×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Truth about Forever
     

The Truth about Forever

4.7 1793
by Sarah Dessen
 

See All Formats & Editions

A page-turning novel that carries readers on a roller coaster of denial, grief, comfort, and love as we watch a broken but resilient girl pick up the pieces of her life and fit them back together.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Truth about Forever 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1793 reviews.
readtolive_livetoread More than 1 year ago
Sarah Dessen is a good writer, creating believable and relatable characters that very adequately reflect what teens are like. My favorite part of the books I've read by her is the dialogue, which, if you examine carefully, is unique to whichever character she's writing about. Sarah creates well-rounded characters. And it's probably her biggest skill. Macy Queen is quite a confused young woman. Her father died, and grief-stricken Macy keeps blaming herself. Worse, she comes to think that if she can just keep things at a constant, that is, perfectly still, she can control her life. And that's her biggest flaw: this unfailing faith in perfection that she simply won't snap out of. Enter Wes and the whole Wish Catering crew. They help Macy come to life-altering realizations about the controlled forever she keeps thinking she can attain. Wes, especially, helps her see that the future--the eventual forever--is about changes and imperfections and learning from your mistakes, not a present that moves forward with time, never changing. The story had a nice message. It was well written. The characters--Wes, in particular--were for the most part great. I don't know how else to elaborate on it, because, to me, this book speaks for itself.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
The perfect read for hot summer days!
Miracles More than 1 year ago
What an amazing author this women clearly know what teens want to read, the world that we want to escape for just a little while. She creates very believable charecters, it actually seems that while you're reading you pretty much know them. The Truth About Forever is my favorite novel from Sarah Dessen it's such a sweet loving book, i could read it over and over again.
Book-Worm_x3 More than 1 year ago
This is my all-time favorite book by Sarah Dessen. I am absolutely amazed by her writing skills. The plot is really good! It was really emotional, but an excellent love story for those of you seeking one. It really helps you learn how to follow your heart and make decisions you'll never regret. The characters, very interesting. I loved all of them. Two thumbs up! Looking for other amazing love stories? Check my recommended choices.
Alex-Fanatic More than 1 year ago
When I was first told to read this book I kind of hesitated. But when I actually started to read it I couldn't put it down. I absolutely love it. I re-read it every time I have a chance. It is honestly my favorite book in the world. I recommend it to everyone. Sarah Dessen is truly an inspiration to me. It has an endless friendships, a growing relationship that turns into love,the truest friends that anyone can ask for. It is just a great book over-all.
Mare_Bear515 More than 1 year ago
This is a coming of age tale about a girl who lost her father, whom she was very close to and feels as if she lost a piece of herself too. It was very touching how she met and befriended the lovely Wes and the rest of the catering crew. She learns through experiences with them that she has know who she is the whole time and should always remember that! This was one of the best books i've ever read and have re-read about 3 times. it's touching and you learn so much about yourself when reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sarah Dessen is a good writer, creating believable and relatable characters that very adequately reflect what teens are like. My favorite part of the books I've read by her is the dialogue, which, if you examine carefully, is unique to whichever character she's writing about. Sarah creates well-rounded characters. And it's probably her biggest skill.  Macy Queen is quite a confused young woman. Her father died, and grief-stricken Macy keeps blaming herself. Worse, she comes to think that if she can just keep things at a constant, that is, perfectly still, she can control her life. And that's her biggest flaw: this unfailing faith in perfection that she simply won't snap out of.  Enter Wes and the whole Wish Catering crew. They help Macy come to life-altering realizations about the controlled forever she keeps thinking she can attain. Wes, especially, helps her see that the future--the eventual forever--is about changes and imperfections and learning from your mistakes, not a present that moves forward with time, never changing.  The story had a nice message. It was well written. The characters--Wes, in particular--were for the most part great. I don't know how else to elaborate on it, because, to me, this book speaks for itself.  She performed the magic that most writer's aren't able to accomplish: She took a simple plot and filled it with complex characters to live out the story. I was sad when it ended, but it's definitely one of those books you can read again. Very highly recommended.
acbcac More than 1 year ago
I don't think I have ever read a book that is so simple and yet so good... This one gets added to the re-read pile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think that every girl should read this book. It changed the books that I read, and how I think about things. It is truly as essential to a girl as a purse and credit card. ;)
katie_mills More than 1 year ago
I think all of Sarah Dessen's books are amazing. They all make you think, this one included. When you are finished, it makes you want to be a better person, and makes you reflect on how to live your life. A very girly book, but recommended to read during the teen years, to keep you going when it gets tough.
sunshinee21 More than 1 year ago
from the first chapter in, i fell in love with this book. i thought it was going to be another book with an overused plot, but i was happily surprised. macy was so relatable, i felt like i actually knew her. and as she fell in love with wes, so did i. i would reccomend this book to anyone and everyone!
kris_t_66 More than 1 year ago
the truth about forever is definitely one of my all-time favorite books. I highly encourage anyone to read it. sarah dessen writes so many good books and this one was unforgetable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best book from Sarah Dessen! I love all her books but this one is just.... (hmmm... looking for a word).. well, let's just say it was the best book ever ;) It's so funny how whenever Wes is mentioned in the book I squeal. It's sooo cute! I've re- read this book a million times! Never gets old... and never will ;D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a good read. You read as Macy goes through her grief and gets a new bond with her mother. She opens a whole new side of her life that is different, but she's somehow completely comfortable with it. She learns so much. This book is a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
everyone 18 and under should read this book i loved it adn i usually dont read i think you should read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Truth About Forever has an interesting plot. The protagonist, a girl named Macy, strives for perfection in many ways such as, a perfect boyfriend, perfect family and a perfect job. But after her father's unexpected death Macy turned emotionally unstable. She gave up running, her passion, isolated herself from her friends, and devoted herself to what she thought was her perfect boyfriend. By making herself perfect, she could make things right again, long time after her father's demise. Macy's life comes to a juncture when she meets the Wish Catering crew from whom she learned that life isn't all about being perfect but about living to the fullest. She joins the catering business; her new co-workers are hesitant at first, but grow to love Macy. She starts to grow fond of this guy named Wes but she doesn't know what to do since she's kind of in a relationship with this perfect guy from school named Jason. However, when she sees Wes with his girlfriend, she loses hope that they could ever work out. Her mom has a breakdown, and she tells Wes that she doesn't want to be with him, even though she does. She finally realizes that she doesn't want to lose a good thing, especially when she learns Wes broke up with his girlfriend that night, and after playing another round of Truth, they get together, and she runs again for the first time in years. The story portrays how someone gets back on track to live an ordinary life from the darkest hours of one's life.
bookwormgirlie97 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I read it all in like 3 days. This book brings you into the life of Macy, who with the help of new friends, finds herself. This book will make your cry and laugh. I will defiantly re-read this book again. :)
TheMarauder12 More than 1 year ago
The Truth about Forever is definately a great book. I recommend it to everybody. All my friends have read it and loved it. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. It is very well written and I could really relate to the characters. Like all of Sarah Dessen's books, it has a good story line and the main character grows throughout the book. And of course it has a happy ending. If you like Sara Dessen's other books, then this one wont dissapoint you. Its great to read again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ. THIS IS BETTER THAN THE SELECTION (BY KIERA CASS)!!!! I WANT A GUY LIKE WES.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. I felt like I could really relate to the character, Macy Queen. Anyone who feels trapped under the "perfect child" spotlight their parent has given them you should read this book, and hopefully it will have as big of an impact on you as it did on me (:
KatieLeach More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Sarah Dessen's books and The Truth About Forever is my absolute favorite. The story was something that I could see happening to myself and I love when I can step into a book's world and feel like I'm living in it. The way the story was developed from beginning to end was wonderful and it grabbed my attention at every page. I never wanted to put the book down and for an author to be able to create something so great to read is truly admirable. If you want to read a great story, then you should definitely give this book a try. You will not be disappointed!
Christenrayeann More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adored this book. I loved the characters and Dessen really gave life to all of them. Wes is dreamy and he's the boy you would want in a heart beat. You would want him to make a sculpture of you! The chemistry between Macy and Wes is heart renching. You can't wait to know if and when they get together. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. Highly recommended!
MacyD More than 1 year ago
This story was so life like. It wasn't one of those books you read and think "this never happens in really life." I had such a connection to the characters. I love Wes, I would date a boy like him in a heart beat. The bad artist that is trying to turn his life around. Macy is a good girl that is just begging for an adventure. The Truth About Forever was the first book I read by sarah and now I'm hooked. If you love a good love story, like me you should try this book out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was pretty good, I love Sarah Dessen books, she is one of my favorite authors. But this book wasnt her best. But this book is still a great read and if you love sarah dessen as much as i do you will like this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Truth about Forever was a very interesting read. It's about a girl named Macy who is striving for perfection: perfect boyfriend, perfect job, perfect house. She recently lost her father due to a heart attack that she feels she could have prevented if she had just gone running with him. The novel details the pressures of a high school girl approaching college and the challenges of coping with a death in the family. Macy sets through a life changing experience throughout the novel, meeting the Wish Catering crew who all show her that life isn't perfect and sometimes you just have to sit back and let it take the course it may and stop trying to control the outcome. The major themes of the novel are coping with grief, discovering yourself, and learning that life isn't about perfection, it is about living it to the fullest. As the novel progresses, Macy learns to accept her father's death and help her mother cope with her grief over the incident as well. Their bond strengthens as the two learn to understand each other and why they are the way that they are. Macy's sister Caroline also learns to bond with the family and they all share one thing in common, the love of each other and their father. Macy learns through Wes, a boy who is in the Wish Catering crew, that being perfect really isn't all that important. He teaches Macy the importance of friendship and truly living life just to live. Macy learns to share her innermost fears and secrets with Wes through their Truth game. The novel progresses and shows the slow changes in Macy and in her mother and Caroline, as they learn to bond as a family and as Macy learns to actually live and enjoy her life again.