×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Transformation of Things: A Novel
  • Alternative view 1 of The Transformation of Things: A Novel
  • Alternative view 2 of The Transformation of Things: A Novel
     

The Transformation of Things: A Novel

4.3 10
by Jillian Cantor
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A provocative novel that raises fascinating questions about marriage and how to find our way back when love falters. Thoroughly original, highly engaging, and wonderfully tender.”
—Laura Fitzgerald, author of Veil of Roses

The Transformation of Things is an elegant and involving page-turner….Part mystery, part

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Transformation of Things 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book in one sitting.....One of the best books I've read in a long time! Going nook shipping right now to buy another title by this author. No spoilers coming from me, but I do want to say that I honestly have an appreciation for my husband and son that I have been taking for granted.... Don't miss this one!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mommaofthreeloves More than 1 year ago
good read nice unexpected twist enjoy!
BookLoveBlog More than 1 year ago
"The Transformation Of Things" is a haunting account of ordinary lives and the things that make us see them in a new light. Some Chick Lit novels are obvious to read. Not this one. The way that Jillian Cantor left me hanging every chapter was astounding. Real relationships are never as clean cut and definite as when they are portrayed in novels. However, throughout this novel I could never decide on the outcome of the main character's relationship. Despite this, the ending left me blind sighted even though it was set up from the beginning. Jennifer Levenworth is an incredibly relatable heroine, as all good Chick Lit characters should be. Her husband is distant and never around. She fills her life with "meaningful things", but has incredible loneliness and against. What sets Jen apart from the usual Chick Lit heroine are her perceptions. She is unhappy with the facade of her life and sets off to sort it out. But the answers are never clear or easy. Her process is natural and often reminded me of the way that I face similar difficulties in my life. The way she faced and resolved her problems was both satisfying and rewarding. I particularly like how Jillian Cantor used dreams as a way to illustrate fantasy without making the book twinge on science fiction. Reality is only an illusion in life and in this plot. My only complaint is that the last few chapters buttoned up the story too neatly. Since the messy, realistic way the characters handled themselves appealed to me, having everything explained off was a little too pretty. This is not to detract from how amazing the unanticipated ending is. Conclusion: A bit of fantasy, a bit of reality, and a bit of soul searching, "The Transformation Of Things" is definitely a page-turner. Jillian Cantor's elegant writing and witty story weaving will leave you wondering what will happen next. This is definitely a Chick Lit novel not to be missed!
daniels_mommy04 More than 1 year ago
"The Transformation Of Things" is a haunting account of ordinary lives and the things that make us see them in a new light. Some Chick Lit novels are obvious to read. Not this one. The way that Jillian Cantor left me hanging every chapter was astounding. Real relationships are never as clean cut and definite as when they are portrayed in novels. However, throughout this novel I could never decide on the outcome of the main character's relationship. Despite this, the ending left me blind sighted even though it was set up from the beginning. Jennifer Levenworth is an incredibly relatable heroine, as all good Chick Lit characters should be. Her husband is distant and never around. She fills her life with "meaningful things", but has incredible loneliness and against. What sets Jen apart from the usual Chick Lit heroine are her perceptions. She is unhappy with the facade of her life and sets off to sort it out. But the answers are never clear or easy. Her process is natural and often reminded me of the way that I face similar difficulties in my life. The way she faced and resolved her problems was both satisfying and rewarding. I particularly like how Jillian Cantor used dreams as a way to illustrate fantasy without making the book twinge on science fiction. Reality is only an illusion in life and in this plot. My only complaint is that the last few chapters buttoned up the story too neatly. Since the messy, realistic way the characters handled themselves appealed to me, having everything explained off was a little too pretty. This is not to detract from how amazing the unanticipated ending is. Conclusion: A bit of fantasy, a bit of reality, and a bit of soul searching, "The Transformation Of Things" is definitely a page-turner. Jillian Cantor's elegant writing and witty story weaving will leave you wondering what will happen next. This is definitely a Chick Lit novel not to be missed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alyssa217 More than 1 year ago
My book club chose this book for December. It's a fast-paced read. I read the whole thing in one night. This book looks at whether other people's lives are really what we think they are, and I am still thinking about this question.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Deerfield, Pennsylvania Jennifer Levenworth is at the salon getting her hair done when her husband is on the TV news. His appearance on the air is not unexpected as Will is the local district attorney, but the reason is a shocker. The reporter states Will has been charged with accepting bribes. Stunned, Jennifer races home to be with Will. He has resigned and plea bargained to avoid prison. Jennifer finds her life has transformed back to what it was before they moved to the burbs and joined the country club set. Returning to Philadelphia, she hopes to regain the job she gave up and reconcile with her former BFF working mom Kat who she dumped when she fled the city. However, Jennifer struggles with returning to her former lifestyle and her marriage is at best shaky as her spouse is psychotically mute. Her father refuses to talk to her as if she is an embarrassment and her sister is busy raising a horde. Then there are the dreams when she sleeps to keep her further off balance. This is a terrific character study that focuses on a woman who has fallen into humiliation as she deals the fallout with loved ones from her husband's felonious activity. The story line is obviously character driven as Jennifer finds her life shattered but also cannot feel for or even understand her disgraced spouse as she holds him culpable when he needs emotional support. Ironically she comprehends her father's reaction but not Will's withdrawal. Although the twisting end seems as far out of place as Pennsylvania is from Florida because it does not fit with what has gone on before, fans will enjoy The Transformation of Things especially lifestyles. Harriet Klausner
kimss330 More than 1 year ago
I had to force myself to finish reading this book. It's a very slow-moving and predictable read. I was intrigued by the summary but was quite disappointed once I got a few chapters in...