×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Truest Pleasure
     

The Truest Pleasure

4.1 9
by Robert Morgan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ginny, who marries Tom at the turn of the century after her family has given up on her ever marrying, narrates THE TRUEST PLEASURE--the story of their life together on her father's farm in the western North Carolina mountains. They have a lot in common--love of the land and fathers who fought in the Civil War. Tom's father died in the war, but Ginny's father came back

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Truest Pleasure 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this story truly moving. The ordinary characters, struggling with daily life, have more to say about love and marriage than in any book I've ever read. This book is great for those who are bored with their marriage or who have begun taking their spouss for granted. Tom and Ginny are two characters that will stay with me. I enjoyed this even more than Gap Creek. Thanks Robert Morgan!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Truest Pleasure was a wonderful book that I couldn't put down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love the mountains and the area where Ginny and Tom and Pa and the children live. They will continue to live in my heart. I hated to leave, didn't want the book to end. Perhaps Mr. Morgan will one day continue Ginny's story. I would love to return to 'The Truest Pleasure'. Thank you Mr. Morgan. It was indeed my pleasure to read this treasure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great! It is one of those novels that you don't want to put down because you...just have to see what happens next! Although the book's setting is in the mountains of North Carolina during the early 1900's. The situations dealing with marriage, religon, and life in general will hit 'close to home' for anyone who reads it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have just finished reading this book, and the lump in my throat hasn't left. I lament Ginny and Tom's inability to relate more to each other, most especially what their truest pleasures were. Although the story was set at the turn of the century, married men and women still quarrel about the same things as Ginny and Tom did. The language of the story simply kept me in awe, and the little, simple things of farm life made me long to be part of that period in time. Like the other reviewer before me, I, too, would like to go back to the world of Ginny Peace, and fight her battles with her, now that Tom Powell is gone. My true appreciation to Mr. Morgan, for having written this masterpiece.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Robert Morgan does it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MrsO More than 1 year ago
I had to skim the last 70 pages or so to put an end to the never ending description of land, chores, and "feelings".  Not enough dialogue and the characters were unlikeable.  Was there nothing in their lives that brought any happiness?  Gloomy and jumped from one tragedy and discontentment to another.  Gap Creek is one of my favorites, but this felt like a very dreaded book report assignment.  I know I am the only reader so far who dislikes it.  Maybe I just disliked Ginny so much right off the bat that I was too focused on her selfishness to enjoy what others saw in the story.