×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

To Catch a Bad Guy (Book One of the Janet Maple Series)
     

To Catch a Bad Guy (Book One of the Janet Maple Series)

3.7 139
by Marie Astor
 

Janet Maple’s stellar career ended with a layoff and her boyfriend of five years told her that he wants to be just friends. When she lands a job at one of New York’s premier boutique investment firms, Janet begins to hope that her luck is finally turning for the better. Not only is she happy with her new paycheck, but things also seem to be looking up

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

To Catch a Bad Guy (Book One of the Janet Maple Series) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 139 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really fun mystery/almosst romance. No sex, no foul language, fun leading characters and dialogue, with just the right amount of intrigue. Really hoping that Book Two (Catching the Bad Guys) measures up. Pagent99
sharonc06 More than 1 year ago
To Catch a Bad Guy by Marie Astor is the first book in the Janet Maple Series. This story gives you a little bit of everything love, friendship and a white collar crime. Janet has lost her boyfriend and her job. Lucky for her long time friend has offered her job. Janet ready to restart her life. The story keeps you captive through out! I loved Janet's strong character and felt for her when she had tough decisions she had to make. Janet is overall enjoyable character. Marie Astor decided keep the story more interesting by having the story told by the different characters in the book! Overall this keeps a good flow to story. The best part of the story was watching the interaction between Janet and Dennis. Throughout the book you wonder will they or won't they get together. The ending surprises you and makes you want to come back for book two Catching the Bad Guy. The storyline was well written and kept my interest all the way to the end. I would high recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really great story. 562 pages long. Love the cover. Thanks to the author for the free nook book.
GinsBookNotes More than 1 year ago
There is more to this book than a cute cover. It has a great story line, interesting characters, some romance, and a lot of suspense. In To Catch a Bad Guy we meet Janet, Dennis, and the Bostoff’s. We are immersed into the world of white collar crime and get to experience it from all sides with shifting character points of views. There is a great deal of suspense and personal conflict. You get pulled into the action and you find yourself empathizing with even the criminals in this book. At the end of the book I was left wanting to know more about how Janet was going to proceed in her life, if Dennis was going to be a part of it, and how the Bostoff’s would handle their future. Which is exactly how your supposed to feel at the end of the first book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author has a bad habit of changing the point of view without any indication so it takes a sentence or two to realize it is a different character "speaking". This breaks the flow and you lose where you are in the story. The plot is interesting but the ending is rather trite. Not sure if I will make the effort to read any future books. There are so many good books out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this one for free and it was a quick easy read but I really enjoyed it. I will be purchaing the second and third.
mary8808 More than 1 year ago
This story was so good I couldn't put it down. It had a lot of different point of views, not just a few main characters. Suspense, ended relationships, controlling match-maker friend, and romance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All the people giving this book high reviews must have very low expectations. The characters are shallow, the dialogue sounds like it was written by a tenth grader and the pacing is slow. Not to mention that it really needs an editor. Best thing I can say is that the spelling and punctuation are good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the book i love too much i will buy the real book.i hope u like it!
Kelli2 More than 1 year ago
No sex or foul language so that was a plus but beyond that I had a hard time getting into the book. The plot was good but the characters could have had more to them. Why would a woman go to Harvard to be a lawyer only to want to just find a rich husband?  A little to far fetched for me.
Bookworm1951 5 months ago
An OK storyline but the 2 main female charcters seemed rather shallow and silly. More like teenagers than nearly 30 yr. old lawyers. More of a light romance story than a true mystery. There was no guessing here as to how it would end. And the so called guilty parties were very easy to figure out. I agree with the reviewer who stated that the author often shifted gears in the dialogue and it took a re-read or two of that area to figure out just who was speaking. Definitely could have used some better editing. Hope that the others in the series are better. The best thing I can say about this book is that it was free.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it when an auther doesn't corrupt their storoes with bad language and full of sex. If it is a good story then you don' t have to use language and sex to make it a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was cute but, not the greatest, I have read better. It was easy reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I so enjoyed this read. The story was enough to keep you interested right to the end!
squeeter2 More than 1 year ago
Totally enjoyed this book, can't wait to read the next in the series and see where the author goes with this character.
LindalovestoreadLR More than 1 year ago
Stupid book. No chemistry between love interests. Didn't care about or even like characters. Didn't care about the issue being resolved. Unnatural, stilted dialog. Glad it was free.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this story - it was well-written with characters that I wanted to read and felt like they deserved each other. Good resolution!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun book with many twists and turns; however it is easy to keep up with the plot. Was so interesting, I purchase the next two in the series. All are full length novels and not the usual 200-250 pages books that are usually on the inexpensive book lists. The characters are not perfect as well as sometimes down right unlikeable including the main characters, it is not a simple "good vs bad guys" novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved this book very funny and hilarious
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable, fast.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book does indeed have foul language and sexual content!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IThis nook is a mystery, love story and keeps you turning the psges. I got this book free and liked the book so well i bought the other two books of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I see these five star reviews I wonder if its friends and family who've written them.. Initially, the book was slow moving and overtly detailed then towards the end she brushed through without building up a climax about how the caught the. Bad guys.its 600 pages long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The storyline had potential. I had a hard time connecting with the characters, which led to a lack of interest in reading