×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Trapped
  • Alternative view 1 of Trapped
  • Alternative view 2 of Trapped
     

Trapped

3.6 229
by Michael Northrop
 

See All Formats & Editions


The day the blizzard started, no one knew that it was going to keep snowing for a week. That for those in its path, it would become not just a matter of keeping warm, but of staying alive. . . .

Scotty and his friends Pete and Jason are among the last seven kids at their high school waiting to get picked up that day, and they soon realize that no one is coming

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Trapped 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 229 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trapped is about a group of teens caught in their high school during an enormous blizzard. They are in deep trouble, and the trouble keeps getting deeper with every hour! The storm lasts for almost a week, so they have to figure out how to get along and survive inside the school. It's interesting to think about both what they do right and what they do wrong. The narrator is a basketball player named Scotty Weems. His little asides and observations are sometimes funny, but the snow keeps falling so the pressure keeps rising right up till the end.
AberrantBooks-13yr-girl More than 1 year ago
OH GOLLY! Well lets start out by saying this book is beautiful, and I was extremely excited to start digging into the so called page turning novel. I ordered this book along with Beastly- a fantastic novel go check it out. I started and finished, and the results? Not what I expected what-so-ever. Northrop conveys the story of Scotty who is trapped in Tattawa High school along with his best friends Pete and Jason. Krista and Julie the "hotties" are also a part of this maverick bunch. Les; the school bully and Elijah; the weird kid that is placed in the goth category are also a part of this calamitous seven. There is a history teacher trapped along with them, but he is too deficient and ends up leaving out into the noxious snow- to supposedly get help. He is never mentioned nor triumphantly comes back for the kids. So I assume he dies, which doesn't tear jerk me since he is way to conceited to think about the kids before himself. The kids main priority should be getting help right? Somewhat wrong. All Jason cares about is making his way down the the shop room and working on a snow mobile which comes up in the story dilatorily. So everything starts shutting down, the lights, heat, water, and the roof ironically decides to start falling. It even gets up to twenty feet of snow, IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE? I was mislead and disappointed in this book. Micheal even states early on "Not everyone made it in the end." Which yes, is true. But it only is like this because of a arrogant decision. This book is 2/5 stars for me. I wish I spent my- what?- 11 dollars on this book on a more memorable novel. Without so much cheese, and more what the story is told to be. Action, page turning, and the teeny bit of a romance is what I expected this to be. It's none of the above, it's way to short to tell a story like this in, but the pages are continuously filled with stuff that is totally nugatory. Don't spend the money on this please- do not do what I did. While this idea was splendid and prolific, it was poorly written. May I ask, Why is this book under MUST READS? ( A book review written by a thirteen year old girl who extensively read magnificent books, but must review the bad one's too.)
Erica Baker More than 1 year ago
The ending made me so frustrated it could have been an amazing book but the ending just killed it. Really dissapointed when I turned the page and realized it was the end of the story.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
An incredible Nor'easter hits Little River, leaving seven high school students and one teacher stranded at Tattawa Regional High School. Officials schedule an early dismissal, hopefully sending students home safely, but each of the remaining seven students has some reason for staying behind. No one really believes the storm will be as bad as predicted. Five boys and two girls sit with their teacher watching the snow fall. As it comes down faster and heavier, they all begin to regret their decisions to stay behind. When they see what looks to be a snowplow on the highway near the school, the teacher heads out to intercept it. He disappears in the blizzard and is never seen again. With cell phone service interrupted by the storm, the students have no way to contact their loved ones, so they begin to make the best of what they hope will be a temporary situation. They gather food from the cafeteria and blankets from the nurse's office. A transistor radio provides their only connection with the outside world. The snow piles up past the windows of the first floor, so the group moves to the second story. When the power goes out and the batteries on the emergency lights eventually run out, at least they will still have light coming in through the windows. With no heat left in the old building, they use materials from the shop class supplies to get a fire going in one of the rooms, hoping to generate enough heat to melt snow for water and provide a minimum of warmth. Now what remains is to stay positive and be civil with one another until someone comes to rescue them. Unfortunately, none of them considered the weight of the snow on the aging building's roof, the tension of being together 24/7, and the tragedy that would happen when one of them tries to go for help. Considering the massive snowstorms parts of the nation have endured this winter, this book truly hits home. Author Michael Northrop has created a frightening but intriguing adventure that will spark fear in the hearts of teens. High school has enough pitfalls without the worry of being hopelessly stranded there with no way to contact the outside world. TRAPPED is sure to be a success long after the snow melts and Spring arrives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Trapped" gave me the chills. Eerie, compelling, and wonderfully well-written, the book follows an interesting set of characters through a rough natural disaster. Northrop kept me turning the pages, seeing the snow grow with each passing chapter (literally...the clever book design has each new chapter starting higher and higher on the page as the snow in the writing accumulates). Really, a must-read!
GiaGiaGia610 More than 1 year ago
The description of the book was more interesting than the book itself. The author droned on and on and on... I continued reading, hoping the climax would be worth the bland first part of the book, never happened.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This a book that you will put down and still be thinking about days later. Northrop spins a seriously suspenseful tale. You really feel like you're in the shoes of the trapped teens -- What would you eat to stay alive? How would you do to stay warm? How would you deal? As for the other reviews criticizing the ending: Yes, it is abrupt. But I can only hope this means there is a possible sequel in the future? In the meantime, I'll use my imagination...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read thus book because so many people told me it was a great suspensible book...it was the complete opposite. Unless you want to completely bore yourself with 200 pages ofthe worst book evrr DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!! This book has absolutely no suspense and is completely boring and just goes on and on forever. And t top that off the book has an extremely depressing ending. So basically there is nothing good about this book...not even a happy ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was terrible for a number a reasons! The book had a borring storyline that was not a joy to read.It was very predictable and short. I would not recomend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it would be more exciting. Didn't like the ending. (Spoiler alert) Don't know what happened to the rest of the group. One can guess they were rescued but no info was given as to what happened to their parents and others. Not my fave.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am baffled at how this has five and four star reviews at all. Frankly I've read much, much better fanfiction. I'm unsure how this was even published, let alone published hardback. Let's go over the many, many problems, shall we? Characters. What characters? In all 170 pages the kids in this story don't make me care about them at all. They are flat, uninteresting stereotypes, and the main character seems more interested in getting into the pants of one of the 'hotties' than, you know, surviving this deadly winter storm. Speaking of, is it even possible to get twenty feet of snow in America? Ten feet I have heard of, albeit in Canada, and if the plot was at all strong I would have been able to suspend my disbelief on the weather conditions. Oh, and lets continue. At the very beginning the main character talks about how people die. One person dies. Twenty pages from the end. For no conceivable reason, plot or other wise. It was pure stupidity. And you know what? I didn't even care. The ending its self was a poorly executed Deus Ex Machina. I was led to believe this would be a survival horror, but honestly if the kids involved weren't idiots and perhaps actual characters there wouldn't have been much issue. Ditto, the single teacher mentioned at the beginning who left to get hope and then vanished from the plot and essentially the characters minds. Please, do not waste your time or money on this. If you're looking for other much better books with a similar premise (surviving a natural disaster) go for the books linked in the recommendations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is alright, it's pretty basic. A page turner but slow at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horrible ending i had get to get a new book to do my book report on because this just didnt cut it. Very disappointed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont get me wrong the beginig of this book was awesome but the ending was HORRIBLE!!! I mean it literly just ends you dont even get to find out what happens to the other people! Did they die? We dont know cuz it just ends! This is te first book that i have ever red the realy got me mad. Begining: awesome Middle: wondering if there is gonna be a 2nd Ending: EVIL!!!
David Rousseau More than 1 year ago
It was good, but the ending simply failed and the characters could have had their adventures through the school described more. The snowmobile thing was stupid, if it wasnt balenced right, jason or whoever would have said so.
Bookworm007RH More than 1 year ago
It wasn't the best book i have ever read. I agree it was dissapointing at the end. And the characters were had to connect to. Over all it was ok
Ally Morinviall More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was a little hard to get into but after that it was amazing.
Melancholy_M More than 1 year ago
Well, This book had a lot of potential, but in the end it failed completely. We never really get to know the characters- even the main character! This is particularly bad considering that this book is written in third person. This book is only 170 pages and could stand to be a lot longer. I was looking forward to a good book of survival horror but found myself dissapointed. What's worse, in the very beginning there is an insnuation that people will die. This is followed through with- about twenty pages before the end of the book. It feels like the author got bored half way through writing the book an dsloppily takce don an ending. They are only in the school for three days! And the ending was terrible too. It was another hastily tacked on bit to an already woefully dissapointing story. I wish that I paid attention to one of the bad reviews this book got. It was a waste of money. I wish I'd bought 'The Vampire Lestat' instead. If you must rea dthis, go to the library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You get to the good part, where one makes it out then it just ends! So many questions
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book deserves a lot better reviews. I normally do not write my own, but, as I read through the reviews, I felt that this book was not getting all the credit it deserves. I have reread it numerous times since I enjoyed it so much. It was originally chosen for a school book report, but I enjoy it as a pleasure read as well. It is about 7 highschool students trapped in their school during a snow storm that seems to last forever. For me, it was hard to put down. I suggest it for a younger audience, teens, because you can relate to the characters and it is just more enjoyable. It is well worth it. Yes, it does have an unexpecred ending where you are left craving more, and the author doesnt exactly explain how or if everyone is rescued. But I dont want to give anything away. What I can say is that it is pretty obvious how the story wraps up and this is no reason for you not to read it. This is a great read.