×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Trust Me, I'm Lying: Confessions of a Media Manipulator
     

Trust Me, I'm Lying: Confessions of a Media Manipulator

4.7 14
by Ryan Holiday
 

See All Formats & Editions

You've seen it all before. A malicious online rumor costs a company millions. A political sideshow derails the national news cycle and destroys a candidate. Some product or celebrity zooms from total obscurity to viral sensation. What you don't know is that someone is responsible for all this. Usually, someone like me. 

I'm a media manipulator. In a world

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Trust Me, I'm Lying: Confessions of a Media Manipulator 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
GeorgeMihaly More than 1 year ago
Reading this book really opened up my eyes to the way that content I have for a long time suspected fictitious is generated and why. Learning about the way that the system of content creation operates feels a bit disconcerting, but also incredibly empowering (not in the sense of being someone who now has the ability to generate deceptive content, but more so in being able to more easily identify it and decide whether or not I want to support it in any way). I'd recommend this book become required reading for students attending any sort of formal institution (high school, college, technical school...) and anyone wanting to get a an understanding on the operation and agendas of traditionally trusted media sources. This book is the guide to how internet media works, who it serves, and who it takes advantage of.
Pookielani More than 1 year ago
I think everyone should read this before they vote!
shellyschultz More than 1 year ago
well written tale of the truths and non truths flying around the internet and news broadcasts today. Don't believe 95% of what you see and hear.....welcome to the world as we know it...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
...maybe the authors point is that we cant really know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I consider myself one of the few initiated that has the ability to see through the manipulation and predictive programming that is Media in all forms today. I have long pointed out to anyone who would listen the methods used to manipulate the masses towards predetermined conclusions to forward an agenda constructed by those that rule our lives be it: Government, Corporations, Religion. I have to say that after reading Mr. Holiday’s book I was re-awakened to take a harder look at sources of information. He illustrates how in today’s electronic media “page clicks” rule over creditable information. He shows multitudes of examples of how someone, anyone can place a story on a blog based completely on untruths, have it linked to several other blogs and eventually a story that contains no facts makes it to the evening news, as real news. The mainstream media outlets make no apologies for this, they are hungry for any “breaking news”…the more sensational the better. Better for their bottom line. I have studied a vast amount of history and have long understood how mainstream media has manipulated mass opinion by inaccurate reporting which decades later the true facts of events come to the surface, long after the consequences have already been suffered. Mr. Holiday uses the history of media to put it in prospective. I would highly recommend 'Trust Me, I’m Lying' to anyone, if you are just awakening to how the world work or have experience with how our thoughts are controlled.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He padded in and placed some catnip in its pile."hey there dellilah...." he hummed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank u.
Benas1 More than 1 year ago
This book is insane...this dude hacks!