×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Top of the Rock: Inside the Rise and Fall of Must See TV
     

Top of the Rock: Inside the Rise and Fall of Must See TV

3.7 11
by Warren Littlefield
 

See All Formats & Editions

Seinfeld, Friends, Frasier, ER, Cheers, Law & Order, Will & Grace… Here is the irresistible insiders' account of the greatest era in television history - told by those who made it happen… and watched it all fall apart. Warren Littlefield was the NBC President of Entertainment who oversaw the network's rise from also-ran to one that generated a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Top of the Rock: The Rise and Fall of Must-See TV: An Oral History 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fascinating oral history of the glory days of NBC!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have to really, really love these shows to like this book. Very tedious interviews with producers, execs, and stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
these shows were written by talented writers and because I loved all of them I enjoyed seeing what went on behind the scenes and how they all came about.the vulgar shows that are produced now are written by immature no talent writers.I loved this book as much as I loved all the shows of the past and am glad to be able to continue watching them in reruns.
GWH-VA More than 1 year ago
If you were a fan of the MUST SEE TV years when shows like Seinfeld, Hill Street Blues, ER and Cheers ruled the airwaves, you need to read this book. As the President of NBC's Entertainment Division, Warren Littlefield was one of the geniuses behind that programming. He helped NBC reach the top of the ratings with quality shows that captivated audiences for many seasons. Warren's insight into what happened to that once great empire is like reading about the fall of Rome! Extraordinarily written, this book brings you right to the bargaining table where the wheeling and dealing took place.
RJ118 More than 1 year ago
Wow! This book is AWESOME!! I couldn't put it down. Breezed right through it in like two days! And what is funny, I thought this book would be another hard one to slog through. If you watched, "Frasier", "ER", "Mad About You", "3RD Rock From The Sun" and "Law & Order", this is the behind the scenes book (for you) of how these shows were first an idea, then a script, then casting, and then on the air. Finally an enjoyable easy read book. Do check this one out. I'm passing this one on to a good friend who I know will enjoy this excellently written book as I did. And don't forget the wonderful photograhs too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't even finish this book. It was very dry and I found myself re-reading pages because my mind started to wonder! very disappointing.