×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Trinity
     

Trinity

4.5 43
by Leon Uris
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the acclaimed author who enthralled the world with Exodus, Battle Cry, QB VII, Topaz, and other beloved classics of twentieth-century fiction comes a sweeping and powerful epic adventure that captures the "terrible beauty" of Ireland during its long and bloody struggle for freedom. It is the electrifying story of an idealistic young Catholic rebel and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Trinity 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been requesting this book on Nook for quite some time.  Unfortunately...No joy yet.  It seems to be available in Spanish for Nook, yet Not English. I wish someone could tell me why.
jainneil More than 1 year ago
Nationalism, Individuality, honour, the grim struggle for basic existence, and determination -there is enough of everything for everyone in Trinity by Leon Uris. A mini-epic in itself, Trinity is a thriller, love story and a work of historical fiction all woven into a beautiful compilation. It brings out the complexities of Ireland through the eyes of two simple Irish lads Connor Larkin and Seamus O'Neill, tracing their life and the people around them. The novel is set during the decades - the 1840s to 1916. The book opens with the death, forewarning the reader of things to come. The opening pages set the tone for the rest of the novel with the peasants shown as living in abject poverty. The British and the Church are equally responsible - the former using colonialism and the latter- superstition and dogmas. The author beautifully intertwines fact with fiction, and history with the story. There are three parties to the struggle - the Irish Catholic natives, Protestant immigrants, and the English who control both through a policy of divide and rule using the landed aristocracy and religion as bait. The reasons behind the Potato famine are discussed as also the plight of the people who "died with green mouths ..from eating grass." Religion binds the Protestant Irishmen to the British and we see passions being whipped by pastors which spill over into full blown riots. The landed gentry use these priests to "keep the Catholic and Protestant mobs separated and fighting one another." The book reaches its climax in the trial of Connor Larkin. I would be doing injustice to the book by revealing the grand finale at which the book ends. Each character in the story is dealt with beautifully and the author takes care to tie all the loose ends up in the end. What makes this book stand out in contrast to the others? Many reasons in fact. First and foremost, this book is a work of historical fiction. He narrates the Irish history from the Potato famine to the Easter uprising of 1916 using fictional characters. Secondly, very powerful emotions are brought out in the entire book. Nationalism, bigotry, family ties, friendship, and relationships - the novel gives equal treatment to all. One is moved by Connor's struggle against the British and simultaneously his yearning to lead a normal happy married life. The dialogue delivery is excellent and makes the reader sit up and notice. The complexity of Ireland with its three cornered contest (hence the title Trinity) is simplified through the story of the three different families in the book. However it is not all philosophy and heavy weather. In the end it is a story with a storyline and plot which builds up to a climax. Some of the lines of the book are timeless valuable pieces which can be quoted even in today's global context. On the downside,the book is voluminous and not for the fast breezy reader. Sometimes the story spins off to the many subplots. However credit goes to the author to bring back all the subplots back to the central theme. At 900 pages in small print, the book requires time and patience but the reader is in the end rewarded with an entirely satisfying experience. This book is a must read for anyone who is interested in historical fiction, drama, nationalism and revolutionary movements. It has been learnt that HBO is planning a movie/ television series and has bought rights to the book. I hope that the eventual movie is as good as the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PLEASE publish this book for the NOOK!!!!!!!!!
StacieRosePittard More than 1 year ago
Very interesting book. A bit slow in some parts, and I felt like I wanted a bit more closure regarding some of the characters and story lines, however, I gained a lot of historical knowledge from this book and I really enjoyed the time I spent reading it. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the most compelling book I have ever read. You often read the story with a lump in your throath and eyes full of tears. You hope against hope for a happy ending. I fully understand the term 'the terrible beauty' for Uris has captured this in almost all the lead persons in his novel and certainly in the magnificent story he tells. I recommend this book to anyone that loves history and has an open mind for courage beyond believe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being Irish I have often been chastized for not having read Trinity. I am now totally engrossed in the realization of Irish history and the unholy aggressions they suffered the hands of mother church, be it Protestant or Catholic. I strongly recommend anyone Irish or other to read this at once startling, exciting, educational, romantic tale of Irish and British peoples.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Because this is the first of the books that I have read by Leon Uris, I am glad to say that as a first time reader, reading Trinity was remarkable! Not only does this book instantly grab the reader into the world of the Irish under British rule, it also shows the life and all the aspects that come with life (death, joy, sadness, births, war, etc.) in it. And if you come into reading this book with the attitude that it will be boring because it deals with World History, guess again. Indeed the novel does provide historical background information, but it is so much more than that! It is truely outstanding. Once you begin reading, I'm sure you won't stop. Every minute that you spend away from the Larkins household and dear old Ireland feels as if you are seperated from the wonderfully joyous and sad adventure presented by Leon Uris.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel is based upon the era of the late 1800's where the Irish, mostly the Catholic Irish suffered greatly from starvation and hunger dued to the blight which was a potatoe crisis of unexpected measures. Most Irish people either emigrated to other countries such as the United States or England for work (about 1.5 million people). There are three different families with very distinct perspectives which focus on the PERSIA (Political ,Economical ,Religious ,Social ,Intellectual ,and Aesthetic) throughout the novel and they are the Larkin family= the average Irish Catholic family, the Macleods= a Protestant Scottish family, and the Hubbles= the aristocratic nobility from England which comprise the 'Trinity'. Even though this novel is narrated by Seamus, Conor's character is focused upon more thoroughly and many of the secondary characters such as Caroline and Roger from the Hubbles are percieved through Conor's frequent involvement with them. Leon Uris manages to incorporate and analyze both of Ireland's political and religious conditions during this time and bring the story to life through the eyes of a young boy and his idol.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Trinity has always been a daunting read for me. I passed it many a time on my father's bookshelf, my friends' father's bookshelves, and past the mug in my reflection. I finally decided to approach Trinity a few months ago and I, truly, have not been the same since. I have been captured by the story of Ireland, by the concurrent and antipodal lives of the Catholic and Protestant Irish, and by Leon Uris' poetic selection of words worthy to tell the story of these noble characters. Uris has reinvigorated my yearn for all things Irish. I highly recommend this book and I plan to give this book as a gift to every person on my list who has a hint of Irish in their blood.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read this book at least once a year since it was published. As others have said it is brilliantly written. You feel as if you're there with Conor every step of the way sharing his family life with it's joys and frustrations, his relationships with his best friends, teachers, role models and his dealings within the IRB. It shows the harsh realities of living in a country with such religious strife and dicrimination. If you've a drop of Irish blood in you this book will always call to you. It pulled at me so, that I started my visits back to land of my ansestors, Ireland. I love this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Trinity is my favorite book. I have read it twice and I haven't tired of it. It tells the story of the fictional Conor Larkin, a young poor Catholic boy in Donegal, Ulster, in the late 19th century. It starts when he is twelve and goes throughout his life of struggle against British tyranny. It is written with great style and it weaves history into a great, wonderful story. It captures you from the first sentence and never lets go, even when you have read it. The love of the characters remains in your heart forever. It evokes emotions that will never leave.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I wish this were available for the Nook. I read it years ago. I would like to re-read now that I am older and have finally visited Ireland, but have trouble holding thick books for long periods of time. The Nook is so much easier to handle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with another reviewer please, please publish this as a nookbook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Needs to be available for nook.
Bernard Bevans More than 1 year ago
DOES ANYONE KNOW WHEN THIS GOES TO E-BOOK FOR NOOK ?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In fairness, I'm still plodding my way through this book - initially I had described it to my husband as "unreadable!" but I'm hanging in there.  Won't have it finished by book group, but that's okay.  It's definitely effort & work to get through this book.  Maybe in the long run it will be worth it!  I hope so!
bru888 More than 1 year ago
Yes, it is a bit dumb not to have Trinity for Nook but to have its sequel, Redemption, available. Hopefully they will wake up.
deborah197 More than 1 year ago
A thoroughly engrossing tale of Irish history. My grandmother came from Ireland, and I understood many customs after reading this. My favorite Leon Uris book, Exodus being next. The Redemption did not compare to Trinity. I have been requesting an ebook version for years! What is up with that?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
js23JS More than 1 year ago
My favorite book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago