! I have gotten other Dirk & Steele series books but they just don't compare with this one. The characters are good and the story is very unusual. You are introduced to a variety of characters. There is humor and romance and.....well, read it for yourself. It's a great book. One of my all time Top 5 books (Maybe even Top 3!)
Elisa98 More than 1 year ago
While better written than many, _Tiger Eye_ still adheres rigidly to the conventions of the romance novel. This may be a good thing from a romance reader's point of view--it's entertaining, yet predictable and "safe." From the point of view of a science fiction/fantasy fan, the gratuitous, lengthy descriptions of foreplay get to be tedious after a while. They don't advance the plot or premise (contrast this with Jacqueline Carey's _Kushiel's Dart_ series, or even Laurel Hamilton's Anita Blake series, where sex is integral to the plot and understanding of the characters). Like all good romance heroines, Dela does not complete the act with her were-tiger swain until toward the end of the book...though like most modern romance heroines, she engages in everything else but. A little more emphasis on action outside the boudoir might make this series appealing to a broader audience (there can never be too many superhero/psychic detective agency series, right?); as is, this is too far on the romance side for much appeal outside the armies of romance fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked this one up as a friday freebie. Sometimes you get the freebies and think, well, I'm glad that was free, but other times you get one, devour it, then realize you are in trouble because now you want to read all of the rest. This book fell in the middle for me, not super great need to read every other book she's written, but not horrible. An enjoyable paranormal romance. I liked the way that power was introduced. The side characters were likable. Definately some really funny qoutes, and "aw" moments. The pacing was decent, the begining is really quick, the middle sags a bit, but then the ending is quick again. Plenty of action and emotion. Hero/heroine were believable and I liked their interaction. Overall it was a decent story, it had its good moments and its bad, but it wasn't an awful book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I originally became aware of this eBook via a game based on it. After playing the game and finding out it was based on this book, I knew I had to get it. This book had me riveted page after page, unable to put it down. The story is fantastic and the romance is heartwarming and beautiful. The plot and the characters are absolute genius. No sooner was I doubled over with laughter than I was fervently hoping the agency would be successful. I hope to see more literature from Marjorie Liu.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Marjorie M. Liu's series opener is a fast read from start to finish. If you like fantasy mixed with romance, this is your kind of book. Had to stay up to finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
you'll enjoy this author too
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very slow for the first couple of chapters. Characters are not developed as much as they could be. The action was okay but also draged a little. The situations were not quite developed enough. Plot was good and a little different but didn't have a wow facter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is just a trashy romance novel with a supernatural twist. Worst Free Friday selection EVER!
StRaWbErRiEs More than 1 year ago
I came across this Nook book as a "Free Fridays" special. It's the first in a series that features brave heroines and sexy, tormented heroes--with a paranormal twist, of course. In this novel, Dela comes across a cursed box with a shapeshifter cursed to be locked inside, bpwing to the whims of eevry new master he's encountered over the years. This tiger/man is Hari, and as Dela's life is endangered, both fall (rather quickly, in my opinion) in love. It is a good tale, with romance and mystery, but it seemed too under-developed for me. I would have enjoyed it more if there had been more thought put into it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful story. I could hardle put it down. I admit that the eroticism was a little over the top for this type of book, it seemed to fit in. Enjoy a great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kinda harped on the oh i want her,feel so deep for him thing, somewhat repititious in that sense but overall a great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like it. I couldnt stop reading until I reached the ending. Could have given 5 stars. The first time they met, I don't like the language the heroine used. It does not match her breeding and character no matter how agitated she was. And there are some illustrative adjectives that the author keeps throwing in that I find awkward. But this is her first book, so I'm sure her other books have greatly improved which I also intend to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So many of these reviews were overwhelming positive, so much so, that I wish I could work up the giddy excitement. The plot was promising, but the characters didn't come across as fully fleshed out. I see that Ms. Lui followed advice found in a popular book for fiction writers but my prefernce would have been for more tell and less show. Hari doesn't seem to exist before his slavery, but somerhing in his past had to have shaped him into the type of man who could survive such atrocity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hari was delicious and the story was a good read can't wait to get my hands on the next book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this shape-shifting story. A "Genie out of the bottle" situation begins. It had two exhilirating "hitman" action happening, so you were left with the suspense of why and who was after whom. Romantic and.funny!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How did I miss this series? Looking forward to reading the rest.
molarco More than 1 year ago
This is great story, touching in so many ways. I could not believe how involved I was in just 27 pages, it seemed there had to have been more than that. Non the less, i couldn't stop gigglilng and laughing out loud in parts of it, just nice involving writting. I see the rest of the series books, and I can't wait to see what else happens, want to see Dela's full potential, and how each caracter developes to their full meaning of self.
AdrndkGrl More than 1 year ago
I have totally enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the rest of the series - I've looked at all the overviews and am really looking forward to the different paranormal aspects that will be brought out as the series progresses. NOTE - #4 is part of Dark Dreams Omnibus with Christine Feehan I haven't found it as a standalone but hey I love Christine's books also so no problem on my end.
Gandy39 More than 1 year ago
GOT THIS ONE AND BEFOR DONE WITH IT CAME IN AND BOUGHT THE REST OF THEM-JUST BOUGHT #10----ONLY 1 PROBLEM----CANT FIND NUMBER 4 IN THE SERIES--I WILL BE RE-READING THESE MANY TIMES--THANK YOU MARJORIE LIU---
Charmed47 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the plot and it is a good start to a fine series. I would of liked more in the intimate parts, but that is just my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful read, it has fantasy, a little aciton, romance, and the tenderness between the two main characters is great. It's more then just a romance, it's about falling in love. Very interesting and unique plot and very well written. I love reading this book whenever I get the chance.
bratkat1976 More than 1 year ago
This is the first Marjorie Liu book I have read and I must say, I am rather impressed. The book flowed very nicely, the characters were diverse and memorable. The story stayed interesting throughout and it was original. Definitely two thumbs up and recommended.