×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Travels in Siberia
     

Travels in Siberia

3.8 36
by Ian Frazier
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Dazzling Russian travelogue from the bestselling author of Great Plains

In his astonishing new work, Ian Frazier, one of our greatest and most entertaining storytellers, trains his perceptive, generous eye on Siberia, the storied expanse of Asiatic Russia whose grim renown is but one explanation among

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Travels in Siberia 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Pat2121 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most engrossing, enjoyable and fulfilling books I've read in years. I happened to receive an advance copy from a friend who told me he thought it was amazing, and I couldn't agree more. Mr. Frazier spent an enormous amount of time studying the history of Russia, learning the language, and traveling throughout Siberia. What he gives is a combination of his own experience of the country during these trips, his encounters with many fascinating characters, including the two men he drove with on the longest, cross-Siberia trip, as well as the amazing landscape, the rivers, Lake Baikal (the world's deepest and second largest lake), the forests, the swamps, the cold, the mosquitos, and so much more. He integrates these experiences and descriptions with the equally remarkable history of Siberia as the land of exile. He goes deeply into the story of the Decembrists-the soldiers who revolted against Nicholas I in the 1820's and failed, many of them then being exiled to Siberia. He also visits one of Stalin's infamous prison camps, and his description of this is truly moving. Also, the book is just beautifully written. There is so much more to praise, but I'll just close by saying I couldn't recommend a book more highly. It is truly a masterpiece.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I traveled in Siberia last summer, and I loved it. When I saw this book, I had to read it. Frazier writes with wit and the studies eye of a curious traveler. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves to travel or has a passion for Russia.
scloyd More than 1 year ago
I looked at some of the locations through the photographs on Google maps. I could not see the actual things that Mr. Frazier described, but it gave me a good visual idea of the cities and villages. My favorite parts were his adventures, mis-adventures and the people he met along the way. I definitely will read again in the future.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book about Siberia, a place you never hear much about, and the author's loveof all things Russian, which comes under a great deal of scrutiny and reflection. The humor is mild ( a rarity, since much travel writing is based on bad experiences, which he modestly plays down). It is a very companionable book, worth savoring.
Anonymous 5 months ago
One of the best books ever! I could not put this one down! You will love following the author on his travels.
Sara_Goff More than 1 year ago
I appreciated the pieces of history and literature mixed into Frazier's travel stories. His writing voice blends just enough humility and authority to make reading his work like having a long chat with an intelligent friend. The way he connects historical events to ordinary, yet outstanding people he admires, people I wouldn't have heard of otherwise, makes his look into the past feel more like a memoir. Having spent some time in Russia, I smiled reading about the discomforts he endured. Frazier is an honest, personable author with a gift for seeing the details in life we overlook and giving them significance. Whether you're hoping to learn something new about our world or just laugh, I recommend reading Travels in Siberia.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading about Russia, and this one didn't let me down. A very knowledeable writer did a great job of expanding my knowledge of a rather esoteric subject. I'll reread it some day just to experience empathy for the victims and awe and wonder about the perpetrators of the gulag.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LordVader More than 1 year ago
I am pleased with the author's efforts and his mania about Siberia. I too would like to go see it, once the clean restroom shortage is dealt with. I greatly enjoyed the history lessons embedded in the travel story. I look forward to readining more by Ian Frazier. PS - I wish it had more photographs. Many more. The author's descriptions made me want to see all the people he encountered.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago