×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

True Believer
     

True Believer

4.0 608
by Nicholas Sparks
 

See All Formats & Editions

As a science journalist with a regular column in "Scientific American," Jeremy Marsh specializes in debunking the supernatural--until he falls in love with the granddaughter of the town psychic.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

True Believer 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 608 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough so i could enjoy it. 'true believer' has many turns and twists - and although some of sparks' books can be somewhat predictable- this one was different. i was extremely pleased.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
 The PW description seduced me into thinking it was a story about journalist investigating mysterious lights. It isn't. The lights serve only to get Our Hero to the place where he meets cliched smart beautiful librarian, so that he can ultimately embrace the charms of rural life. Now, just about every romance formula is done over and over, and if it is done well, I enjoy it over and over. I did not think this was done well. The characters were all surface; there was no apparent reason for Hero to fall for this particular woman or she for him (except that pickings are slim in a very small town). And it struck me as being purely anti-modernist/technological -- a tiny backwater town equated with all that is good.This is a delightful novel. I liked the setting, because it is an area of NC I know quite well. As with many of Sparks' novels, any twists or turns in the plot are resolved, usually positively. Reading about good things vs action and killing is refreshing.It seems every book I read gets better and better. I love anything and everything that Nicholas Sparks comes out with. I love the fact that he takes me inside the books and I can't help but to read on. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always love a nicholas sparks book, & he's done it again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Y would u hate itiloveit
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So I didn't know that At First Sight was a sequel to this book and read that one first. I probably would have enjoyed this one a little more had I not known what was already going to happen. It was very slow for me in the beginning and I had a really hard time getting into it. It picked up a bit the last 100 pages or so. I would recommend reading this one first then reading At First Sight.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Dat lighthouse looks like a dicc
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well I just got done reading this one and I surely had a way more difficult time getting into it. I am kind of disappointed with this novel and is most likely my least favorite compared to the others which I loved! This is slow and easy to determine the outcome. Not much romance and no cliff hangers or foreshadows. On to the next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Read! I really enjoyed this book, and I think you will, too! Enough said....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed by True Believer. I usually find it to be a bit harsh when reviewers label a book as boring, but on this one, I'm afraid I have to agree. This story dragged out, though it finally picked up a little towards the end, it was a very long time coming. Although I am a fan of many of Sparks other books, I am finding that they all have in common the fact that the male lead character always loves the female more than she loves him. Also, I've noticed that in many of his books, I just really don't care for the female characters. I couldn't understand why Jeremy fell for Lexie- and so quickly at that. Her sense of humor came off as very condescending to me. It may be cliche, but can't the women be a tiny bit more charming?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sheri-A-Wilkinson More than 1 year ago
True Believer by Nicholas Sparks  Jeremy Marsh is a New York journalist with the popular magazine "Scientific American,". He is a skeptic in anything supernatural, fortune tellers, mind readers, ghost hunters, etc. He is sent to a small South Carolina town named Bone Creek, to investigate the legend of "lights" being seen in the local cemetery.  Lexie Darnell is the town librarian and the one he goes to for researching this story. Jeremy soon fall for the lovely Lexie, although she is hesitant to give up her heart so easily. Soon Jeremy is faced with a major life altering decision. Should he follow his head or his heart? I liked the story like, the main characters were likable. The descriptions of life in a small American town (in my opinion) were very accurate. I also loved the cover, yes I do admit Lighthouses are appealing to me, the cover drew me in, Nicholas Sparks name caught my interest, and the story kept me reading until late at night. Romance lovers should enjoy this read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
melanieann3 More than 1 year ago
What I thought was going to be one of Sparks less popular books ended up being fantastic! I had to read a few chapters before it got really interesting, but it was well worth my time. Excellent book and the follow up book, At First Sight, is excellent as well. Highly recommend this read and all of Spark's works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago