×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

To Have and Have Not
     

To Have and Have Not

4.1 49
by Ernest Hemingway
 

See All Formats & Editions

This is the dramatic, brutal story of Harry Morgan and his efforts to support his family by running contraband between Key West and Cuba. Set in the 1930s, the book carries all the flavor of an era that was poor, tough and resourceful.

Harshly realistic, yet with one of the most subtle and moving relationships in Hemingway's "oeuvre", it goes beyond high adventure.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

To Have and Have Not 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In To Have and Have Not there is an apparent growth in the Hemingway hero. The rugged masculinity is still there, perhaps even more so, but Hemingway confronts and looks deeply into it. This book is a study of love and life, of what it is to be a man. It is an extremely quick read because the adventure never stops and it is filled with memorable characters you only want to know more about. Hemingway is the master of creating within his reader an emotional bond to a character without the reader even noticing. It is only when one finishes a Hemingway novel that they realize just how emotionaly involved he was. Harry Morgan is a fantastic character, just trying to make it and provide for the woman he loves. Is that not the ultimate definition of what a man is? Doing everything he can to make the woman he loves happy. In the past Hemingway's characters had all of the masculinity but only hints of Harry's maturity. This is a great novel that any Hemingway fan will cherish and that any fan or reading or of life will thoroughly enjoy.
literatigirl-42 More than 1 year ago
easily one of hemingways more honest portrayals of writing and life. As free of posturing as he ever gets and as honest about the human condition in a place where a living is hard to come by. A must read for anyone who likes or loves hemingway's work.
keiths More than 1 year ago
There is no better testement to the universiality of Hemminway's powers of observation than this novel. I consider the first chapter of this book to be among the best ever written. Harry Morgan, a regular blue collar guy makes a deal with a rich client to take him fishing. The wealthy man then stiffs him on the bill and flees. This is an almost perfect metaphor for the great depression of the 1930s: the working man paying the price for the excessess of the wealthy. Sound familiar? This story of desperate people doing desperate things due to circumstances beyond their control is as relevant today than it was when he wrote it.
Angel327 More than 1 year ago
What can I say....The book is great!If you want a book you can really get into the characters and really let a story send you into escapism this is the one.The plot is great and it kept me reading straight through.This is my first Hemmingway book that I read and can't wait to read another one of his books.The movie with Bogart and Becall was really good;the book is even better.I loved it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
awesome book about tragedy, lillegal activity and relativity to taday's society
dan_e More than 1 year ago
Typical Hemingway, well written a good read and of course, nothing like the movie - but Bogie & Bacall were terrific.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great tale about a poverty stricken fisherman who will do anything to make a decent living. No words can describe the brilliance of this novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
BUY THIS BOOK. THE READER EXPERIENCES LIFE'S STRUGGLES BY READING THIS BOOK. IT WILL CAPTIVATE THE READER.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hemingway presents Harry Morgan, a fair man with a boat with which he earns his living and provides for his family. However, soon Morgan finds himself swindled and must resort to running contraband between Cuba and Key West so that he can put food onto the table. What begins as a tale of a man out to make a decent living ends up falling to pieces as Morgan attempts to make money and juggles losing his boat to the Coast Guard. This story is interesting and has no dull parts. The plot is strong, and the story of one man's dream gone to hell is portrayed accurately as if it were happening to a real person. I would recommend this book to the avid Hemingway reader or to one who is just beginning to read him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was apalled at some of the words used,I'm disgusted
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After years of being an avid reader, it occurred to me that I had never read Hemingway. So I set out to remedy that as quickly as possible. While I could have selected one of his masterpieces that we've all heard about all out lives, I selected this book based on its description. I was taken immediately by Hemingway's style of writing. He can say a lot in a short sentence. However, I found the story to be just average. There is some good drama, and the plot starts you off on an exciting adventure. But in the end, it's a bit of a let down. It did not discourage me from reading others books by this legendary author, but it is the only book I probably wouldn't recommend to a friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago