×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Troubled Man (Kurt Wallander Series #10)
     

The Troubled Man (Kurt Wallander Series #10)

3.8 69
by Henning Mankell
 

See All Formats & Editions

The much-anticipated return of Henning Mankell’s brilliant, brooding detective, Kurt Wallander.

On a winter day in 2008, Håkan von Enke, a retired high-ranking naval officer, vanishes during his daily walk in a forest near Stockholm. The investigation into his disappearance falls under the jurisdiction of the Stockholm police. It has nothing to do with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Troubled Man (Kurt Wallander Series #10) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 2008 Sweden at Hakan von Enke's seventy fifth birthday party the disturbed former Swedish naval commander tells Kurt Wallander about a 1980 incident he was involved in. His crew found an unidentified submarine in Swedish territorial waters, but when he reported it to his superiors while preparing to force the sub to surface, he was told to back away. Soon after the septuagenarian tells his tale, he and his wife vanish. Although suffering from diabetes and memory lapses, and euphoric over the birth of his grandchild, sexagenarian Ystad Police Detective Wallander investigates what happened in the last few days to the parents of his daughter's mate and back during the height of the Cold War. Wallander is at his crusty best with a case that goes nowhere and with age aches reminding him of his mortality as he fears death making him The Troubled Man; as ironically also is von Enke over the 1980 incident. The mystery is top rate as always in this super Swedish police procedural as the hero sees his detecting days nearly over with the family torch going to his police officer daughter. However, he refuses to quit on an inquiry involving his future in-laws as the Cold War echoes two decades after it ended in wintry cold Sweden. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being of that age to have seen the changes in Europe over 45 years and have read the Stieg Larsson series, The Troubled Man captivated my attention. I look forward to reading more Henning Mankell novels. This is the last of the Kurt Wallander series and as such provides a very thoughtful conclusion. I will buy more of his novels and know they will be as enjoyable to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a huge fan of Henning Mankell's Wallender series, I was truly disappointed with The Troubled Man. I didn't want the series to end. But, I found this novel, the last in the Wallender series (#10), to be disjointed,overlong and depressing. As a reader, one senses Mankell's lack of interest in his main character and his urgent need to end the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After having read all of the Wallander novels this one was a great disappointment. Although it started out with great momentum it soon became tiresome. Wasn't too sure as to who the 'troubled man' was -- Hakan von Enke or Wallander.
Sarah Swanson More than 1 year ago
What makes Wallander books great is not fast paced action or mellodrama. It's the blending if Wallander's life, personality, and the mystery he is working on. The mystery is both secondary and central to Wallander, just as any detective, teacher or diagnostician must live. you go home at night, but part of your brain continues piecing together clues and worrying ar the problem. I've enjoyed the Wallander series over the years, and while it didnt read like a last book, I'm sad to see it end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fitting ending to a great series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed the story and getting to know the people involved. Well-written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not every story is supposed to end happily
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Henning Mankell's Kirt Wallender seriese books. Very entertaining and a lesson in Swedish lifestyle. Too bad. This is the last one. My Nook made reading the last two much easier on my old eyes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You will like this book. series often sag after fiive or six books and start a new series. Dont blame the translator m.a.@sparta
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite Wallander book
BDickens More than 1 year ago
It may be the end of a series of Kurt Wallander's life as a policeman and his own doubts for his future, but it is a must read. International intrigue and family come together, with a mystery full of surprises. It seems only Kurt can piece together the puzzle as he travels around Sweden getting help in the most unlikely places. A pure joy and at times it tears at your soul. Makes you think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. I have watched a few episodes of the TV series, but this is the first of the Wallander books that I have read. It was fun to learn more in the book about the character, Kurt Wallander, and get more in to his thoughts. My only regret is I wish I had read one or two of the earlier books in the series before reading this one. I liked the author's writing style and will definitely go aback and read some of the earlier books in the series now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mankell has broken my heart.  I mourned Inspector Morse for so long, and now I must mourn Wallander, too.  I have read the Wallander series from the start. How could Mankell end it this way!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago