×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Her Death, Heaven, Angels, and Life Again: A True Story
     

To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Her Death, Heaven, Angels, and Life Again: A True Story

3.9 306
by Mary C. Neal
 

See All Formats & Editions

The true story of a medical doctor's tragic drowning in a remote region of Chile, her miraculous return to life, and the remarkable new experience of God it provided her.

In 1999, orthopedic surgeon, wife, and mother, Dr. Mary Neal embarked on a South American adventure--a kayaking expedition in Chile. Through a series of events, Dr. Neal's kayak slipped over

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Her Death, Heaven, Angels, and Life Again: A True Story 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 306 reviews.
PattiChristensen More than 1 year ago
AMAZING READ! While reading Dr Neal's book I kept coming back to that line from Hamlet: "There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy." This book isn't a cozy read - parts are downright excruciating to hear and difficult to imagine. It can't be easy for her to tell it, except for a strange grace she was given. I imagine that folks who read it to with an eye to validating a firmly-held dogmatic religious or agnostic position will be irritated. She isn't proselytizing or lecturing or apologizing - she is simply relaying the facts of her own strange tale with an unadorned, almost surgical precision. In thinking about it, that's precisely the power of this book - Dr Neal is a hard person to dismiss. She doesn't seem fanciful or eccentric or disenfranchised or neurotic or a religious fanatic or needy or any of the traits I had expected. Her voice rings out unusually clear and fresh, cool and concise. It's because of this, even more than her impressive resume, that I find her credible. The actual tale is emotionally moving, occasionally disturbing, spiritually and intellectually challenging. At the end of it I find myself with a delicious sense of wonder that life is more beautiful than we can conceive, that there is more going on than anyone can imagine, that God is impossible to wrap into a tidy, presentable box because our ideas about Him are too cramped and small. Ultimately I was left with a sense that life is incredibly important and should be honored, and I have an ever-growing hope that our loved ones are near, that we will see them again and that all is well, here and there. What a powerful read!
E_Cleland More than 1 year ago
Amazing Story! I found this book inspiring and compelling. Dr. Mary Neal brings a scientific and logical mind to a number of events that reveal that God is alive and well in this world, and in the next. She describes in a straight forward and unembellished voice her near death experience and other life events that both challenged her and convinced her that God has a plan for each of us. She does not push a particular religious or political agenda, but rather attempts to relay what she has learned from her very unique experiences. She's a messenger who will help answer some of the questions we've all pondered about God and the existence of Heaven. You cannot read this book without believing that, with God, all things are possible.
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
"Many have said that my experience is remarkable. What I find more remarkable, however, is how readily many people in our society believe outlandish and unsubstantiated urban myths and conspiracies (Pop Rocks and Coke, JFK assassination, AIDS is man-made, etc.), yet disregard thousands of personal and consistent testimonies of miracles and near-death experiences from people throughout all cultures and religions." (pg 205). Dr. Mary C. Neal, an orthopedic surgeon, thought she had an understanding of heaven, angels and Jesus being a believer from a young age, but nothing would prepare her more, than dying and getting first hand knowledge that everything she ever believed was not only true, she had to tell others. That is precisely what she did many years later after her children had grown from when she first drowned in a kayaking accident in Chile. That is the one significant thing in talking with anyone who has died, gone to heaven and returned, they never forget the precise details no matter how long it's been. Unlike trying to recall a wedding or even the birth of a child, the longer you wait in between talking about it, some of the details fade. Mary Neal felt God was now telling her to take what she experienced and not only share in through her words in a book, but even now she incorporates that into the care of her patients as well. In the novel, To Heaven and Back, Mary C. Neal describes her life leading up to her death and what happens long afterwards, sharing with the reader how many of the events could be described by some as luck, good fortune or karma. However when you connect the dots in all these circumstances, it becomes clear, that God's divine hand was orchestrating it all and in fact continues to do so. Not much time is spent on her time in Heaven since she wasn't allowed in, but merely got up to the entrance point, but what lives on even now in her life, continues to impact those around her. I received To Heaven and Back compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers for my honest opinion and truly believe what Mary experienced is real. To doubt her word, would mean you had more information into what happened than she did, and I would find that hard to believe. Mary isn't hoping to make a profit off her experience and is in fact donating portions of the sale of this book to many non-profit charitable organizations you would find on her website. The one thing that remains consistent for me, in reading her story is prayer to God was invaluable not only in the difficult roads in her life, but offering up thanksgiving and gratitude in those prayers as well. Being a huge believer in the power of prayer, I LOVE how simply stated Mary's experience truly was and gives me hope that we will live a long eternal life after we simply finish our jobs here. I rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars in my personal opinion and it's a great source of comfort to those wondering if life exists past this one besides the Bible and who may be grieving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a book that will uplift your faith and make you evaluate the divine pattern of your life, this book is for you. Dr. Neal tells the story of her divine experience with beautiful detail and even humor. This book is not heavy on biblical verse (thankfully) but does incorporate some scripture without slowing down the pace of the narrative. This is a story of an extraordinary human who has an even more extraordinary afterlife experience. She sends a message in her story that all of us are special to God and God has a plan for all of us. We need to pay attention to this plan. This book is a part of it.
colivos More than 1 year ago
I must preface this review by stating that I am a bible believing Christian. I believe that salvation is for those who call Jesus Christ Lord, and is available to all who do. I received this book with the understanding that it is a "Christian" read, however, not only was I was terribly disappointed in it being labeled as such, I was incredibly disturbed by the doctrine presented. I do believe after having read this book that Mary had a supernatural experience and passed over the threshold from life to death, and being a believer in Christ, which she openly acknowledges, I am certain she was destined to live out all of her eternity in Heaven. However, it seemed as though she believed this to be the case for all who pass from life to death, and even mentions in the book that if the person who passed did not have saving faith upon death, then the gate would be an opportunity to then "choose God, or to turn away-for eternity" (pg73). I felt like much of the book was simply impious, distasteful and I found myself sorry that it was available to people who do not know Jesus, as I felt this book written to assure everyone that what Mary experienced will be the norm for everyone, as she makes no clear assertion otherwise; meaning she never once connects her belief in Jesus Christ to her being ushered to Heaven's gate. She refers only to God, not Christ, in whom salvation comes through. It is obvious that this book was written to be palatable to everyone, because most believe in a"higher power", but the name Jesus always seems to ruffle some feathers. Mysticism was also interwoven in much of her recollections throughout this book: she communicated with an angel through an owl, a woman's deceased husband spoke to her in a dream in order to warn Mary about being careful(after the accident had already happened),and trees supernaturally blooming just to name a few. There was heavier emphasis on these signs and presence of angels than on the Lord God himself. The most disturbing thing for me to read in this book was Mary's use of the name Jesus and "the angel" interchangeably when referring to lucid dreams/visions she had while in the hospital. One day when I meet Jesus, as any Christian can attest themselves, I should know for certain when I am in the presence of my King, and should hope if anything to worship at His feet in complete love and adoration, not carry on a casual conversation with him, uncertain of who he was exactly. As a follower of Jesus Christ I found this book to be a terrible representation of Christian doctrine, and believe it to be damaging to the progression of the Gospel, giving people a reason to rest easy while they are here, and worry about eternity when they get there. John 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing group has provided me with this book complimentary for review purposes.
Svihov More than 1 year ago
Dr. Neal puts her real life experiences into a book that is fascinating, exceptional and spiritual. If you don't believe in the higher powers above...you will after you read this! Guaranteed! Previously posted reviews that are anything less than this don't get it. Dr. Neal is not trying to tell you about God or push her religious beliefs on you. She's tells of Faith, Hope and Love. When you find these you will find God. Finding God is up to you....God is there, you just have to know when he's talking to you. Once you lose a child, you too will know that Faith, Hope and Love is all you have left in this world. Great read.
PubliusRB More than 1 year ago
This is certainly one of the best books I've read on near death experiences. Dr. Neal does a tremendous job of relaying the details and importance of her accident vis a vis its spiritual dimensions. As I read the book, I kept thinking: "Dr. Neal has a very similar view to mine on life and the afterlife." Some people will find fault with anything, particularly if it isn't cloaked in the expected trappings of evangelical subculture, but Dr. Neal clearly espouses orthodox Christianity, as she interprets the drama in Chile and its lessons for a daily walk with Jesus Christ.
goose49 More than 1 year ago
I find it interesting that my only complaint is the last persons statement of Lack! I found this an extremely uplifting book that helped reinforce my spiritual belief system. As a Hospice Nurse and a 12 step person I have had many experiences of miracles in the last 25 years and still find it helpful to have them reinforced from others. I would recommend this book to anyone who is having any doubts about their connection with a Higher Power (or God if you prefer). To my only complaint - it would be the "Christian" focus. Though I did not find it so troublesome that I wouldn't recommend the book to people who may not share that focus!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have been a nurse for 31 years and have had the privilege to talk with other patients that have had similar experiences. I have also been in many situations where I have been part of a team that has worked with the patient to revive them and bring them back from brink of death. I was blessed to be with my precious mother when she was called home, and the smiles that she had with her last breath, I will never forget, with that she gave me a glimpse of Heaven she was seeing. Thank you again for sharing with us your own experience.
geo1 More than 1 year ago
I think most people are curious about supernatural experiences. First, it makes for interesting reading. Second, I am always on the lookout for a feel good quick read. The way I read this type of story is to be critical but open minded. I am always careful with what I believe , I think that it is only natural to be a little skeptical. Let me say that I found your book well written and from the heart. This book was food for my soul and worth the money. thanks
Old_Narnian More than 1 year ago
Saw the author on Fox News. She gave a very good interview and I thought this was going to be something other than what it was. I was hoping to read an uplifting Christian book. Unfortunately, it was long on supernatural superstition and short on scriptural basis. I don't want to be critical of her experience and I was willing to give the benefit of the doubt... up until the part where she believed God was telling her what to do by having an owl follow her around and stare at her. I'm so disappointed. This one is going to have to go in the round file.
Jay_Andrade More than 1 year ago
First and foremost I must say that I am a huge skeptic. I don't believe it if I don't see it with my own two eyes. So going into this book I was expecting to read about absurd and crazy events, but as Neal started telling about her early life I realized that maybe this book wasn't written for publicity.  The beginning of the book was slow for me. Although I was grateful for Neal writing about her early life towards the end of the book, at the moment I wished she would have started with the incident that sent her to heaven. I felt comforted that she too, had faith problems in her teenage years. Upon reading about the many almost unbelievable coincidences Neal had made me wonder if we really do have a guardian angel with us at all times, and if angels do exist, then there most certainly is a higher power that sent them to protect us right?  One of my favorite moments in the book was from chapter 21 when Neal's stepfather, George, planted a pear tree so he and his wife (Neal's mother) could enjoy its vibrant pink blossoms, but the tree never blossomed. That is, until George died in the hospital of a bout of pneumonia. The next day at Neal's mother's house, they looked out the window and saw that the pear tree was overflowing with pink blossoms. The blossoms lasted well after the winter even when all the other trees were barren. The entire book is sprinkled with little miracles and coincidences here and there that reinforce the thought of a higher power. Overall, I enjoyed the book very much although it was easy to put down. I'm definitely more willing to believe in god after reading this book and I'm absolutely positive about one thing; coincidences aren't just coincidences anymore. Things happen for a reason.  Disclosure: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their Blogging for Books program, but this review is completely my own. I chose the book I wanted to read, they mailed it to me, and I have given my honest opinion of it.
Benedocet More than 1 year ago
Each person that goes on and has the opportunity to return, can have a very different experience. We essentially should be open and not rely on our pre-trained knowledge of the afterlife, no matter what religious or non religious backgorund we have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading personal narratives about heaven.The content of this book was very different from what I anticipated. I expected a more detailed account of Dr. Neal's visit to heaven rather than so much autobiographical information. I was also confused by the fact that Dr. Neal professes to be a Christian, yet the account of her heavenly escort and visitation were not scriptural by any means. I do not doubt that she had some type of experience, but it made me feel that it was more "other-worldly" than "heavenly".
