×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Tommyknockers
     

The Tommyknockers

3.9 142
by Stephen King
 

See All Formats & Editions

Something is happening to the residents of Haven, Maine. Something that gives everyone in the small town powers no human should have, turning Haven into a death trap for outsiders-and plunging the town into the depths of madness....

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Tommyknockers 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 142 reviews.
Libragirl213 More than 1 year ago
I was 16 when I first read Tommyknockers. From there I was swept into years of reading every Stephen King novel I could get my hands on. It remains my favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My first Stephen King novel and I was enthralled from the first few chapters? I need to quit work and ditch my phone so I can read more of his books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My second King book after The Talisman that solidified my status as an avid fan. The imaginative storytelling and intimate details that wrap a King story in greatness are prevalent. Tommyknockers is my second favorite after Talisman, highly recommend.
Jennifer24 More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. Giving it 4 stars because it took me a second try to really get into it and I felt it was a little long. However the story is very good (once it gets going) and had me enraptured at the end!
Jenna_J More than 1 year ago
I LOVE Stephen King books!!! I love how he ties so many different characters together but really helps you understand who they are as individuals. I was so excited to read this because it involved the entire town of Haven. BUT as the story went on, I felt that he didn't do a very good job of letting you get to know several of the recurring characters, which made them easy to forget. As I read, different names would pop up and I would stop and have to think about who the character was. That has NEVER happened to me while reading a King book before. Not even in The Stand or Under The Dome, which are a lot bigger stories that involve so many people. On the whole, I thought this book was good and kept me entertained, but it wasn't my favorite. If you like King then you will probably enjoy The Tommyknockers, but it wasn't his greatest.
funread More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this horror novel. King is a master storyteller and keeps the reader on edge. The surprise at the end really was unexpected!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, just like most of his older stuff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remembered reading excerpts from this book when I was much younger and thinking that it was an interesting story. Finally as an adult I managed to pick up a copy and read the whole thing through from front to back and I have to admit that I was hoping for something... different, I guess. I know that a lot of Stephen King novels are far-fetched and, in general, a little out there, but this is a little below the standard that I have come to expect from one of his books. I'm not saying that it's not well written, because that it is; and it has a little of almost everything thrown into it. However, he has definitely written better books, and with as long as this one is, it is probably a better use of time to read something else; perhaps even another of his novels.
ThewormAW More than 1 year ago
I first started reading King with this one. I would sit in my car between classes and escape to the crazy world of King's mind. It is gripping, chilling, chills down your back, and unable to stop reading. Took me a little longer than normal but well worth the buy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a constant reader of SK novels and i have absolutely LOVED every one of his novels that i have read. A couple years ago i found a copy of this book at a garage sale for 75cents being new to king i didnt even read what is was about i bout it simply bc it beared the King title. It sat upon my shelf for many years and i finally picked it up about a month ago. I just finished it and it was AWFUL. This book was horrible... the beginnings not bad but if u r not into the whole UFO Alien thing dont go near this book!! The fast paced ending kept me going for the last 30 pages or so but I was extremely disappointed overall, and 1.5 out of the 2 stars i gave it were simply a bonus i gave it bc it was written by SK.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of Stephen King's more underrated novels. It's probably the best book of its kind since H.G. Well's War of the Worlds.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the best book i ever read. I love sci-fi and know good sci-fi books!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the most bazaar books I have ever read. It made almost no sense, had an unusual almost non existent plot and yet I could not put it down. Stephen King is probably the only writer that can do that. I reccomend this book to anyone who wants to be entertained.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has got to be the most wicked story written by Stephen King ever. Incorporating deep characters with extreme details and a chilling aspect of the idea that 'we are not alone' Stephen King packs a powerful punch in his story that is long, yet demands to be read as the evening stretches into the morning as each page was a total entrancer. Being a long time Stephen King fan, I have read almost all Stephen King stories and this one comes out on top above all, no matter how 'weird' it may be.
Anonymous 10 months ago
I've been a Stephen King fan forever! LOVED THIS ONE!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One thing king is not is boring story sucked me in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book when i was about 15 its so good i still think of it to thisday.going to rebuy and re read this. You will not regret the read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This started off a little slow for me, but once it got going, I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book kept me up at night so that i could finish it. A must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago