×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

To Sail beyond the Sunset
     

To Sail beyond the Sunset

4.1 17
by Robert A. Heinlein
 

See All Formats & Editions

Maureen Johnson, the somewhat irregular mother of Lazarus Long, wakes up in bed with a man and a cat. The cat is Pixel, well-known to readers of the New York Times bestseller The Cat Who Walks Through Walls. The man is a stranger to her, and besides that, he is dead...

Filled with the master’s most beloved characters, this compelling work

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

To Sail Beyond the Sunset 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
the-ghost More than 1 year ago
Heinlein is a great writer, he gets you involved in the story. I also like how he has recurring players in his other novels. this book ties alot of his books together with his characters and his story. This is one of the books I had a hard time putting down. It a great science fiction book and is a great one to have in your library to read again and again. after all a good book is like a good friend, you don't mind seeing them again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
To Sail Beyond the Sunset is a wonderfully crafted book that reviews in detail the life of Maureen Johnson, the mother of many other Heinlein characters. It is witty and involved, staying true to Heinlein's style. It is a wonderful insight into the lives of other Heinlein characters, and also into his own life.
Socal-Scot More than 1 year ago
One of my absolute favorites! Yes, read the other Lazarus Long books first so you know the characters.  Then go find The Number of the beast, which not only contains some of LL's friends but if you are a long  time  and prolific reader, you will find characters from Wonderland, Oz, Larry Niven, Asimov, Burrough's John Carter  series and a few other fun, awful, and memorable books and authors. Four people we don't know must run from  truly bad guys in a personal spaceship, but they have  a scientisr with a time machine. When they wind up meeting John Carter things get curious. Each write down 3 favorite books,  all think of one and wind up in couple  of airless dark worlds and then also find the ones I mentioned earlier. Story is fun and the ending fabulous. You  either like RAH or you don't. If you do, ignore those fuddyy duddies!  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is a good story in this book. Unfortunately it gets bogged down in more and more of the free-love that RAH seemed obsessed with later in his life. If you've read the other books in the Lazarus Long series you know what I'm talking about. If you haven't go read the others first because this is the last. This one is about Maureen, LL's mother, and is essentially told from one sexual encounter to the next until near the end. Worse, even more so than in the other books, the sex gets downright disturbing as it moves casually into incest between parents and their teenage children, brothers and sisters, etc. All of that said, if you're a fan of the LL series you'll need to get through this book to wrap things up. The sex-obsession aside, Maureen's life is rather interesting, and the end is the happy fairy-tale ending we've all been secretly hoping for for these people, even 'fixing' some of the tragic endings in some of the other books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be quite intriguing; also very hard to put down. When I first saw this book on the shelf of my high school library, read the back of it, let me tell you, I was caught, HOOK, LINE, and SINKER! I would suggest this book to just about anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are new to RAH avoid this book. It's long, dry, sanctimonious, and generally boring. Especially so if you haven't read the other books in the series. It is meant to give more background information on the character Maureen. It comes off very smug and self-satisfied. It's basically a narration of what would happen if Mary Poppins went whoring. It's all told in retrospect. Has a 'and then I did this, then I did that, and everything was perfect' style. I got this feeling that the author used this book (last published during his life) to spout off his views, rather then actually tell a story.