dogloverMG More than 1 year ago
Dr. Neal has crafted a beautiful testimony of God's unconditional love and purpose for every person. Her story is easy to read, and I finished it in one sitting. As some reviewers have commented, while I at first expected more details of her trip to heaven and what she saw and heard, I feel her emphasis on God's plan for each of us and how events and people are all interconnected is something we can all be encouraged and blessed by. I have never had a NDE, but I have personally experienced visions and miracles in my life. I believe everyone experiences miracles and "God touches" but not everyone recognizes them when they occur. Dr. Neal's honest account of her life and family before and after her NDE is a powerful reminder that God never leaves our side. Her book illustrates how we only see "in part" and that God has a bigger, eternal tapestry which He is lovingly weaving with each of our lives. To Heaven and Back is comforting and refreshing - like a drink of cool water - yet at the same time, a gentle reminder to be about God's business every day by loving Him and loving those He places in our life. I believe this book will lead readers to be more open and "tuned in" to the myriad ways God is guiding them and leading them back to Him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Buy this book!!! I did and I read it and i loved it- I couldn't hardly put it down. I was inspired to read about her heavenly experience and that is only one part of this book. Reading about how God has directed her in her life was also fascinating to read about. The author's life and her family's life has not been a bed of roses and reading about that and how Jesus put people in her life to comfort her is beautiful! That is how Jesus works, nothing in life is a coincidence!! I recommended this book already to alot of people and have passed on the book to someone else to read. It really is a great book!!
stacycsmith More than 1 year ago
Honest, down to Earth and written exceptionally well. I highly recommend this book to anyone. Although Dr. Neal's background is Christian, she is not at all preachy or exclusive in her thinking. To the contrary, she does a wonderful job communicating the fact that we all belong to God and are all welcome to His love and joy. I found this book to be reassuring and celebratory. It inspires me to take whatever circumstances I have at any moment, find the goodness around me and share it with others. Five stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Extraordinary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author of this book clearly has a feelings based faith and mixes whatever philosofy that feels "right" with Christianity. This includes paganism (owls thatshe believes are angels); mormonism (a woman who visits her in the hospital claiming her dead mormon husband helped save her life during the authors accident) and conversing with the dead just to name a few instances. This woman has no concept of biblical truths or what the bible speaks clearly about and against. She has been spiritually misled and is misleading others. And shehas quite the ego. If you want a real story about heaven untainted by personal desire or demonic influence read Heaven is For Real or 90 Minutes in heaven.
PJtheEMT4 More than 1 year ago
To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Her Death, Heaven, Angels, and Life Again: A True Story byMary C. Neal is a new book in the newly popular genre of "Christian" near death experience autobiographies. The market is becoming saturated with near death experience based stories that describe heaven and the afterlife in great detail. It is no wonder- mankind has always had an interest in the spiritual world and afterlife. People are made to experience eternity and we have questions of course, about heaven, and God. The thing is, that the answers are to be found in the bible, and I am very cautious of any private revelation that pruports to have visions or answers of the afterlife. The author, Dr. Mary C. Neal, an orthopedic surgeon, experiences a traumatic kayak accident during a South American trip. Allegedly she drowns- and dies and finds herself experiencing heaven and actually communicates with angels. The story chronicles her life as well as her spiritual journey and her detailed and vivid account of heaven. There is an extraordinary amount of detail of the author's life prior to the accident. I believe that the detail of her life and medical practice is an attempt to increase her credibility. At times, the extent of personal background seems to be similar to a resume or dissertation as i feel the inclusion of the material is to add confidence in the sanity of the author so as to make the story more legitimate. Needless to say, her personal experience impacts her awareness and her spiritual understanding. Yet, this book may simply leave the reader with an unfulfilled desire to have a similar experience as if that is needed to validate a Christian faith. This book reminds me of the recently published Heaven is for Real account by pastor Todd Burpo which also claims to be an account of a true story. A pastor, writes the account of his son's trip to heaven, that happened during the emergency surgery of his 4 year old son near death experience. While alleged near death experiences are somewhat common, based on the media attention in documentaries, articles and even books, what makes these stories unique is the fact that they come from credible members of society: medical doctors, or pastors- who are generally respected. Even though this story is easy to read and easy to follow, it raises spiritually complex issues such as the issue of the legitimacy of private visions apart from revealed scripture. While it is true that some NDE can be ruled out as the side effects of a dying or injured brain, not all can be scientifically ruled out. Some perhaps might be supernatural in nature. Nevertheless that does not mean they should automatically be accepted as biblical in nature or truth. I must admit I am skeptical when it comes to believing modern day visions and NDE. For example, there are so many alleged apparitions of Mary in the Catholic church, that I believe most to be hoaxes, and in other cases, demonic in nature. Once the reader decides to accept the author's word that this story is legit, it is up to the reader to discern the source or supernatural power behind the NDE. This is where most readers will most likely accept with blind faith that this is a true account and that it is based on biblical truth. This is because most people want to believe this heartwarming and comforting message is true. Any responsible reader familiar with the bible will be aware that he or she is faced with the task of determining if the experience of the author is spiritually based on truth, or if it perhaps is an indirect attempt of Satan to mislead believers into accepting false information. Paul warned in the letters of the new testement, especially in the book of Galations, that even Satan, and evil spirits can appear as angels of light, deceiving many. That possibility must be acknowledged by anyone who reads this book. While Paul acknowledged the possibility of personal visions in the ancient church, he himself did not place on any believer the burden of accepting any other private vision other than the message containe din the gospel. As far as the details- knowledge could be obtained from evil sources for the purpose of adding "authenticity" and misleading believers into believeing the other aspects of the visions shared. The evil spirits are known for mixing truth with falsehood. We are in a spiritual battle, and nothing is off limits as far as the evil spirits of this world are concerned. they will try all sorts oftricky and decieving deceptions. They will try any underhanded tactic even going so far as using a respected medical doctor, and beloved mother as tools to mislead others. It isn't always obvious to everyone to sort truth from untruth unless they are firmly grounded in the Holy Spirit. Even those involved in the occult such as palm readers and fortune tellers, can sometimes fortell the future or the past with amazing accuracy with supernatural information supplied by the evil spirit realm. The details of the throne of God, the angels and other aspects are questionable, as to their spiritual authenticity. As a blogger for Water Brook I received this book for the purpose of writing this review. It is with caution I would suggest this book to anyone to read. unless of course that reader is willing to take the time to discern, in light of scripture, the validity of the message presented by the author's NDE.
sa21236 More than 1 year ago
I have read other books on this topic so it was a similar read. Helpful to grief to see the hope beyond death. I realize the courage it took to step out of our comfort zone to discuss these very personal experiences. I think we all have had them but perhaps not recognized them. I have recommended this book to friends.
thriftymommy08 More than 1 year ago
"To Heaven and Back" by Mary C. Neal is an absolutely fascinating book about life, death, and eternal life. Mary Neal wrote this book as a sort of autobiography of her amazing experience when she died in a tragic kayaking accident. After she technically died, she describes her interaction with angels and in Heaven before she is returned to her Earthly home. I thought that this book was written beautifully - Mary tells the honest story of her life, the accident, her experiences as her spirit left her body, and her life after she was sent back to her life. What I found most interesting was her descriptions of Heaven, and her memories of that experience. She describes the great hall she saw with such beauty and energy, and then she felt such great sadness at having to be returned to her body because her time on Earth was not yet over. I thought this book was interesting, and I really enjoyed it, from cover to cover. It is very well written, and I would recommend this to anyone - man, woman, student, Christian, non-Christian.. I believe that anyone could benefit from Mary's story. I would give this book a 5/5!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought the audio book last winter and we really enjoyed it. I study meditation and spirituality. This book was written more for the common folk who may go to church but don't practice spirituality. The Dr gives a lot of background about her life which is rather common and supports the extraordinary event that happened to her. I loaned it to someone and don't remember who. I want to loan it to my 85 yr old neighbor who is not religious but interested. So I may purchase a second copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. While not as desriptive of her actual Heavenly experience as i had hoped, (I love the details of the heaven part!) I still received much from this book. Hope, encouragment, and a stronger faith were some of the things i received. I'm sure she had her reasons for lack of detail. Still worth reading and i highly recommend you do! You will be blessed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are curious about life in general and our purpose here on earth this is a satisfying read. Mary Neal, faced with heartbreaking and life changing events shows character and spiritual strength most of us can only imagine. A very fast read that stays with you. Thought provoking.