×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Travel Team
  • Alternative view 1 of Travel Team
  • Alternative view 2 of Travel Team
     

Travel Team

4.4 232
by Mike Lupica
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mike Lupica sinks a three-pointer with this #1 New York Times bestselling basketball novel for any kid who has been told he's not good enough.

Twelve-year-old Danny Walker may be the smallest kid on the basketball court—but don't tell him that. Because no one plays with more heart or court sense. But none of that matters when he is cut from his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Travel Team 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 232 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No one knows how much heart this kid has. Danny is the shortest kid at his age of 12. He tries out for Middletown’s travel boys’ team. Yet he didn’t make he didn’t make it because of his height. So his father Richie Walker decides he was going to make a second Middletown travel boys’ team. Anyone at the right age could try out. Now after a few weeks of practicing for both teams they decided to have a scrimmage instead of practice for one night. So after a couple quarters, something astonishing happens. Both Danny and the point guard for the other travel team both go up for a rebound. Except Danny accidently pushes him a little too hard and he takes a nasty fall. Read more to find out what happens. This book as to be one of the best books I ever read. It’s full of heart, tragedies, and just plain fun. I would recommend to anyone who has a dream of becoming something nobody thinks you can. Also for anyone who as an interest in basketball this book would be a great book for u to read. This book is also full of suspense. So anyone who likes suspense and a really good realistic fiction book this book is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im in the middle of the book right now but the auther gave alot of detail so its really exciting. This book is GREAT!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mike Lupica's Travel Team is a novel for any and all sports lovers. The book begins with Richie Walker in a car accident and that event affects the whole entire family. Danny Walker steps up to the plate and decides to take hold of his team and lead them through the rough times. Mike Lupica's book is a book that some readers might have troubles putting the book down. The novel teaches values more important that just leading your basketball team, it teaches how to gain responsibility even at a young age and that anyone can be a leader. Danny Walker is a great example of being called small and showing that being small isn't what is inside of him. Great Book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really good book. Maybe some girls would look at it and not understand some stuff, but I'm a girl and I understood it. Anyways, it is a really good book. Buy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the exciting book Travel Team by Mike Lupica it talks about a long time whose dream is to become a player on the school team. Follow on his journey to become a great player. This has to be one of Mike Lupica’s best books EVER. I THINK THAT Mike Lupica put a lot of time into this book it is good big time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book i totally recomend it if ur a bball fan!!! :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oustanding book. You will laugh you will cry and i promise you will love this book
Tammy Enea More than 1 year ago
if u r a boy or girl looking 4 a great sports book.... this is defs the book 2 choose!!!! i also think that if u r interested in baseball u shud read heat by mike lupica. it is defenitly a good read!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book
NoahJ0 More than 1 year ago
This book is about a guy named Danny and he is in 7th grade. He tried out for the 7th grade travel team, but he didn't make it because he was too short. His dad, who has a drinking problem, came into town and after hearing this decided to make his own team with the other kids who didn't make the travel team. The book talks about the struggles that go on through the team and it shows the progress of the Warriors starting as a bad team to them finally winning the championship. I liked the book on some of the things that go on and how many kids these days have to go through things like that. I didn't like how predictable it was though. I would recommend this book mainly to people between the ages of 10- 15ish.
Jared Sterling More than 1 year ago
If you like sports this would be the book for.PS you should also read a nother book called heat by Mike Lupica.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Annabeth
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The overveiw is 39 little pages long
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kind of wierd but ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Poop
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Travel ball is awesome an underdog story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GREAT BOOK OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love reading this book its a really good. MUST READ IT!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ive ever read waiting for third one cmon mike write another one
Matt Moretz More than 1 year ago
a great book i would recomend to others
robin anthony More than 1 year ago
i wud buy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book that will keep u wanting more i love mike lupica and his sport theme books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi I am Jenna I was wondering if anyone could give me a review on this book? I love basketball by the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe everybody should read “Travel Team” by Mike Lupica. I agree with Stephen that this was a great story with many surprises and a marvellous storyline. The story was about a boy named Danny Walker who got cut from his travel team because he was too small. Throughout the story Danny shows how perseverance and determination can get you passed any obstacle. In the beginning of the story, Danny got cut from his travel team because he was too small. Danny was not going to let that stand in the way of him playing basketball. So his dad who was an NBA player decides to start and new team and put them in the same league as the travel team Danny got cut from. Danny worked harder and harder and improved his game greatly. At the end it turns how Danny being small did not affect the way he played the game and he showed that he was a great player.”Travel Team” also has a huge affect on the reader. This book is based on a middle school boy who got cut from his travel team. Danny is proved to be an inspiration for kids who have been cut from teams because they were too small. This book certainly inspired me to never give up even if people tell me that I am not good enough. It is easy to say that Danny is an inspiration for everyone. This story also has a great plot centralized about a middle school boy who is too small to play for his travel team. Throughout the story Danny encounters many new friends and shows a great love for the game of basketball. It was a great heartfelt story about a middle school kid who was determined to show everyone that height should never stop you from reaching your goals. My favorite character throughout the book was Danny. In the beginning of the story, Danny got cut from his travel team because he was too small. Danny never let that stand in his way as he was determined to work hard and prove everybody wrong. Before the championship game between Danny’s team and the travel team, the coach of Danny’s team Richie suffered a bad injury and wasn’t able to make it to the game. Danny was very nervous about how the team would play without their head coach. He told Danny to just play his game and he did. When it was game time nothing stood in the way of Danny as he took the court. Danny ended up winning the game for his team proving himself worthy of being on the travel team. As you can tell Danny is a very determined person which is why he is my favorite character. My favorite part of the book was when Danny was visiting Richie in the hospital, and Richie mentioned that he would not be able to make it to the championship game. Danny asked who would be our coach and Richie said,”I got a guy in mind who’d be perfect”(Lupica 176). This one quote really got me into the book thinking that Danny is going to have to coach the team as well as play in it. This quote seemed to have inspired Danny to play even harder so he could prove the travel team wrong and win for his dad who is in the hospital. Being a player myself I know how great it feels when coach has so much confidence in you that he knows you can call a perfect game. That quote really just gave me chills as if I was the person receiving those commands from my coach. As you can tell everybody should read “Travel Team” by Mike Lupica. Tim T
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Your eyes with stick on the book like Glue.                                 I give the book 5 stars I chose Travel Team By Mike Lupica because sport books are mostly what I read and I like Mike Lupica Books. I thought that the book would be about a basketball travel team. I expected it to be about a kid that would go all around the world playing with one of the best basketball  travel teams. I felt amazing when I was reading the story. No feelings have change for me on the book when i finished it. The main character in the story is Danny a boy that height was not his friend and he was challenged with how small he was. His mom who was very caring as a single mother. And his dad who really didn't make human contact with him. Danny was a small point guard he couldn't really shoot because of his height. But he could pass like there was no better person. He would practice outside every night on his shot and his dribbling skills. The story is about Danny he was trying to get on a travel team. The book is a realistic-fiction book.  I related to the book very well because I did the things that he did when I was that age and that makes me think of the old times and that makes me happy. And I have been to many tryouts for many different travel teams so I can relate with Danny. So in closing the book was amazing and even better if you like Mike Lupica. So I would recommend this book to you but the age would be in between 9-22 years of age.