×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Treasuring Emma (Middlefield Family Series #1)
     

Treasuring Emma (Middlefield Family Series #1)

4.1 40
by Kathleen Fuller
 

See All Formats & Editions

Emma always put the needs of others ahead of her own. When will it be her turn to be treasured?

Adam was her first love and best friend. But then he went away. Determined to experience the freedom of living in the Englisch world, he left Emma heart-broken. How could he have chosen the world over her?

Now Adam is back in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Treasuring Emma 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Each of the characters were at different places in their lives. None were perfect but then none of.us are. Each struggling to find what God's plan is for their life. Seemingly at odds with each other. Longing for what we all do in our own lives. Love, loss, trust, forgiveness and faith. Having lost my.parents within 15 months of each other and being at pdds with my younger brothers, Emily and Clara's struggles and frustration with each other as they try to find common ground was
wfnren More than 1 year ago
Loved this story Emma Shetler doesn't know if she'll ever get used to losing those she loves, first her father three years ago, now her mother to cancer and in between, two years ago, the love of her life Adam Otto walked away to go live among the Englishers. She did still have her beloved grandmother, her father's mom, and her sister Clara, who she didn't get along with very often, and her family. Leona, her grandmother, and Emma have piles of medical bills to pay along with the expense of keeping the farm up, her horse, Dill, is lame and can't pull her buggy. Things don't look good, the bills just seem to keep piling up. Unbeknownst to Emma, Leona has written to Adam to let him know about Emma's mom and to tell him that there is something wrong with his mother. She isn't sure what, but she thinks it would be a good idea if he came to check up on her. Adam does come to Middlefield against his better judgment, when he left it was not on good terms with his dad, but he had to see his mom for himself. To say the least, Emma is surprised to see Adam and even more surprised when she finds out it was her grandmother that asked him to return. He tries to help her by checking on Dill and anything else she needs, she refuses any help. She's afraid to let herself get used to having him around only to have him leave again. Clara dislikes Adam even more than Emma, she has contempt for him. After the funeral Peter King, Clara's husband, invites Emma and Leona to move in with them. This irritates Clara because they can't afford two more mouths to feed. Peter's been out of work for a long time, their pantry is about empty and they only have two bedrooms, one for their two boys and baby Magdalena was still in their bedroom. When Peter's cousin Mark shows up on their doorstep she gets mad that Peter asks him to stay on with them. She'd just explained things to Peter about their situation, as if he didn't know, but since he's family Peter feels he has to offer. Now Peter, Clara, Junior, Melvin & Magdalena were all in one bedroom. Mark soon befriends Clara though and backs her up about an idea to turn her grandfather's wood shop into a yarn and fabric store. Emma strongly disagrees, that would mean selling her grandfathers tools and she couldn't stand losing all the memories after just losing her mom. Even though Adam is back and trying to be her friend again and help her around the farm, Emma knows he'll leave soon. Clara doesn't trust Adam and thinks it might be a good idea for Mark to get to know Emma, after all he's family and Adam isn't. Adam doesn't trust Mark, Mark doesn't like the way Adam acts around the family, and Emma really wants nothing to do with either of them. When Emma's grandmother gets sick and has to stay in the hospital for two weeks a lot of things happen around the farm, some very devastating things. You will want to find out for yourself. I really enjoyed this book, it always interests me when people leave the Amish and have to come back home when they are under the bann. I have seen banned people treated different ways and it's interesting as to why they left in the first place and what their feelings are once they return. I purchased this book because I received the second one in the series, Faithful to Laura, to review and I think it's so much better when you can read the books in order. I will say that I'm looking forward to reading the second book and I'm not telling you how she fits in the first book.
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
This is a book that you want to get to the end to find out what happens, but you never want it to end! It is Emma's and Adam's story, along with a lot of family! The book opens at the home of Emma and her Grandmother, just after burying Emma's Mom Mary. Adam has left being Amish and was embracing the English life, or was he? When Leona, Emma's Grandmother, writes him to tell of Mary's passing and that his Mom Carol has not been well, he decides to come home for a visit. Emma is trying to figure out what to do now that he Mom has passed, and she has a lot of bills to pay. Her sister Clara, now wants to turn her Grandfather's shed into a Fabric Shop. Adam was her "lost Love", her heart is torn in so many directions. Makes you wonder if things are ever going to work out? Enter Clara and Peter's cousin Mark, who appears to have taken an interest in Emma? There is a lot of suspense and scary things going on, you will not be able to put it down. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Story The story centers around two families; one consisting of a grandmother, Emma, a single granddaughter who was considered an old maid and her married sister, Clara. Emma had cared for her ill mother until she had died just a few days before the story began. Clara and her husband, Peter, were going through a difficult time -- she thought their house was too small with three children, he had been out of work for many months and their money was almost gone. Emma, was still nursing her broken heart since the boy she loved, Adam, had decided to leave the Amish ways almost two years earlier. All the characters were at different stages in their spiritual life and were not trusting God as they should have been. Unexpectedly, one day Adam received a letter from Emma and Clara's grandmother indicating his mother was not well. He rushed home to see what was wrong and found a lot was wrong -- with those he loved as well as with himself. I did finish this book in a few hours but enjoyed reading it as it did have a couple of twists and turns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReenaJacobs More than 1 year ago
I know the book was supposed to be about Emma, but my first major thoughts about the book were, what in the world is going on with Emma’s sister, Clara? She lived in an Amish community where I thought materialism was frowned upon. Yet here was a woman who seemed obsessed with finances. I loved how human she was. I completely sympathized with Clara and her husband, Peter. I’ve been were Clara was, fretting over the lack of money, wondering what I could do to relieve the financial stress, feeling trapped in a situation with no respite. It was nice to see members of the Amish community portrayed as less than pure. This does not mean at all I want to see them fail. It’s just comforting to know they face similar demons as the Englisch, yet still find the Godly strength to overcome the trials. Then there was Clara’s wandering eyes. Truly she seemed like a fair weather friend: with her husband during good times, but seeking elsewhere for companionship during rough times. She wasn’t at all endearing, yet I felt sorry for her and her inability to find joy. Lucky for Clara, Mark (Peter’s cousin) was more than willing to fill her need for companionship… maybe. Mark was an anomaly in the story. I didn’t get him. Was he a sociopath? I remember thinking at one time, the only thing which could keep this from being a 5 star read is if Mark didn’t pan out. He did well and had sufficient motivation for his villainous ways. So I’ve talked about everyone but Emma… almost. Granny was awesome too. So Emma. The poor girl was tugged in every direction. She knew what she wanted (most of the time) and had no problem expressing herself. Yet she was constantly bombarded with the desires of others, and put under pressure to make a choice between what she thought was best for her peace of mind and what would please others. She faced a tough struggle. She knew others imposed on her unfairly, but her Amish upbringing valued putting others before self. I just loved the realistic, worldly problems in the Amish setting. The introduction of a final character toward the end, Laura, was a bit shaky in the presentation, but overall, I quite enjoyed myself. I’m definitely curious about this Laura gal. Hopefully she’ll be the star in the sequel. 4.5-5 out of 5 stars. I received this work from the publisher in exchange for a review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sunshineJB More than 1 year ago
Treasuring Emma had me from page one. When I had to put the book down I couldn't wait to pick it back up. Emma Shetler's story begins with the death of her Mother. Emma feels completely dead inside. It was Emma and her Grandmother Leona now. Of course there was Clara, her Sister, but they had never gotten along. Clara, her husband Peter and their three children lived in their own little house not too far from Emma and her Grandmother's. Emma's first love and best friend Adam left the Amish community two years ago breaking Emma's heart. She had loved Adam. Adam didn't feel the same way or he would never have left. Emma knew she was a little on the heavy side and thought of herself as homely. Who would love her? The author from the beginning of the book and throughout the book right up until the end made it a point to teach us that God will provide if we only allow Him to. It is about turning everything over to Him in complete Faith. As you will read in the book several characters in the book were not doing this. Will they eventually do this? I think another lesson to take away from this book is lasting love. Do we treasure the love we share in our own relationships? Did the characters in this book treasure the love in their relationships? This is a book you won't want to miss!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BaronBookReview More than 1 year ago
I love books about the Amish. For some reason, their lifestyle & faith are very interesting to me. I imagine what it would be like to live that life but then realize it would be impossible after growing up Englisch. Treasuring Emma adds a twist to the usual Amish book. It's not the straight-forward young Amish girl looking to find a husband and how they make their romantic journey together. The "bann" has always intrigued me and how the Amish people can disown their own family. And if they have "banned" that person, how they can take them back into the fold and not cause disharmony among them. I believe in forgiveness and that people can change but treating them as if nothing happened is hard for me to comprehend. As with non-Amish, Emma grows through turmoil and seeks God's help in her life's plan. We think that Amish families are perfect and don't know heartache and family issues, but we see in Treasuring Emma that it's just not true. Emma's faith will help her through these issues and she realizes it's HIS plan and he will reveal it to her eventually. While the story line was good, there were a couple disconnects with a couple characters. I think the author could have done more with with a couple story lines about Emma's sister's relationship as well as Adam's mother. Maybe they are left open for a second book in the series? But like many Amish novels, the ending seems to get all wrapped up in a bow and is over in an instant. Life doesn't always happen that way but then again it may be that another book may be coming to clear it up. I'd like to thank BookSneeze for making a review copy available via NetGalley. All opinions are my own and unbiased. A positive review was not required. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
OzarkPeaPod More than 1 year ago
This was a pleasant book. Struggles of young love, while Adam struggled to find himself in life, Emma was crushed to loose him to the english world (yankees), and Emma lost her Momma to cancer. Adam returns to home and they struggle to find eachother again as well as Adam struggling to find his place with his tight lipped Pa, family & church. Naturally at the end of the book, all falls into place, however, this book left a few strings un-tied with Adams Mom being sick (with what), and also the yound girl from the hospital coming to their home needing a place to live (why can't she go home), also with Mark running away to NY after he scammed everyone (why wasn't he held accountable for his actions with the law, church, & his family), Gladly both Clara & Peter came to middle ground and resolved their marital financial problems, but how will Emma & Grandma support themselves??? I sure hope there is another book to this set tieing up all the loose ends, Don't leave us hanging here... smile
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
miriamjacob More than 1 year ago
'Treasuring Emma' by Kathleen Fuller is a heartwarming, emotionally layered story, aiming to discover the truth that lies hidden within every heart. It plumbs the deep-rooted depths of the Amish faith and explores the most intimate struggles of the human heart in relation to its faith. When Adam, Emma's first love, goes away in search of better pastures, Emma is heartbroken. Later when Adam finally returns, Emma is determined to keep her heart and emotions under firm control, as she struggled to cope with the thorn of grief that pierced her heart. First her father's death and then, her mother's. It almost seemed too much to bear. Left bereft and confused, Emma fought to control her rapidly changing emotions. She built a thick, emotional wall protectively around her, for her own safekeeping. All she wanted was to be left alone as she struggled to come to terms with her incessant grief. With both her parents gone, Emma was forced to face a bleak future. Poignant memories left her helpless and defenceless. An emptiness gnawed pitifully at her heart. Emma didn't have anything of value left in her solitary life. There was absolutely nothing at all. Her life, once so full of hope and faith, had been shattered into the bare core of an empty shell. Would she ever feel whole again? Emma longed for her life to be restored to the way it was when her parents were alive and well. Those were the days of peace and serenity when life was tranquil, and there were no cares at all. Would the good old days ever come back again? There was only one person in the world whom she wished to see. Only his kind-hearted words could soothe her broken heart and assuage her grief. But he had walked out of her life two years ago, and she had absolutely no hope that he would ever walk back in again. If Adam and Emma were ever to be together, God would have to make that happen in His own time and way. An invisible aura of dejection hung over Emma. This certainly was not the brave and courageous Emma everyone knew. She had a dare-devil reputation for never refusing a challenge, and she adamantly refused to accept difficult circumstances without attempting to change them for the better. Emma's heart ached pitifully. She knew that she should be taking her worries to God. But on second thoughts, why should she even bother when apparently God had taken so much from her? Strange thoughts plagued Emma's mind and gave her no respite. Emma knew deep down in her heart that God loved her and wanted the very best for her life. She had lost everything that was dear to her heart. And it suddenly occurred to her that now she would be expected to be thankful to God because of it. She was immersed in sadness and grief. Time stood still for her, the one thing that had not been taken from her. She was hurt, shattered and grieving. She clung to the memories she had left. Like her grandmother, Emma had lost the ones she loved most in her life. Yet her grandmother could thank God in her deepest sorrow and celebrate His mercy in her grief. Emma struggled to emulate her good example. © Miriam Jacob To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I would like to mention that, as part of every Web or retail site review, BOOKSNEEZE has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from THOMAS NELSON PUBLISHERS.
