×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

True You: A Journey to Finding and Loving Yourself
     

True You: A Journey to Finding and Loving Yourself

4.0 125
by Janet Jackson, David Ritz, Karen Hunter (Contribution by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

ONE OF THE GREATEST ENTERTAINERS OF OUR TIME CANDIDLY REVEALS HER VERY PERSONAL STRUGGLE WITH AN ISSUE SO MANY OF US FACE EVERY DAY: SELF-ESTEEM

Janet Jackson emerged from the shadows of an already famous family to become one of the most beloved, recognizable, and influential performers in the world. But at what cost?

From the age of ten, when she made her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

True You 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 125 reviews.
Gold-en_Girl More than 1 year ago
As soon as I got up at 5:30 this morning, I grabbed my NOOK and bought True You by Janet Jackson.(Oh the pleasures of owning a NOOK) I couldn't stop reading. I read it within a couple of hours. I can relate to Janet in many ways. There was times when I had to shed some tears myself. I can recall my mother telling me that I was fat.(And at 30yrs. old she still does to this day.) I had people pat my hips and raise their eyebrows because I was once 125 lbs. But that was when I was in high school. Now I'm a 30yr. old with an 8 yr. old son, 5'8 and 190 lbs struggling with my weight and yo yo dieting. Before reading this book I decided to take drastic measures of starvation but after reading True You, I decided to take drastic measures of finding and releasing the True Me.
eddiesgal More than 1 year ago
The write about yourself and the confusions, demons, and insecurities takes a very Wise person. Thank you Janet, for sharing your in sites. I truly enjoyed reading this book.
liberty741 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love Janet so I had to have this book. I have been anticipating it's release and thought the concept was absolutely wonderful. Her theory of finding the "true you" makes alot of sense but she never really outlines the process of HOW to do this. For example, when she lost the weight, what was different this time? Just when you think she is going to start opening up, she doesn't. I did like the commentary from fans but I would have heard more from Janet herself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kudos to Janet for sharing such an emotional journey! I did expect the nutritional side towards the end of the book. It was a nice motivational piece for many that are on the same journey.
Ingrid Ross More than 1 year ago
On the pages of this short book Janet is telling her story, her truth, her way. It was a quick and easy read. I was slightly disappointed by the spelling and grammatical errors. But overall i'm greatful for the information shared in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome and really touched my heart. I myself am self-conscience this helped me get through a lot of issues. Thank You JJ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the book is really good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Janet Jackson is the best. I like what she has done with her book, and the message to me is very powerful . I like that she wasn't afraid to tell her story because usually when you see celebrities everything with them seems find. Also her book has given me the courage to continue to be myself and to not let anyone try to tell me different.janet Jackson is definitely one of my favorite artist no matter what is said about her she is always able to stand strong and I respect that a lot :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book i cant wait to buy the full book:))))
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
College if thats how its spelled
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi,My guardian is kicking me out in 2 years and i dont have anywhere to go so please give me some advice. It would be appreciated.All's well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
liked it alot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it was nice to read but did not reveal any information that was not told by press. i was hoping this book would let me in on her life and i didnt get that from this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a little disapointed in the book. Not enough janet growing up stories. Too many stories of how her songs affected others and their stories. I would have rather read more about janet then others. Didnt realize the last part of the book was recipes. She raved about her nutritionist and his program, but yet she is now a spokesman for nutrisystem? The book kept my attention, but for the money i dont think i would pay for it again.........
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book to read if your self conscious because she lets you know that your not the only one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite book and it helped me a lot it made my life a lot better i rlly dug deep
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book must read
ms_cookie More than 1 year ago
NEVER RECEIVED BOOK!! 20 BUSINESS DAYS PASSED AND NO BOOKS. THE SELLER DOES NOT RESPOND TO CUSTOMER EMAILS!! I WILL NEVER PURCHASE FROM AND WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SELLER TO ANYONE!! STILL TRYING TO GET A REFUND...SMH