×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

To the Last Breath: A Memoir of Going to Extremes
  • Alternative view 1 of To the Last Breath: A Memoir of Going to Extremes
  • Alternative view 2 of To the Last Breath: A Memoir of Going to Extremes
     

To the Last Breath: A Memoir of Going to Extremes

4.1 13
by Francis Slakey
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the bestselling tradition of Into Thin Air and Born to Run, Francis Slakey takes readers on a physical and spiritual journey to the most extreme points on Earth and deep inside the human psyche.

A journey to the most extreme points on Earth and deep inside the human spirit
Before Georgetown physics professor Francis Slakey set out to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

To the Last Breath: A Memoir of Going to Extremes 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was hoping this would be a book about the adventure of climbing, which I enjoy (ever since I read Krakauer's In Thin Air) but alas this was more about the author's personal journey. I am almost finished the book and found it interesting, but think I may have preferred a book about his climbing experiences.
babsindenver More than 1 year ago
To the Last Breath: a Memoir of Going to Extremes is a riveting read from beginning to end and I promise you won't want to put this one down. This book chronicles the true story of one man’s quest to surf every ocean and climb the highest peak on every continent. Much more than a climbing and surfing adventure story, it is a rich and beautifully written memoir filled with nail biting adventure, international political intrigue, love and a personal spiritual awakening. Dr. Slakey takes you his life adventure and shares a very personal and rich life story. This is truly a book not to be missed and one that you will be proud to share with family and friends.
haplito More than 1 year ago
I read an advanced copy of To the Last Breath. This is not my style of book whatsoever -- I rarely read non-fiction, what little non-fiction I do read is never memoir, and I tend to find adventure tales, not to mention personal transformation tales, a little boring -- but I read it in two sittings, and have not stopped raving about it since. I loved it. This is a really spectacular book, and I think a lot of people are going to get a lot out of it. The book jacket will do a better job of explaining the story than I might, but I hope to provide some context for Slakey's social-ethical transformation. What's remarkable about this story, to me, is not what he accomplished in terms of feats, or even that he became a better man for it. What's remarkable is that he's a scientist, and specifically a physicist, and that the "better man" he became was a man more focused less on the advancement of science (though that is undoubtedly important to him) than on the betterment of humankind through science. I live in Washington, D.C., and have worked extensively with scientists on issues of public policy and public welfare. Slakey's latterday perspective on the role of science in public life, it's ability to help people, is exceedingly forward-looking and rare -- many scientists take a very clinical view, wherein science is science, and politics is politics, and never the twain shall meet -- and his commitment to this perspective, his commitment to making the world a better, safer place, is rarer still. The story of To the Last Breath is fantastic. It's my hope that a lot of people will read this book, and enjoy it; but my real hope is that people will take it's message of the value of science, and the value of public service, and the value of their interaction -- a message which is very specific, and all-to-rare in this day and age -- to heart.
donnareads911 More than 1 year ago
A memoir of hiking and surfing adventures. Although I'm neither, it kept me turning the pages and in absolute awe. Good read!
dansever More than 1 year ago
AMAZING book! By far the best i have ever read. mixes adventure and extremes with humane and emotional challenges. Written wonderfully, captured and described an extremely special and unique way. I couldn't put the book down. MUST HAVE book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a reader of non-fiction, adventure/mountain climbing books and this one truly stands out because it was so unexpected. Witnessing a scientist's transformative journey resulted in a page turner for me. It was not just about the mountain and it was not just about the surf but yet again, it was. It all ties together. I was captivated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I ordered ‘To The Last Breath,’ I was hoping for tales of adventure. I got them—plus the story of a man who opens himself to love and family. A fun, heartwarming read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PBradford More than 1 year ago
“When I picked up this book I was unsure how I would like it. And to my delight I was hooked by page 2. It is not only a fascinating adventure and bold concept it is well written, laugh out loud funny at times, informative and tells a tale of a guy with little heart who along the way develops a very big one. It is a great “guys” book even for those guys who are not avid readers. And finally it makes a great father’s day gift because of the authors final transformation to becoming a Dad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will admit that that is a mandatory summer reading book for college, and as most students, I was prepared to be bored to tears. This proved to be untrue... for the most part. The narrative was interesting and included anecdotes (short side stories) about the narrator and the people that influenced him. That's the good part. *The bad part is yet to come. I would've never guessed it.* Every single chapter had a corny line explaining how the narrator NEVER EXPECTED TO have his life changed. Who would have known this would happen or that would happen to him? I grew tired of it quickly. I guess some other people will like the hype, but I wasn't thrilled.