×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Trouble
  • Alternative view 1 of Trouble
  • Alternative view 2 of Trouble
     

Trouble

4.3 25
by Gary D. Schmidt
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Henry Smith’s father told him that if you build your house far enough away from Trouble, then Trouble will never find you.”

But Trouble comes careening down the road one night in the form of a pickup truck that strikes Henry’s older brother, Franklin. In the truck is Chay Chouan, a young Cambodian from Franklin’s preparatory school,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Trouble 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Pads through the forest
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bramblefire More than 1 year ago
I love this book, it is a very heartwarming book for me, as I lost someone recently. I am making a movie out of this book, and the movie will be posted on youtube. Check it out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book. It really shows you to keep going, just when you feel like it`s the end of the world. Would totally recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gripping and very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kathy Gerth More than 1 year ago
I reviewed this book for my class and we will definately be reading it soon. I found the language to be rich and intriguing. My students will gain a lot of insight from Troible. Great read.
Robert Riter More than 1 year ago
this book is deep!!! he eliminates so many people so fast! but its a really good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Billith More than 1 year ago
I looked into this book solely due to a college assignment that required us to read a title by Gary Schmidt. I figured that Trouble looked more interesting than some of his titles so I picked it up with few expectations. I was surprised to find a fairly decent story within, at least keeping my interest throughout the book. First off, this book is definitely aimed at a younger audience. Older readers may be offset by the simple writing style that is made to appeal to that younger crowd. The writing style also lacks a bit in a few areas, mainly a diverse, descriptive voice that hooks the older readers. As part of this grouping, I found it a chore to read through some parts of this book, only because the style wasn't mature enough. The story itself is quite interesting, although it mainly centers on Henry and his development through the book, it also focuses and relies on racial profiling, showing the problems that occur from such concepts. There's also a fair amount of general drama and death, so some people will be drawn in by those factors. As far as the character department goes, Trouble is somewhat lacking. Apart from Henry, our main dude, there are a decent amount of other main supporting characters, such as Chay, Sanborn, and Black Dog (the most boring name ever). These characters, although having fairly interesting back stories, aren't all that interesting themselves. Sanborn is the only character I found myself liking since he provided some form of comic relief between the growing angst. Also, some of the older characters have odd habits, probably because this book is written to be read by a younger audience and this is how they'll probably perceive their seniors. Overall, I found Trouble to be an enjoyable experience once I got past the age barrier. I encourage people who want an easier read to go through this book, or to suggest it to their children, probably in the age group of twelve through fourteen. I also would suggest some instructors to consider this book over some 'classics,' mainly because it provides more of a modern look at some problems that persist in our society today, possibly making it easier for children/students to relate to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very good book!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
I don't think that there's any way for me to summarize the complex plot that makes up the novel TROUBLE, but I'm going to try.

Henry's father always said that if you stayed far enough away from Trouble, Trouble would never find you. It was what Henry and everyone else in his family believed. Until Trouble came to their lives in the form of Chay, a young Cambodian teen. Henry's older brother, Franklin, had been jogging on the night Chay hit him. Chay said it was an accident but their community thinks otherwise -- because Cambodians don't belong there and are the cause of every disaster.

Filled with anger of the accident, Henry, his best friend, and Black Dog set out to do the one thing Henry and Franklin had planned to do - climb Mt. Katahdin. They don't know how they're going to get there, how they're going to survive, or anything about climbing mountains, but they know they're going to do it.

As their journey continues, Henry runs into the one he hates most. Chay is also running from Trouble, and the once-enemies become allies. Henry begins to realize that family is not always what it seems -- and sometimes you just can't run from Trouble.

All I can say is that this is an amazing book and should be required reading in every classroom. Not only were the characters real and three-dimensional, each with their own quirks and problems, but the plot was also drawn out perfectly, with the right amount of details and action. You could feel yourself being taken into their world and, though this is technically a historical novel, I could barely tell because it seemed so real.

While reading this book, you will feel your heart breaking for Chay but you'll also be hoping that everything turns out okay for Henry's family. TROUBLE will take you on a roller coaster of emotions that you will never forget.

There's really no way for me to explain how much I loved this book. It's creative and original and just all-around amazing. Whether you're a middle school English teacher or a student, you should definitely pick this up on your next trip to the bookstore. Or heck, order it online today!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Trouble, by Gary D. Schmidt, was written exceptionally well. You can feel the depression of the characters, and you hope for the characters. The author describes his scenery and thoughts beautifully parts of the book sounding like a stunning poem. Even though the main characters are boys, they are intellectual, and not the stereotypical apes. You can see the reasoning behind their words, and this book pieces together beautifully. The boys are also funny, making you laugh out loud because of their smart remarks. Gary even brings the saying ¿A dog is a man¿s best friend¿ to a whole new meaning. The character¿s lives connect in unexpected ways, but they make sense. The book relies on racism to propel the story forward. While not being offensive, it creates an understanding between the characters. This is a touching book, and by far my favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book teaches you to achieve your goals no matter what gets in your waym It also teaches you to forgive your enemies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book sux dont read it
Michelle Gill More than 1 year ago
I love the plot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gary Schmidt's novel Trouble is a profound piece describing the coming of age of main character, Henry Smith. Coming from a privileged background, Henry has grown up under the pretense that Trouble will never come to his home. This impression of safety is shattered when Henry's older brother, the athletic and popular Frederick Smith, is hit by a car and sent into a coma. Chay Chouan, a Cambodian immigrant at Frederick's school, admits to the accident. The event inspires racist tension as the citizens of Blythbury-by-the-Sea demand justice against the refugee teenager. Schmidt's story explores Henry's battle "to find out how to live with trouble." Henry thus vows to climb Mount Katahdin, the mountain his brother mocked he could never handle. With his friend Sanborn in tow, Henry heads to Maine in a journey of unexpected revelations and self discovery. Though the protagonist is junior high aged, all age groups can appreciate the overarching theme of dealing with the unexpected twists and turns that life brings. I loved how the author gradually revealed new angles and aspects of Frederick's accident throughout the story. This excellently crafted story, more serious in nature than Schmidt's other books, calls attention to the importance of avoiding rash judgment. He shows how the actions and behavior of others contain motives that are often misunderstood by onlookers. I praise the well written novel as poignant and thought provoking for everyone whose lives have been thrown into confusion by feelings of grief and self doubt.