×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Torn: Rescuing the Gospel from the Gays-vs.-Christians Debate
     

Torn: Rescuing the Gospel from the Gays-vs.-Christians Debate

4.6 18
by Justin Lee
 

See All Formats & Editions

As a teenager and young man, Justin Lee felt deeply torn. Nicknamed "God Boy" by his peers, he knew that he was called to a life in the evangelical Christian ministry. But Lee harbored a secret: He also knew that he was gay. In this groundbreaking book, Lee recalls the events—his coming out to his parents, his experiences with the "ex-gay" movement,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Torn: Rescuing the Gospel from the Gays-vs.-Christians Debate 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was amazing. Must read for everyone on any side of this "culture war"!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This chronicles a young man who was brought up in a very conservative Christian family and community and is, in fact, a strong believer having his own personal faith in Christ. As he comes into puberty, he realizes he is attracted only to other males and rather than females. He looks very critically and honestly into God's will for him by looking at scripture. Please read this book... it might surprise you...it might not. But his story and resulting ministry is very powerful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unbelievably moving, well-written, well-researched, logical... basically perfect. Thank you, sir, for writing this. Thank you so much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a must read for all of us! Learning my grandson was gay, i immediately wanted to help "change" him and reassure him that we loved him despite his sin. As if i didn't have any of my own. I need to apologize ASAP! This book was easily readable, full of information from "the other side". We need to let these men and women TALK and then we need to LISTEN! READ THIS BOOK!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has been a long time coming. I will be giving this to a lot of people. The best work written on gays and the church.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the way it was written to the last word.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I find it difficult to put into words how helpful this book was to me. I am a Gay Christian struggling thru life, trying to figure out who I am and how to live my life. I cannot thank Justin Lee enough for helping me to understand that I am not alone and that I can be a Christian, even though, I am gay. I would say this is a must read for any one struggling with being gay and for family and friends of a gay person.
Joelds More than 1 year ago
Well written autobiography of the author's personal struggle with his being gay and his strong religious beliefs. The book offers several pearls of spiritual wisdom which itself makes the book worth reading. The book is hard for me to summarize but it was well worth my time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite Justin Lee has known God's love since childhood. He lives his Christianity and it is no secret that this is who he is. He felt the call of the Lord to work in His service and knew that was what he wanted to do with his life. He also knew he was gay, something he kept suppressed for a very long time. Torn: Rescuing the Gospel from the Gays-vs.-Christians Debate is Mr. Lee's story of coming out, struggling with where his beliefs could be found in the Bible, dealing with how people treated him, and how many perspectives there could be in one Body of Christ. Written with the tenderness of heartache and healing, this book helps the reader understand this controversial subject and how God sees it.  It had to take a lot of guts for Justin Lee to write Torn. Anybody who has been put in the awkward situation of one Christian denying another will know how deep from the heart this experience comes. This is a very controversial subject in the church but Justin doesn't make the reader feel like they are in some struggle between wrong or right. He has managed to write his experiences with brotherly love and a passion for God. This would make a great gift for family and friends who struggle with their own or loved ones' personal choices. Libraries would benefit in areas where struggling teens can access the book without worry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago