×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Trust Your Eyes
     

Trust Your Eyes

4.6 30
by Linwood Barclay
 

See All Formats & Editions

Thomas Kilbride is a schizophrenic who spends his days and nights on a Web site called Whirl360. He travels the world without ever leaving his bedroom and memorizes the details of every street in every city. Then one day, he sees an image that looks like a woman being murdered in a window in New York City. Thomas’s brother, Ray, knows Thomas’s paranoia all

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Trust Your Eyes 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
mgabim More than 1 year ago
I barely could wait for Linwood Barclay’s last novel! And what a treat! The story line kept me reading till I finished it at 4:00 a.m. It is one of those books that you hate to see end and yet I could not wait to see how things turned out.
ChadAaronSayban More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars – Very Good When Ray Kilbride’s father dies unexpectedly, the family home isn’t the only thing he inherits. He also must care for his schizophrenic brother Thomas. The obsessive Thomas would prefer to stay in his room with his photographic memory of maps and stare at the computer program Whirl360. At least that is the case until he stumbles upon a grainy image in a window that looks like a murder victim. Ray suddenly finds that taking care of Thomas isn’t just about keeping him fed and clothed. Now their very lives may depend on the answers he is able to unearth about a deadly conspiracy. Trust Your Eyes is an intriguing thriller by veteran writer Linwood Barclay. The premise of a dysfunctional, but gifted Thomas gives the story a unique quality. Barclay does a prodigious job developing not only Thomas, but also his loving yet contentious relationships with both his deceased father and his brother Ray. Much of the story is told from Ray’s point-of-view. Barclay reveals the internal conflict Ray goes through regarding his brother’s condition in a striking, human way. The portrayal of their relationship is the highpoint of the book. As for the plot, it is a pretty straightforward thriller, although it takes a long time to get going. It has the requisite chases, deaths and bad guys, but it is pretty standard fair. Unfortunately, the other characters – particularly the villains – are pretty cookie-cutter and the conclusion of the story is a bit too convenient. As thrillers go, it is pretty average. Still, the strength of Trust Your Eyes is in the portrayal of Thomas and his obsessive nature. Barclay’s writing really brings out the relationship between Thomas and Ray in a convincing way. As a result, Trust Your Eyes is a solid thriller with a really well developed personal relationship.
cy-12_34 More than 1 year ago
A thoroughly intriguing book. Wonderful characters and a mesmerizing plot excitingly written. Barclay must know someone like the main character since his evocative descriptions and dialogue are right on the money. I could not put this book down. A wonderful book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Barclay has out done himself. This was by far one of the best mysteries l've ever read. Twists and turns through the very last page. Buy it. The characters were fully developed and the plot was quite different and totally engaging. I loved it.
insanepoet65 More than 1 year ago
TITLE: Trust Your Eyes AUTHOR: Linwood Barclay GENRE: Thriller PAGES: 592 First, if you are not reading Linwood Barclay, what is wrong with you? This man has some serious chops. The pages of his books must be made out of potato chips because you cannot stop at one! One of the great things about his books is that they are thrillers that happen to the everyday person. Like in TRUST YOUR EYES, Ray Kilbride goes home after the death of his father to help settle his father’s affairs and take care of his brother Thomas, a schizophrenic who is obsessed with maps of the world. Maps paper the hallway upstairs and his bedroom. Now Thomas has a computer set up to run a program called Whirl360, a program that lets you tour all of the worlds cities. Sounds innocent right? WRONG! Thomas sees something in New York (on Orchard St.) that he thinks is a murder. He is right. And now, Thomas and Ray are in the crosshairs. Yes, this may be an oversimplified break down, but to tell any more would be destroying the fun of this book. There are twists and turns like a corkscrew, and at times he plunges that corkscrew right into your heart. And the surprises keep coming right to the very end of the book! If you are looking for a summer read, put this book on your list. It moves fast and before you know it, you are done and need recovery from a major bookgasm!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally, a book by this author that is good. Have read 2 others that were poorly written. Recommend this on.
christalvp More than 1 year ago
Trust Your Eyes was a compelling book with some twists and turns. The characters were very interesting, the storyline was fast paced and kept me thinking, and I really liked the way all of the different angles of the storyline came together. I thought this was a very clever book. Ray Kilbride returns home to Promise Falls, New York after the death of his father to put affairs in order. He has some decisions to make about his younger brother Thomas, as he is schizophrenic, spends all day in his room on his computer, and has never been expected to take care of himself or anything in the household. Shortly after Ray's arrival, Thomas sees something terribly disturbing online and sends Ray to investigate it. This causes them to become caught up in a scandal involving politics, blackmail, and a number of brutal murders. As they innocently become embroiled in this, secrets of their own family begin to come to light. I really liked Ray Kilbride, and thought Julie McGill made a good counterpart for him. Thomas was a very interesting character. I liked the action and thought there was plenty of suspense as well. I found parts to be surprising, and I thoroughly enjoyed the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written with fully developed characters. Plot twists were surprising yet believable which takes a true gift of balance. We all loved it and it was one of our highest rated selections ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
magsco More than 1 year ago
This book is a page-turner. The characters and story are compelling and there aren't any "oh, come on, you got to be kidding" moments as less worthy mystery novels are prone to.
TortoiseNF More than 1 year ago
All the twist and turns of this book keep you reading until the very last surprise on the very last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rosie588 More than 1 year ago
Good read
RaeLM More than 1 year ago
This book was so good that I had a hard time putting it down. Linwood Barclay has a great talent in writing so much so that I have bought all of his books! Once again this story takes its twists & turns with sub-plots along with the main story that captures you and takes you along on a what seems to be a complicated story. But it all comes together in a terrific finale!
LAWonder More than 1 year ago
The first section of the book was very difficult to follow. It kept going from one person's story to another person's story...It eventually connected. The last part of the novel was quite good though slightly surreal...that is if one wasn't too distracted by the profound amount of profanity. There were a few typos but the writing style was, mostly, OK. The ending was quite good yet there were missing pieces one would have liked filled in to give the novel a feeling of completeness. The story includes a man with mental illness -his hobby is cartography, a man who, successfully, did character drawings for a living, a wannabe reporter, and several other people - most all were unhappy with themselves and their inability to be more successful. They were mostly all dysfunctional people. Their were a few good morals to the story if one searches for them. It was understandable why the author felt the need to use such despicable language to emphasize this point. Key points were sibling relationships & rivalry, political aggression, friendships, deceit, some romance, death & grieving, violence, corruption, schizophrenia, kidnapping. I am grateful to the author for their generosity in donating this book for an honest review of which I have given.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read other Lindwood Barclay books and enjoyed them all. This one takes the cake. I didn't expect this book to take me for the ride that it did. Mr. Barclay is very good at setting it up so that you believe you know what is going to happen; and then he rips the rug out from under your feet. I highly recommended this book if you love suspense, interesting characters, and the occasional dead body or two. This book will keep you guessing til the very last page.
SuzeQ18 More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing story of the fact of the internet and all the information we can find there. It is a story about brothers and their father. That siblings lead such different lives growing up in the same family. Then there is the twist of one brother with schizophrenia and a childhood secret. You will not be disappointed reading this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book - I could not put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has a lot of twists and turns, but it all comes together at the end. Good read.