×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Trident K9 Warriors My Tale from the Training Ground to the Battlefield with Elite Navy Seal Canines
     

Trident K9 Warriors My Tale from the Training Ground to the Battlefield with Elite Navy Seal Canines

4.2 42
by Mike Ritland, Gary Brozek
 

See All Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Trident K9 Warriors: My Tale From the Training Ground to the Battlefield with Elite Navy SEAL Canines 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
Shari_I More than 1 year ago
What do you give the reader who has a neurotic love of dogs and a deep appreciation for the millitary? You give them Trident K9 Warriors! My chest swelled with pride reading about the exploits of these K9 Warriors (and I laughed until their were tears in my eyes reading about Matt and Arras). Only a well written piece of work could do that. Five stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fantastic and amazing read!!! It was so good I read more than half of it in the first few hours, if you like SEALS, military dogs, or anything in between, then read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trident K9 Warriors Author and U.S. Navy SEAL,  Mike Ritland delivers a phenomenal, first time view at Our Nations Elite MWD's. He takes the reader into the world of U.S. Navy SEALs and their K9 Teams, showing the invaluable role that these K9 Warriors carry in War as well as the bond they have with their Handlers. Outstanding Content and a Definite Best Seller!!! A Book in a class of its own!!!  (NZ) HOOYAH!!!
kat911 More than 1 year ago
I am a volunteer at the National Navy SEAL Museum in Ft. Pierce, FL. I am so proud to have met an active duty K-9 Warrior, Barry, at the 2012 Muster.  Barry fast-ropes out of a helicopter with his handler and serves his country with bravery.  I think these off-topic comments are extremely disrespectful.  Please use a different venue to play your games. Mr. Ritland - thanks for telling this story and creating the K-9 Warrior Foundation!
NCTroutman More than 1 year ago
I was hooked from the moment I started reading. It really tells just how close the handlers and dogs become to one another There is a love between them that can not be fully explained. Anyone who loves animals, especially dogs, will understand just how much love there is between one another.
Simurgh More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book because after reading "Soldier Dogs" because that book ended way before I was finished reading about military war dogs. This book definitely satisfied my interest in reading more about them, and if this is a subject that interests you, you are sure to enjoy it as well. The author of this book has an insider's view like no other, so you will learn context and details that an outsider simply couldn't provide. My only caution is that this book reads quite unlike a more polished, journalistic title. The author of this book is not an author by trade, and that becomes apparent in the book's lack of organization and way he starts and follows tangents. These make it read less like a typical book and more like an autobiography / journal built on the foundation of a long career in military war dogs. Go in with this expectation, and you won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so informative. It shows how smart dogs really are. I think it is awesome in the ways they can be used.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating read. Well-written. Recommended for military and civilians for insights into how dogs think and how to train them efficiently and humanely. Details on SEALs and SEAL K9 teams.
mary29oh More than 1 year ago
It was a wonderful and informative book. I was amazed at what it took to train these dogs and the life they lead when the dogs are deployed. It was all told very well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of great information about the Warriors and dogs in general. A perspective on how these wars are fought by our soldiers and our enemies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a dog trainer, I learned a great deal from the author about dogs bodies, responses to different stimuli, handling and training.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is amazing how much love, work and training these dogs go through. One has to think of how many lives these dogs have saved no matter where they are or have been. Of course they have to be as tough as the Seals or anyone else who handles these great K9 Warriors. There is no question how the handlers or other soldiers love them. Dogs are a gift to mankind no matter what breed, big or small they will either fight to protect you or crawl up on your lap when you need a friend. If any one doubts this, just spell DOG BACK WARDS AND SEE WHAT YOU GET . . . GOD! Nothing more needs to be said.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seemed like a lot of repetition. The training concepts were repeated over and over. More like a training manual and auto-biography than a true story about the dogs. Became quickly boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was Trident K9 warriors by Mike Ritland. Mike was a former navy seal he joined in 1996 and graduated top of his class he trained dogs for combat and he taught other seals how to train other dogs.  The book was about mike ritland a former navy seal that trained dogs to detect bombs guns and other things. It also lets you know what kind of trainings he put the dogs through and things they must do to be in the bud program. The bud program is a special unit for the most advanced dogs and their handlers.   The reason this book was made was to inform the reader of a special unit called bud that trains dogs to detect objects during its service in the war and it also show the training they go through and how they are raised from birth. The book was very good it informed me on how military dogs or trained and what they are put through to become certified k9’s. I think it was a good book it gave me an idea of what goes in the navy seal training camp. This book should be recommended to anyone who is trying to find out what military dogs go through in order to become special k9’s and wants to find out how to train their dog at home and turn them into special k9’s.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Job well done!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing yet im only on page 42
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book about these brave dogs. I treasure it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some interesting stories but feels stretched in between , Skipped boring repetative pages,
BookGeek3368 More than 1 year ago
I give the subject matter 5 stars, but the overall book for me was about 4 stars.  The combat stories were very interesting as was the description of the training the dogs undergo, but the writing was a bit repetitive.  A very worthy book.