×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom
     

Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom

4.3 9
by Van Tharp
 

See All Formats & Editions

The bestselling holy grail of trading information-now brought completely up to date to give traders an edge in the marketplace

“Sound trading advice and lots of ideas you can use to develop your own trading methodology.”-Jack Schwager, author of Market Wizards and The New Market Wizards

This trading masterpiece has been fully updated to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOTONtech More than 1 year ago
This book tells you how to go about defining your own 'trading strategy' or 'trading system'. It really helped me to define my own trading system, which I subsequently wrote about.

The most inspirational chapters for me were:

CHAPTER 9 Knowing When to Fold 'Em: How to Protect Your Capital
CHAPTER 10 How to Take Profits
CHAPTER 12 What Do You Mean Position Sizing? I Only Have $10,000 in My Account.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I say develop a 'safe' trading system, not because trading is risk-free, but because Dr Tharp considers how to protect against the downside risk by effective position sizing, setting stop-loss orders etc. This book does not give you a complete trading system out of the box, but it helps you develop your own.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a successful trader, but not to the degree I would like (I am not making a living off of it yet :-) Thus I picked up Tharp's book because of his reputation and because I realize I need to hone my trading system. However, he spends most of the book convincing me I need a system... I would definately recommend this book because if you do not know the concepts covered in this book you WILL fail in trading. But most of the book is spent trying to convince the reader of the importance of these concepts. The trading systems that the authors uses for comparison are very poor and the base topics are only given superficial coverage. Best example, I chose this book based on the fact that it had a chapter designated to position-sizing but the authors spends multiple chapters telling the reader how important this concept is and just one small chapter on strategy. Because I already use a % of equity method now, half that chapter wasn't much help... I don't want to say the book is for beginners because the concepts covered must be understood and practiced by beginners and pros alike. However, I believe, any experienced trader who hasn't at least learned the importance of the concepts covered should possibly consider doing something different...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I came across Van Tharp's book in the library. I read and checked out lots of books about day trading and electronic trading. I was a novice and knew absolutely nothing about trading. I was so impressed with Van Tharp's book that I read it from cover to cover and even did most of the exercises outlined in both of his books. His books are a must read for anyone currently day trading or considering to do so. I learned so much and in plain english too. Most of the other books on day trading are garbage and fanciful. Tharp's books are a rare find for the day trader that sees trading as a profession and not as a gambling circus. Thanks Dr. Tharp!