×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tricked (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #4)
     

Tricked (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #4)

4.5 155
by Kevin Hearne
 

See All Formats & Editions

Druid Atticus O’Sullivan hasn’t stayed alive for more than two millennia without a fair bit of Celtic cunning. So when vengeful thunder gods come Norse by Southwest looking for payback, Atticus, with a little help from the Navajo trickster god Coyote, lets them think that they’ve chopped up his body in the Arizona desert.

But the mischievous

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tricked: The Iron Druid Chronicles 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 155 reviews.
agrodge More than 1 year ago
Like most really good authors, Hearne is getting better with each book. The absolute only complaint I have with his books is that they are too short. I finish one in no time and then have to sit miserably awaiting his next book. Great job!!
SouthernSweetie More than 1 year ago
Atticus and Coyote are getting into trouble together. Someone should have told the druid that Trickster gods always win... I love this continuation of the Iron Druid Chronicles. It was fast paced, and engaging, but I think it's a set-up book. That's not unexpected at this point in the series, there are some major changes taking place and TRICKED is setting the stage for the next big battle. There's plenty of action in TRICKED, but the stakes aren't as high as in HAMMERED until the bitter end. Overall, a good book I'd recommend to fans of the Dresden Files, Terry Pratchett's Discworld, and the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs.
lordofbooks More than 1 year ago
i was excited to read this and was not disappointed. Great read!
Openbooksociety_dot_com More than 1 year ago
TIME SHOULD STOP WHEN A NEW ATTICUS BOOK IS RELEASED! Review brought to you by OBS staff member Verushka I wish desperately that everything could stop when a new Atticus novel is released – and by that I mean work, emails and you know just real life. It’s easy to get lost in the books of this series, and to get grumpy when real life beckons you – okay, just me – out. Tricked is a start to what is a new segment of Atticus’ life. It has the feel of being the first half of a greater story, with the focus in this title being on the groundwork for his, Oberon and Granuaile’s new life in Arizona. With change, Hearne takes his intrepid trio into Coyote’s world and Native American mythology (Coyote being the Trickster of the previous novels). Coyote enlists Atticus help to help his people, in essence, and while the thought is to be commended, he basically leaves it up to Atticus to do all the heavy lifting, slaying and saving. Skinwalkers. Let me leave that with you. Please remember also this is Kevin Hearne so whatever you think you know, chuck it out and get lost in the ride, research and writing. At the beginning of this book, we get an inkling of the greater powers snapping at Atticus’ heels, even though he has faked his death by all accounts, before Atticus’ true adventure begins. I confess I felt the lack of knowledge about the greater powers at work keenly in this book. I guess I don’t need to know everything coming up, but I did hope for more than what we were told. Without his familiar surroundings and numerous groups and Gods vying for his attention, Atticus’ attention is also focused on Granuaile and her presence in his life. I figured there was a romance coming, but the slow simmer has hit the boiling point pretty quickly – well okay, four books isn’t quick, but it took some getting used to. Granuaile is probably the one person he has let gets close to him in a long while, so it’s going to be a treat watching her deal with him. Oberon…at this stage, I think he deserves his own title. Hearne’s absolute talent at writing humor never shines as brightly than with Oberon and I will gladly read anything and everything that features him. I confess it is jarring not having Morrigan, the Widow Macdonagh (much of her that is), or Leif and Hal in this story, but everything changes and for a druid who has lived millennia, this move was bound to happen. Old, established friendships are also changed profoundly in this novel and I will mourn the loss of Leif’s friendship in Atticus’ life – and it’s more than a move that changes things between them. Overall, this is a beginning to a new chapter in Atticus’ life and I am going to sit on my hands and remind myself constantly that I can’t know everything straightaway. I’m just going to have to wait for the next one and the one after that! This review and more at openbooksociety dot com
Kathio50 More than 1 year ago
the first book hounded was a surprise, so bought next three...each one kept getting a bit deeper in character and action - somewhat like a marvel comic book storyline - lots of fun but possible; however, tricked was a bit flat and predictable. :( I had high hopes for more and more. come on Mr Hearne, do not take your readers for granted now - you have the audience - please keep working hard and growing your character.
Elaine524 More than 1 year ago
Absolutely LOVED this series. I was hooked immediately! At times I found myself laughing out loud. Really enjoyed this book! This is a must read for sure :)
CoyoteLovely More than 1 year ago
A must read, especially if you love the Dresden Files!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
momomonster More than 1 year ago
Loved the whole series!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely love this series! I loved this one as well. I am also a huge Drrsden fan and when either come out with a new book it is a GREAT day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dix2ie More than 1 year ago
I love all these Iron Druid books and this one is right up there as a highly entertaining book. Hearne keeps everything fast paced. The jokes keep going back and forth. His characters are witty. Really want to read book #5!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago