×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness
  • Alternative view 1 of The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness
  • Alternative view 2 of The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness
     

The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness

4.2 339
by Dave Ramsey
 

See All Formats & Editions

The success stories speak for themselves in this audio book from money maestro Dave Ramsey. Instead of promising the normal dose of quick fixes, Ramsey offers a bold, no-nonsense approach to money matters, providing not only the how-to but also a grounded and uplifting hope for getting out of debt and achieving total financial health.

Ramsey debunks the many myths

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 340 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What I liked best about this book is that it doesn't just rattle off a bunch of things that we should be doing - saving for retirement, paying off credit cards, investing - we already knew what we SHOULD be doing. This book gives you a gameplan and tells you what you should do first and why. For instance, my husband and I want to buy our first home, and we wanted to know if we should pay off our student loans first, or save up for a big down payment. The book prioritizes those types of things. It's easy to read, and it makes perfect sense. Dave tells you how everyone, no matter how bad the debt situation, can get out of debt effectively and move towards building wealth.
ThorsHammer More than 1 year ago
I purchased this to try to make sense out of some pretty deep debt (80k). Paying minimum payments on each card would have me dying before paying everything off. Using Dave Ramsey's snowball method, I've calculated that I can be debt free in February 2011. This has certainly given me a new "lease on life" and I do not feel the weight of the world on my shoulders. It is simple, straight forward, and does not require that you eat rice and beans for eternity. The tables are simple and easy to understand. The only down side to the book is that there is a bit too much fluff.
jas527 More than 1 year ago
Dave Ramsey is a nationally syndicated radio and television host, husband, father, teacher, Christian, and so much more. In the Total Money Make Over, you will learn everything you need to know about getting control of your money, get out of debt, what to do with all the leftover money, and love the people around you. THIS IS HARDCORE TEACHING! SO BE PREPAIRED TO LOOK IN THE MIRROR AND GET FIRED UP!!! If you follow his teaching and principles you will understand that money good or bad is just the tip of the iceberg. As my personal coaches (Mike & Lisa - the couple that gave me this book) keep saying to me, "GOD's economy or man's economy?" It is an understatement to say that this book has revolutionized my existences.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you don't have the money to pay for something, then don't buy it. Sounds simple but how many of us really live this way. Credit cards when not used wisley can lead to personal financial crisis. Until I read this book, I thought I'd be paying off debt for the rest of my life. It wasn't until I read this book that I truly understood that I would have to change the way I live and view money before I could start climbing out of debt.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book several years ago. What an immediate impact it made on me however, after several months 'eerrr, okay, years' of coaxing my wife, she is finally on board. The results are astounding. We have paid off over $100,000 in non-secured debt and are well on our way to being debt free including our $250,000 home. Dave, your consistency in delivering a strong message about debt is appreciated.
BigMommaMV More than 1 year ago
Love Dave Ramsey. I listen to him on the radio and decided to read his book. I thought that I would fall asleep reading a financial book but what it did was wake me up. I read this book from cover to cover in a day and now our family is on Step 2. Thanks Dave Ramsey! I 'm telling everyone I know about your book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was VERY helpful and easy to understand. It definitely motivated me to move forward with the plan he explained!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book and it inspired me to get going with a debt free plan!!! We do not need government bailout/stimulus....we need to help ourselves and be responsible for our lives and finances!!! Great Book, I'm on Baby Step 2, right now and I can't wait for the Debt Free end result. This book will change the way you do things and it will change the way you think.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a CPA, I wish that all my clients would read this book. I don't agree with everything he says, but if the average person would listen and follow him, they would be much better off financially.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I stumbled across this book in the book store before I had ever even hear of Dave Ramsey. I had told everyone I knew about it. This book made me face reality and stop listening to friends and family who had me convinced that debt was just a part of life. This book has done more than put me on the road to financial freedom. It has helped me to not define myself by money. It is just an uplifting book (which is nice when the reality of your debt is getting you down.) This book just gives you direction when you have no idea where to start.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For anyone who has listened to Dave Ramsey on the radio or in person this book may not teach you anything he hasn't already told you. However it's nice to have it all in one place for you to look up any time. For anyone who has debt and has no idea who Dave Ramsey is YOU NEED THIS BOOK! As he explains how to turn your debt into wealth you think to yourself this is so simple. Yet so many people choose to stay in debt. Dave Ramsey teaches you how to pay off your debt, build an emergency fund, and save for college all at the same time. Oh, and possibly pay off your home 10 to 20 years early. He does all this using a process that doesn't overwhelm you, in fact it is done in a way that will keep you motivated throughout the process.
WacoM More than 1 year ago
I don't write reviews. No really I don't. This would be my first book review and I do this for a reason. It really touched me. If you don't want to spend any money, all 7 steps to this book are freely available on Dave Ramsey's website. But this book is more then just the 7 steps. It goes into detail WHY those steps to financial freedom work. The book explains away many myths about credit, fico score, debt, student/car loans etc. It explains why you need an emergency fund and why you really don't need a single credit card. This book is more than just a 7 step process to financial freedom, it's a total remake of your life. I can't recommend this book enough.
Semper_Fidelis More than 1 year ago
I have owned the hardback of this book for quite awhile but found it difficult to make time to read it with a very persuasive three year old daughter always wanting my attention. So, I decided since my work has me on the road driving long distances I decided to buy the audio book. What a great idea that was! This book has opened my eyes to the dangers I (we, my wife and I both) was in with my spending habits and lack of saving. Actually, I already knew that I was in danger, I just didn't know how to do anything about it. I thought (because I have been repeatedly told my entire adulthood) that credit was a way of life and that I would always be in debt to somebody. Well, I learned that it does not have to be that way and I already feel so free! It has done so much for my well being already! My wife and I no longer argue about money, we have a plan now and we are on our way to being debt free. Please! Listen to this audio book (or read the actual book)! It will save you financially and you will be able to "live like no one else" and retire wealthy! I personally liked listening to the audio book over reading it. The audio book is narrated by the author Dave Ramsey and when you hear it from him, in his own words, it makes his message all the more powerful! I have listened to it in the car commuting three times in a row! The one thing I did like about the actual book over the audio book was that in the back it includes all sorts of the budget and other forms that will be very helpful to you when you plan your total money makeover. I am 32 years old and I feel like I found this book at just the right time in my life. However, sometimes I wish I knew some of this when I was younger so I would already be that much closer on the road to financial freedom. Also though, Dave Ramsey lays this book out in a way that works for all ages, even for people in their 50's who are very close to retirement. So, I believe this book is great for all ages! It is never too late to get back on the saddle. Anyway, as you can probably tell, I am not much of a review writer; I just wanted to tell everybody how much this book has helped me and if you are looking at books to help you financially then please for your sake, give this one a try. I know that it will help you too!
Rootster More than 1 year ago
This book is totally worth reading and following if you want to get on a budget and get your debt paid off. He puts things into perspective and makes you really motivated to getting your finances in order. We've really stopped blowing our money and we actually know where it goes now instead of looking at the bills and receipts trying to figure out where it went after we spent it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you truly want to get out of debt this is the book to read, this man has changed my life and in a year I found financial freedom. If I did it anyone can do it, it wasnt easy but I was tired of being a slaved of credit card company's. This book is a MUST.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! Get it! Read it! Get started on your TMMO today! A common sense guide to getting out of debt forever & making your money work for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first read this book, it spoke about people who were thousands of dollars in dept. I am about 10,000 in dept and can't seem to keep a saving's account and we are living pay check to pay check. Now I have saved my 1,000 for my emergency fund. I have also paid halph of my medical bills. I was mostly impressed in how easy it was to save the 1,000. I am also learning what an emergency is. If people who are thousands of dollar's in dept, then I can surly do this. So yes this book really encouraged me. It is very practical so anyone who really wants to get out of dept can do this. And I'm learning how to keep a budget.
Cajunsmama More than 1 year ago
Dave Ramsey incorporated enough humor to make the subject of finances enjoyable and to hold your interest, while providing a good, basic personal financial management program. I've put to use a lot of his program, and found that he's definitely right when he says that if you use cash for most of your daily purchases, i.e. groceries, fuel, clothes, etc., you will save money since it's harder to part with actual cash than to blithely sign your name on a credit card slip you barely look at. Also when you know that you only have so much cash with you, you can't go off the deep end and buy way more than what you have money to cover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think Dave Ramsey has the solution to people's financial difficulties. He has helped thousands of people learn how to get themselves out of debt and into financial freedom. His no nonsense approach to finances, leaves the reader with the tools to gain control of the money that flows in and out of their households. This book is full of practical principles and common sense.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's funny how we learn that you need to have credit no matter what. I've worked in the financial industry for 12 years and I truly see how the game works now. I'm well on my way with the snowball and can't wait to get to the last stage of the plan!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My wife and I started 2 months ago and are well into step two. This really opened our eyes to the money we were wasting. If you have debt, this book is for you! Dave's honesty is refreshing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was the best strategy hands down... The books can relate to any level of personal finance. Ive read a ton of personal finance books, from Orman to Kyosaki and have never been so enamored with such an easy concept. The baby steps go in depth and the focus is always there with stories of others taking the TMMO. Im finally starting to paying off my mortgage.... My wife and I have never been happier. Thanks Dave
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book has really cool principles that can apply to anyone, but mostly to young people that want to start taking care of their money. It really points out that in order to biuld wealth it is necessary to never overspend and always save. The real life stories are boring, repetitive, and pointless. This book is mostly motivational and its main idea is that we must control ourselves and make sacrifices in order achieve our goals.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ramsey's Total Money Makeover is really a souped-up version of his earlier work, Financial Peace. It is a great tool for those new to this kind of thinking. If you are deep in debt and have never read a book on how to be free of debt, this is a good start. Discipline and self-control are key. Ramsey's steps are basic,logical, and doable. In addition, I have purchased copies for my 17-year-old son and nephews to read because I wish I had known these principles when I was a young man. I might be retired now doing nothing but writing books and reviews by now!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wish everyone in America was required to read this book prior to high school graduation. Wouldn't everyone be in better shape? This book is outstanding as a foundation book to build on. The debt reduction techniques and the overall guiding philosophy are superb. However, I strongly disagree with the investment advice, as not everyone belongs in an all equities portfolio. Kudos to Dave for a great book and an excellent support system online and on the radio.