rickc More than 1 year ago
In Kathleen Fuller's newest book "Treasuring Emma,"the plot revolves around Emma Shetler. She is a twenty five year old Amish woman who seems to always be in the role of caregiver. She took care of her mam until she passed away from cancer, and is still taking care of her grandmother and the farm. Her sister Claire isn't much help, her family is struggling financially and she is trying to figure out a way to make money for the family. Emma also guards her heart, because it was broken when her beau Adam left the faith, but now he has returned, why has he come back? Not only that there is another man who has come to town, his name is Mark King and he has a few secrets. Just who is he and whats he all about? I thought this was an interesting story, the plot moved along at a good pace. There was a bit of romance mystery and intrigue along with family drama that kept my attention. I thought it was interesting to learn about Adam's time while he was outside the faith. The money issues Claire and her family were dealing with was a twist that I hadn't read about in any of the other Amish stories I had read. I really think this is a great Amish read, and its quite helpful that the author includes a glossary for Amish words used in the story. There are discussion questions included that would make this book a perfect selection for a reading group. Fans of Amish fiction will certainly want to read this one! A complimentary copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program for an honest review.
HeathersStitches More than 1 year ago
Emma has put everyone else first in her life. Now at nearly 25, has she missed her chance at marriage? Emma was Adam's first love but circumstances made them both choose different paths in life. Emma's heart breaks all over again when Adam returns to the Amish community of Middlefield, Ohio, years later. For the past ten years, Emma has been a care-giver. First for her mother who unsuccessfully battled breast cancer, and now for her grandmother who gets more frail with each passing year. Emma has always put the needs of others above her own. With more time on her hands, she determines to focus on herself and her dream of opening a rescue shelter for stray animals in the community. With Adam's return come feelings Emma's long buried. They're older and life hasn't turned out the way they thought it would. Adam's feelings for Emma are stronger than ever, but will he be able to convince her to put the past aside and give their love a chance? I really enjoyed once again immersing myself in the Amish world if but for a little bit. This story was a joy to follow but it left me wondering what happened to a couple of the characters in here. I do hope that there is another book coming out that explains some of the questions I have. BookSneeze sent me this book to read and review and all opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi guys! I've gotten a new book from booksneeze called "Treasuring Emma" by Kathleen Fuller. Before I get started though, I need to tell you all that I received this book for free from the Thomas Nelson publishing company through the booksneeze program, and I am under no legal obligation to give this book a good review. So whatever I say about this book is legitimately how I feel. Okay, so now, "Treasuring Emma" by Kathleen Fuller was a pretty good book. A well written Amish fiction book, "Treasuring Emma" hit home with me, mainly because the main character nearly always put others ahead of herself- even when it quite honestly wasn't the brightest idea (at least in my own opinion). I deal with being a people pleaser, and honestly, seeing this inward struggle isn't something I come across in my regular reading. It was kind of refreshing, seeing that someone else deals with this (even if they are fictional). But really that's not what this story is about. This is about, in my own opinion, a girl who realizes she has worth. That touched me because that's something I have struggled with in the past. As an Amish fiction book, I didn't really get the message, but as an encouragement, I loved this book (if that even made sense) I would recommend this book to anyone who likes those sappy stories where the good guy wins?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Treasuring Emma came to me threw book sneeze for free, as I have signed up to write reviews on any books I read for them. This book is written by Kathleen Fuller. I choose to read this book because a while back I read an Amish book and started to look into their life style and their way of living. Now from what I know the Amish would not allow their women to read romance novels. ( those dirty things. tehehe) So the very fact not only is there one of these book but a hole series just makes me giggle. I think I did pick a rather good book this time as it seem to have everything. The soon to be old maid at 24 years old, whose life is full of misery at every turn in the road. The difficult older sister already married off and with children. Loving and super intuitive yet sick Grandma, the banished ex love of her life. Last but not least a new man in town...... Good... or... BAD..... I found the story held my attention very well and rather enjoyed how the author jumped to each character, you never got bored. How ever being that it was considered a romance book I did assume there would be at least one or two heated scenes in the book. Being that is was Amish I knew that a sex scene might be a little too much to ask. Looking back I guess there was at least one Heat scene. For me how ever it was just not enough. To me a good romance novel must have sex inside some where, and the usual build up of sexual tension, ending of course with the ultimate sex scene. Ok now I'm just getting hope full aren't I. That being said I found this book more of a drama then a romance so I'm going to be giving it three star's out of five.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Treasuring Emma: A Middlefield Family Novel, looks at the life of Emma, and the difficulties she has been facing. Emma's mother recently died, and she is now responsible for her home she resides at along with her grandfather. Although she was once in love with a man named Adam, he left the Amish faith and Emma found herself without her best friend. When Adam returns to town, the difficulties in Emma's life escalate as a stranger attempts to manipulate her and those in her family. I really enjoyed this book since it wasn't a typical Amish book. It had suspense, mystery, romance, and, most of all, faith. I liked learning about the relationship between Emma and her sister, Clara. I understand what it is like to not always get along the best with your siblings, but I appreciate how these two sisters work through their problems. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
BillyB More than 1 year ago
Emma Shelters life is turned upside down when her mother passes away, leaving she and her ailing grandma to run her falling apart farm. Her only other family is Clara and her unemployed husband, Peter. Clara wants Emma to sale of the family tools, so she open a fabric store in the old workshop, but Emma isn't ready to let go of the past, until Adam Oto returns to town. Adam had left the Amish community years ago and moved to the big city where he took odd job. After buying a car, a television, DVDs, and ending his on and off again relationship with Ashley, he realized that his life was missing something. Then one day, he retrieved his mail and found a letter sent by an Amish friend, who informed him of Mrs. Shelter's death. He packs a bag and heads home. Despite Adam's shunning, his mother welcomes him home with loving arms, but his father gives him a cold shoulder. Peter's cousin, Mark, also returns to the community and he is interested in one thing - stealing Clara away from Peter. Meanwhile, Emma and Adam reunite and their old feelings return, but will Adam's new life interfere with their future. Treasuring Emma is heartwarming story about second chances. I have read a few other books by Kathleen Fuller and this one doesn't disappoint. I was instantly hooked from the first chapter where Emma is dealing with her mother's death and ponders her future. Adam would have to be my favorite character from the novel, a young man who is lost in the world, but desires a family of his own. With all the economic problems in the world, I thought the character Peter was a nice touch, along with his wife, Clara, who loves and supports her husband despite the fact he cannot hold a job. I pleased to able to review this delightful novel that put a smile to my face.
KCK_Blogger More than 1 year ago
Treasuring Emma by Kathleen Fuller is a very pleasing book. This is my first Kathleen Fuller book. Emma is grieving for her mom who recently died from cancer. Although her sister was not able to help in taking care of their mother while she was sick. Clara, the sister have ideas to help with their financial situation. But Emma is not ready to tackle with it just yet. Emma loved Adam who left the Amish lifestyle and broke her heart. Then Adam came back, sparkling all of Emma's old emotions. Mark King showed up in their community and is showing interest on her. How is Emma going to cope with all these while also taking care of their grandmother and the farm? Is Adam back for good or is he going to break her heart again? This book provides a glimpse of the Amish world, some mystery and even suspence and love. A good book to relax with for all ages. Thank you to booksneeze for providing my copy free in exchange for a review.