×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us
     

Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us

4.0 60
by Seth Godin
 

See All Formats & Editions

The New York Times, BusinessWeek, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller that redefined what it means to be a leader.
 
Since it was first published almost a decade ago, Seth Godin's visionary book has helped tens of thousands of leaders turn a scattering of followers into a loyal tribe. If you need to rally fellow employees, customers

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tribes 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
BelindaEllsworth More than 1 year ago
Looking for a little leadership inspiration, I picked up Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin. It's a small book, just 147 short pages. There are no chapters, per se, just boldface headlines introducing different anecdotes and concepts. It's basically an easy, light read. Godin asserts that lasting and substantive change can be best effected by a tribe, which is a group of people connected to each other, to a leader and to an idea. There are a few practical tips that you can turn around and implement in your work. It's also not a book that provides overall leadership strategy. Instead, this is a book of inspiration. It's not a book on HOW to be a leader as much as WHY. The stories are exciting and help you to begin thinking about the ways that change is created in our world. The author describes how movements, whether political, social, or as part of marketing, are driven by tribe identities. We attach ourselves to ideas and shared values with likeminded groups and through the reading of this book you can recognize the ways in which your own behavior proves his point. The examples Godin provides are sprinkled through the book and he revisits his premises over and over again. He tells stories of regular people who, simply because of their passion for an idea or product, changed their part of the world. One line that personalizes the message is "If you think leadership is only for other people, you're wrong. We need YOU to lead us." Godin is urging us not to pass the buck when it comes to improving situations or promoting the things that mean a lot to us. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for a boost or for additional reasons to stay the course in their leadership roles. This book delivers a lightweight, feel-good message for anyone who needs to reenergize. It's like a pep talk in written form that can be read in a few sittings. And, sometimes, a little hope, a little optimism, is what we need!
Paulium More than 1 year ago
If you really wanted to pique my interest in this book, the sample would have included real text from the first chapter rather than merely copyright info, list of other books by the author etc.
stuckyds More than 1 year ago
Tribes by Seth Godin is an easy fast read with some verbal gems including historical quotes, inspiring stories, as well as some common sense concepts mixed with specific leadership ideas. Godin keeps the pace moving throughout the book by providing concepts and ideas back by specific story examples. One of the key points is that people often lead for mediocrity. A real leader fights mediocrity and won't except average, but rather they help you vision the future of what could be. If you are a manager this book is worth the investment.
MeganHurley More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended as reading before camp. It discussed how tribes need someone to lead them. The two most important parts of tribes are a shared interest and a method of communication. The tribes are build to evoke change and not settle with what is in the present. Creating a micromovement consists of publishing a manifesto, making it easy for your followers to connect with you, making it easy for you followers to connect with one another, realize that money is not the point of a movement, track your progress, transparency is really your only option, your movement needs to be bigger than you, movements that grow, thrive, movements are made most clear when compared to the status quo or to movements that work to push the other direction, exclude outsiders, tearing others down is never as helpful to a movement as building your followers up
Irv_Highward More than 1 year ago
Typical Seth. It's good for ya.
jrsedivy More than 1 year ago
Tribes was the first Seth Godin book I had read - but I have seen references to his work throughout the marketing and blogging communities. Tribes does many things well to include the small size (which makes it stand out), interesting discussion points - especially those on leadership, and the conversational tone of the book which makes for a quick and easy read. In addition - one of the major strengths of Seth Godin's work is his knack for developing strong analogies which seem to stick - for example "heretics" and "the balloon factory and the unicorn" come to mind. There were a few things that Tribes could have done better - such as providing illustrations throughout the book - the insides were strangely plain for a marketing book. Also, the provided examples meant to reinforce the major talking points did not necessarily invoke excitement - there were a couple great examples, however many were just lackluster in nature. Finally, the organization of this book could you use a bit of work - a table of contents and index would be nice for later reference. Overall Tribes was a good read and I recommend it to those interested in leadership and marketing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book Review: Tribes  Tribes, by Seth Godin, is a short, motivational book that ultimately attempts to encourage its readers to be the leaders they were born to be. The audience can be anyone, as long as they have some interest or passion in a topic that can be shared with others. Godin’s objective is to express to his readers that the world is in dire need of people who are passionate about a cause, and will strive to make an impact in the world, leaving a mark on others. He expresses that tribes are seen in everyday life, whether we are aware of it or not. Tribes can be found in music groupies, people who work for the same company, those who share a hobby, or follow a celebrity or politician on twitter; basically, tribes can be found everywhere. Godin believes that anyone can lead a tribe, especially if the tribe revolves around something that is a shared interest. In today’s world, the Internet facilitates the creation and communication needed to maintain a tribe. In tribal world, nothing is more important than communication; it is key to the formation and preservation of tribes, and without it, a tribe will eventually reach its end. Godin also speaks out to those who have no yearning to be a leader. He encourages this audience to be a follower by finding a shared interest and joining a tribe that may lead to bettering life, as we know it. To put it simply, the worst type of person is one who does nothing.  When I first began Tribes, I was immediately impressed by Godin’s ability to inspire me to be a better person and change the world. However, I found as I continued to read, there were things Godin discusses that irritate me, and somehow began to lessen my desire to stand up and become a tribe leader. There is a small chunk of the book that discusses religion and faith. While I understand where the author was going with this, I found myself feeling uncomfortable and annoyed that he decided to bring such a sensitive subject into his text. I am also now under the assumption that Godin has an issue with those who work in the managerial field. More than once I found myself shaking my head, unimpressed with the frequent, negative connotations he was making about managers. It seemed as if Godin believes that while managers may be leaders of others, they don’t go above and beyond their expectations to make a pressing change. While I’m sure in some of these instances Godin makes justified statements, I felt as if many were biased and judgmental, which unfortunately diminished his credibility from my perspective.  Luckily for Godin, despite my displeasure with a few sections of his work, I enjoyed this book overall. To me, Tribes seems very conversational. It is an easy-to-read, motivational book about standing up for something you believe in and making a difference. I feel as if Godin did a great job at communicating the purpose of the book, and his passion for the subject made his words believable and convincing. Godin uses very realistic and relatable examples to prove how tribes exist in everyday life; these examples range far and wide and can be applicable to any reader.  I also feel this book is much like a positive, self-help book.  Godin doesn’t just stick an idea in readers’ heads, but instead tells them how to start a tribe and achieve a goal. In many cases, this might be just the information that some people are searching for. It even goes as far as addressing reasons as to why some people may be resistant against leadership positions, and the difficulties of taking the initiative of starting a tribe. He points out things that are potential concerns, but then gives methods of conquering each along the way. Basically, Godin puts everything on the table, and that makes this book sincere and inspiring. This is very much a book that makes you feel the need to stop reading, get out of bed, and start brainstorming the creation of a tribe of your own; that is what makes this a successful piece.  In the end, I recommend Tribes as a book to read and share with others. If it doesn’t help you, it may help someone you know. Godin stands up for a good cause and makes an interesting point. Our world does need leaders and this might be enough to spark an idea or cause someone to take action to follow their passion, while connecting and involving others in this goal. Read this book, get connected, and establish your tribe now. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seth had a lot of words to say. Yet he didn't really say anything. Don't waste your time with this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago