×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
     

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

4.6 246
by Avi
 

See All Formats & Editions

Charlotte Doyle is just such a girl and she swears to tell the truth in all its detail. It happened during the summer of 1832 aboard a ship called the Seahawk. The only passenger on the long Atlantic Ocean crossing, Charlotte found herself caught between the madness of a ruthless captain and the rage of a mutinous crew. This is her terrifying account of that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 247 reviews.
country_1802 8 months ago
The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle is a well written book which was written by Avi Wortis. It is a grate book for ages ten and up, I would give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars. With this story you can see that under all that rich and glory she is just a girl that wants to be treated as everyone else is. In the book Charlotte was told her whole life what she had to wear and where she had to be. She was shipped off to boarding school in England, but on her way back home she was forced to ride alone on the long voyage back. With her adventure back home her mind has changed on who she wants to be. Avi Wortis was born into a family who loves to write. Avi had a learning disability (diagnosed later) which made reading and writing very challenging, his parents sent him to a private school to help with his learning. Now Avi has children witch turned his attention to children books. The book is very well put together and clean. The main character is Charlotte Doyle there are elven other characters who are important in the book. In 1832 Charlotte is on her voyage home on the Seahawk (ship) from England to America. She has been though a lot on the way back. Her idea on life has changed since being born into a rich family she has been told what to do, but on the ship she was treated equal and she loved how she was free. This was a wonderful story anyone could read it. I would recommend this to anyone, everyone could take something from this book. It is truly an awesome book. I love how Charlotte has been though a lot but fights though it and makes it something else.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book because it had a lot of suspense. I read this book when I was in sixth grade because I didn't have any other choice, but if I knew it was this good, I would of chose to read it on my own. This book had amazing twists and turns on every chapter and I loved it. It kept you on the edge of your seat (or just possibly on the floor!) with your mouth hanging dead open! This book was incredible! You really should buy this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book for my Reading Olympics, and I loved it! I was really sad when Charlotte went home to her parents, it was just so different from the ship. But the end made me very pleased! Read this book, you won't regret it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of my favortie teachers read this story to my class back when I was in 5th grade and I loved the story. I recently read the story to my daughter and she loves it just as much as I did.
Anonymous 16 hours ago
Beast book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You must read this i will not spoill but you must read
C_Whittaker More than 1 year ago
In my opinion, this book is a literary masterpiece! I'd recommend it for both young and old. The scene is set in 1800 where a 13 year old girl must make a dangerous trip from England to America. As it turns out, she is the only female on a ship full of pirate-types preparing to take revenge upon the sadistic Captain Jaggery, for hurting one of their crewmates. The reader will watch young Charlotte break all the rules of tradition for young girls her age, in order to save her life, and the life of the crew that have now become her friends. This story is timeless and good for either gender as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Remembered a bit of this and that cover too. One of my favorite childhood reads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
charp More than 1 year ago
Introduction: In the story, The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, Charlotte is sent to America to live with her family. Her father is the owner of the company that owns the Seahawk. On June 16, 1832, a young woman by the name of Charlotte Doyle steps on board the Seahawk for what will be the most life changing event of the young woman’s life. Description and summary of main points: While on board the month long voyage, Charlotte encounters twelve angrily working men and a captain that takes no non sense. Charlotte is found guilty for the murder of two crewmen threw a non fair trial. When Charlotte reaches America, she intends to expose Jaggery for his true self. Evaluation: After reading The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, the reader might feel lucky to be in the life they do have. Charlotte is just a young girl forced to take a journey with a crew of old, dirty men. The reader should receive the lesson to be happy with what you have, and I understood that. Conclusion: At the end of the story, the Seahawk finally reaches America. Charlotte wants to tell police and her father about the murderer and psychopath of the captain. She remembers what jaggery said about saying anything. The captain is in full control of the ship. He or she may do any actions he or she did or intends on doing. Once she reaches her home, she realizes she does not want to live the fancy life every wishes they had. At sun set, right after Charlotte is put to sleep, she sneaked out her window and went back to the Seahawk where she truly belonged Your final review: The story The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle is a very heart pounding, adrenaline pumping, fun story. The main character, Charlotte Doyle, is sent to live with her family in America. When she reaches the ship, she realizes the family she intended to travel with to America did not show up. She is forced to go on her own. On board the Seahawk, Captain Jaggery is kind and willing to take Charlotte under her wing and protect her from the vicious crewmen. The Captain takes control of Charlotte to receive information of the crew’s actions. She then turns against Jaggery and starts a rivalry she does not wish to participate in. Jaggery is spiteful of Charlotte actions. When there is a massive ocean storm, two crewmen are killed, and Jaggery blames Charlotte for the deaths.When the ship reaches America , Charlotte is not hesitant to exit the ship. When she arrives home, she realizes she wants to live her life on the ship. During the night she runs away from home, boards the Seahawk, and is never to return again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
COCOGAL More than 1 year ago
cant wait for the movie.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ashley-w More than 1 year ago
Not Every Thirteen year old girl is accused of murder, brought to trial, and found guilty. But I was such a girl, and my story is worth relating even if it did happen years ago. . This book, The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, Is a wonderful adventure with scandal and two faced stow a ways hiding from the real truth of who's who on Captain Jaggery's ship. But soon the scandal turns and Charlotte has to deal with the biggest threat of her whole life. Charlotte was a simple young woman pale and rich but when she is sent to this ship for many months she changes in ways she can't explain. She is accused for murder and sent to the brig and runs into an old friend but that's not the end of her frightening tale. She is faced with charges and no one can help her because all her friends on the busty ship have turned against her because the murder of their close friend. You have to read the book it will change you as well as it changed Charlotte Doyle.
PMS14 More than 1 year ago
"The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle" The main character is known to be Charlotte Doyle, an average British girl, was set to voyage on the Seahawk from the All Girls Academy, she was attending in Liverpool, England and to dock in Province, Rhode Island to meet her family. She faces many exciting complications along the way. Charlotte didn't expect to be sailing with a bunch of men, she was told by her care-taker, she would be sailing with two other families. Aboard the ship, Charlotte Doyle, made some friends, a black man named Zachariah, who gives her a dirk, a knife, to protect herself. She also becomes friends with Captin Jaggery. Each day was unique aboard the Seahawk, often, the wind was cold and the sky was gray, and on her good days the sun would shine a little through the gloomy clouds. Even though, the atmosphere wasn't the best, the author, Avi, always made Charlotte seem happy. True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, has twenty-two chapters, and in each chapter has thrilling moods. True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle is one of my favorite books of all time . I wouldn't mind reading it over and over. I would highly recommend this book to about anyone.
FASHIONGIRL32 More than 1 year ago
This book was out of the world. I can read that book over and over again!! I was just breath taking. I mean like the front cover, Charlotte's journey it all popped. Avi really put time into this book. He's written books before and there all great but, this has something special about it. If you want a show stopping breath taking book this it!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago