×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Toxic In-Laws: Loving Strategies for Protecting Your Marriage
     

Toxic In-Laws: Loving Strategies for Protecting Your Marriage

4.3 18
by Susan Forward
 

See All Formats & Editions

Susan Forward's practical and powerful book will help couples cope with terrible and toxic in–laws.

Toxic in–laws are in–laws who create genuine chaos through various assaults––aggressive or subtle––on you and your marriage. Toxic–in laws come in a wide variety of guises, " The Critics.; ", who tell you what you're

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Toxic In-Laws: Loving Strategies for Protecting Your Marriage 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book not only validated my feelings about all of the snide and covert things my mother-in-law was doing to undermine me, but was absolutely instrumental in helping my husband see for the first time that the things she was saying/doing shouldn't be 'let go' and 'overlooked'!! Because the book outlines specific guidlines for setting boundaries to protect your marriage and family, he ended up confronting her with me and now even my relationship with my in-laws is better!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
For years my husband responded to his mother's continual harrassment as 'not a big deal,' or 'that's just the way she is.' Well, the 'way she is' was destroying our family. I can't say a paperback solved our problems, but at least made him realize them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was literally on the verge of divorce when I found this book. My spouse stood by while his parents manipulated us, ate up all our time, guilted us into doing whatever they wanted, constantly criticized me and gave endless 'advice' and 'opinions' on how we were raising our children. This book identifies several different poisonous personalities AND gives strategies to rediscover your voice, redefine the boundaries of your marriage, and help your spouse realize that the two of you and your children ARE the family.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are having trouble with your in-laws and this is causing conflict in your marriage, this is certainly a good book to read. You can enjoy reading about the different type of problematic in-laws, their controlling behavior, and how it affects you spouse and in turn your marriage. The book gives different family scenarios and how spouses deal with interference from in laws, from being pressured, and from feeling guilty. Read this book & you will learn some valuable tactics and strategies and have an insight as to what category your problematic in-laws belong to!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here is a book I will have to read five more times... Loads of helpful advice and behavioral strategies that can be used in all aspects of daily life... I will refer back to this for years to come!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In-law problems... This is the book... If you have in-laws that are living & can't pin-point the source of your relationship's short coming, do give this book a read while at the book store. I had to buy it after picking it up. This book has become my prescribed medication for all my married girlfriends. Doesn't matter if you're not cuacasion, I come from a very cultured Asain background and felt every breath of me was suffocating till I found this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book as though it were written about me. It was unbelievable. I am not crazy, these things do happen to other women. I read this book in one day. Outstanding and super helpful. I take my hat off to Susan because she gave typical instances and then guided me on how to react calmly and logically. Very helpful. I'm going to give this book to my mother-in-law for Christmas!