×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

To Buy or Not to Buy: Why We Overshop and How to Stop
     

To Buy or Not to Buy: Why We Overshop and How to Stop

4.5 13
by April Benson
 

See All Formats & Editions

 Are you a shopaholic?

   • Do you use shopping as a quick fix for the blues?
   • Do you often buy things that you don’t need or can’t afford?
   • Do your buying binges leave you feeling anxious or guilty?
   • Is your shopping

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

To Buy or Not to Buy: Why We Overshop and How to Stop 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
dkoehnke More than 1 year ago
As an over shopper myself I can honestly say this book is amazing. I already know that I overshop but I never thought of why and she does an amazing job of telling you why you over shop. what triggers the urge and how you feel when you get the urge, when you shop, and when you get home. when reading this I found my self thinking yep, thats exactly what I feel. Then she walks you through how to combat the urge to splurge and how to controll yourself when you do go out shopping. I think the best part is she understands that shopping makes me feel GREAT and I need a pick me up of somekind, so I find a new way to make my self happy! I havent finished the book and I dont think i will ever be done rereading it and using all the great steps!
O--O More than 1 year ago
This book doesn't only point out the problems of overshopping but it fixes the problem from the root. And the techniques provided are applicable to different kinds of addictions from compulsive eating to compulsive shopping. This book is more of an interactive book. It contains different exercises that allow you to think through and it also had audio files online that you can use to help you. Dr. Benson also included charts that'll help you organize your spending and that allows you to evaluate your purchases. If you follow through with the practical strategies and easy techniques throughout yourself you can not only control your shopping but you can also create a more meaningful life. With alternative ways of dealing with negative feelings you gain so much more. i would recommend this book to anyone who has issues with overshopping.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For someone who is absolutely an "over-shopper," I would say this book is priceless. Ironically, someone seeking help for compulsive spending may find it contradictory to go out and spend $16.95 on a book helping you to stop spending; however, it's worth it. If there was a "guru" of compulsive shopping it would be Dr. Benson. Knowledge, experience, and personal insight give her the reliability and proper knowledge base to guide others and help those of us out there who know credit cards are our version of crack or heroin how to cut the addiction and helps find the root problem behind impulsive and compulsive buying. This book also includes various journal and data log templates which are very helpful. Absolutely the best book on the topic; finally made me feel like I'm not the only one dealing with this.
Pandababy More than 1 year ago
Take one (former) shopaholic. Give her a Ph.D. in psychology and ten years experience treating over-shopping. Publish her book about how to get free of the vast consumer conspiracy surrounding us, and you have Dr. April Lane Benson and her vital new book: To Buy or Not to Buy. This is not a comfortable book for me to read. I find my behavior unmasked and as undeniable as my shoulder-length gray hair. Have I used shopping to feel better about myself? Yes. Have I used shopping to avoid confronting a situation I want to avoid? Yes. Have I used shopping as a weapon to express anger? Yes. Sometimes yes to all of the above, and other questions in chapter one. Like a trip to the dentist, confronting my negative behavior and the psychology behind it can be painful, but also healing. I love this book, because there is healing in getting the rot out. Dr. Benson offers a way to find authentic happiness to replace the false esteem of keeping up with (or exceeding) the 'Joneses'. She points out the relentless consumerism driving our economy, with tentacles invading our conciousness through stores, malls, television, catalogs, Internet and even cell phone shopping. She uncovers the true cost of credit card purchases, and documents the ways invisible forces demand that we buy "more more more and now now now". Knowledge is power. Self-knowledge is the power to change. To Buy or Not to Buy is a tool that can enable us to get free of our compulsive shopping. If you are confident that you don't have any shopping addictions, I challenge you to go to a bookstore and browse her book - consider the many ways we can fool ourselves into buying things to fill an emotional hole rather than a material need. I recognized some of my buying patterns in her analysis, and also patterns of friends and relatives. Our materialistic society is even more insidious than I suspected. There is compassion and not condemnation in Dr. Benson's words. I recommend her book and I will be spending the next three months working through all the exercises. I have two pages of notes this morning, a start to the journal she recommends keeping. There is no such thing as an insignificant cavity - as we all know, sooner or later it will destroy the tooth. I am going to be working on the occasional - but not insignificant - ways that I over-shop, and expect that the result will be good, even if the process is sometimes painful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book is very helpful for people who do not know how to control their shopping habits like myself. I would recommend this book to all over shoppers. Job well done Dr. Benson !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! She got her message across without being too "preachy" and I thought that her suggestions/ tips would be very helpful. She had a very warm and soft tone. Once I began reading, I didn't want to stop. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dolivera More than 1 year ago
This is the ultimate guide to reducing and eventually completely eliminating your urge to over shop. As the type of shopper who spends hours on end looking for  "good deals" over the internet this book really helped a lot. Although my personal situation is not as developed as others while reading this book I began to truly understand what drives me to buy and how to prevent it. The various interactive "shopping journal" questions significantly increased my urge to continue my fight against compulsive shopping.This book helps to rebuild yourself into a controlled shopper without replacing one bad habit with another, the process of first identify the true reason behind our shopping and then acting by resolving those problems really works. Wether you are just begging to realize how much time and money you are spending on shopping or your completely caught in the grasps of over shopping this book will help! I highly recommend this book to compulsive shoppers any age, male or female, and remember the hardest part is admitting you have a problem so pick up this book today!
mariacMC More than 1 year ago
I think this was a really good book. I love how she shows you step by step what you doing wrong and what you have to do to fix it. I do not have copulsive buying disorder but I had to read this book for a class and im glad I read it now I know fersure I won't even have this disorder. This book reminds me of the movie "Shopoholic", which is also a very good movie.
TheGoddess More than 1 year ago
This was an overall good book, very interesting at times. I liked how the author, Benson, dove into the psychology aspect of why we may shop so much since I am currently taking AP psychology at my school. I also liked how she appealed to those of a more spiritual nature in an attempt to heal oneself when discussing solutions. She definitely organizes the book well and even gives the reader a series of checklists to fill out so that they can identify the things that cause them the most trouble in regards to compulsive shopping. It also helps the reader identify whether or not they are a compulsive shopper and the reasons why they may be. The only thing that I may not have liked so much is that at times it gets a bit repetitive, but like I mentioned earlier, it is an overall very good book. I had to read a book for an econ class and I chose this one because I hoped it would help me since I buy things I do not need a lot of times and it has. However, I didn't know that it was for hard-core compulsive shoppers, the kind that are in financial debt and have their relationships ruined over this kind of stuff, and would recommend the book either for them (it'll definitely help you) or for people who are just interested in the psychology behind buying or interested in people who have serious shopping problems. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love books a lot, but I'm very picky sometimes. I had to read this book for economics and i fell in love with it because i feel like it really relates to me and this book teaches you how to shop wisely and when you need to stop shopping, and now when i go shopping i think about these guidelines. This book really teaches you about compulsive shopping and how to stop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was easily read. I read it in 4 days and I hate reading. I had to read this book for a class and ended up recommending it to everyone. Whether you have an addiction or not, this book is worth reading. It helps with saving your money, knowing your own body, living for yourself, and so much more life changing advise. I give this book an A+. You may not think you are an over shopper untill you read this book.
XX More than 1 year ago
To buy, or not to buy: that is the question: The consequences of not taking control of one’s ingrained behavior can lead to suffering outrageous misfortune. The author’s empathetic prose helps the reader take an introspective look at prior events and current problems of over shopping. Through means of behavior modification, the reader can achieve a healthier fiscal lifestyle.